10/7 Angel AMPS:233

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Cherish Gallagher, Oct 7, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-6-158-8-120-10-66-11-67.184873/#post-2052182

    Sorry for not posting the last few days. Been so busy!

    Angel has been doing great. I think she is finally starting to level out on the Lantus.

    We increased this morning since we haven’t seen any greens in 6 cycles and she’s been flat yellow for 4 cycles now. Bf will keep an eye on her today while I’m at work. :)

    I hope everyone has a great weekend!
     
  2. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Good luck with the dosecrease. I hope it brings some green.
     
    Cherish Gallagher likes this.
  3. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Have a good day at work.

    Ms. Angel - time to show us what you can do on the 2.5U. Give mama some green!!
     
    Cherish Gallagher likes this.
  4. Bronx's dad (GA)

    Bronx's dad (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2016
    Enough of all those yellows Angel, time for a different color...
     
  5. Beenie (GA)

    Beenie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Work that juice Angel !!:cat:
     
  6. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Good work increasing today. Hopefully the extra juice will help bring her down a bit.
     
  7. MyTitan (GA)

    MyTitan (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    C'mon Angel down a bit on the new juice amt. give mom a surprise when she gets home.
     
  8. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    Why is she going higher on an increase? :/
     
  9. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    It's called New Dose Wonkiness . Some cats get it, some don't and will resolve in a few cycles.
     
    Cherish Gallagher likes this.
  10. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Also remember it can take up to 6 cycles for the depot to fill
     
    Cherish Gallagher likes this.
  11. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    She crashed :( dropped more than 200 in 2 hours. Down to 56. Acting starving.
     
  12. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Have you given her any food? (Since shot time) you may want to give her to higher carbs to help.

    (Also, did you do a second test? Sometimes test stripes are wonky too)
     
  13. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    Yes and yes. She’s 46 now.
     
  14. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    What kind of carbs did you give? This now calls for some HC

    Now now Angel. You're point is made. :stop:
     
  15. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    Do I already reduce back to 2.25u now?
     
  16. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    16% on dr Lisa’s chart.
     
  17. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Congrats on the reducie! The dosecrease didn't last long.
     
  18. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    IMO, yes. I would take the reduction. Others may chime in with diff advice.
     
  19. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    Seems like 2.5 is too much and 2.25 is not enough.
     
  20. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    It could be 2.25u just didn't have enough time to work for Angel. Some cats need more than 6 cycles to see if it a dose works. 6 is the baseline, but ECID is always rule. =/ i wish there was a better answer.
     
  21. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    So hold 2.25 for longer unless we start getting flat pinks or higher ?
     
  22. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Well, I'd definitely go back down to 2.25u, but how long to hold is not something I can answer. Others may pop in and give more sound advice.
     
  23. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Hi! I looked at the SS and I see that she did bounce from the greens on 2.25u. You held for 6 cycles. It's recommended that you hold for 8-10 cycles after seeing a green to let the cat break the bounce. Try 2.25u and hold for a bit. When you need dosing advice, ask before doing a dosecrease. :bighug:
     
  24. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    Eeek. Didn’t know that rule. Darnit.
     
  25. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Have you gotten another test in yet?
     
    Cherish Gallagher likes this.
  26. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    Thanks for taking the time to look over my SS! We will be going back down to 2.25.
     
  27. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    +5 70
     
  28. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Good!

    What do guys normally put out for snacks? Just asking because its usually advised to hold off food for 1-2 after kitty is out of "danger" zone. (But I hate messing with my kittys snacks. He gets grumpy.)

    She may also be starting her bounce - which will def happen after that drop.
     
    Cherish Gallagher likes this.
  29. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    She gets her 2 meals at 5pm and 5am and she gets her daytime snack at 11am and her PM snack anytime from 7-11 (whenever she asks for it basically). She just had her snack to get her numbers up so if she stays good we don’t intend to feed her any more tonight. She gets 3 3oz cans of wet food each day. Sometimes 3.5 if she’s really hungry.
     
    CassAndGordy(GA) likes this.
  30. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    Thanks for the help! Going to bed. Bf will monitor tonight and wake me if she starts dropping again. :)
     
    CassAndGordy(GA) likes this.
  31. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    It's not a "rule" but if you know the cat is bouncing, the 6 cycles rule doesn't always apply.

    The biggest thing here is "Know Thy Cat." What works for one cat may not work for a different cat.
     
    Cherish Gallagher likes this.
  32. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    This is not accurate. You want to give the kitty time to break the bounce. Sometimes it takes up to 6 cycles or sometimes more or less. Angel is not new to green numbers so you did fine increasing. Sometimes they are just cats and let us know sooner rather then later. Angel decided she didn't want the increase. Hopefully she does better on 2.25u this time.
     
    Cherish Gallagher likes this.
  33. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    She’s a bouncy girl today
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page