10/7 Loudogg AMPS 365 +3 352 +6 221 +8 150 PMPS 77 +2 69 - Gave reduced dose for PMPS

Amanda and a Loudogg

Member Since 2017
October 6, 2018 Condo

Good morning all,
Lou's AMPS was much higher today that I thought it would be. I fed him 1/4 can FF (half of his usual PS meal), and he ate perhaps half of it. He threw up 20 mins later. He's ignored the rest of his food for the last 2 hours, but he finally ate a couple more bites (still a bit there) and threw up again. I literally JUST took him to the vet this week, so I'm cringing thinking of needing to take him to the vet (especially paying for the ER vet). I still have some Cerenia from civvie Bella's gastro flare from August. I'm hoping it's something similar for Lou. Do you think I could give Lou some Cerenia to curb the nausea/vomitting? Or do you think I need to take him to the ER vet to make sure there's nothing else going on?

ETA: Lou has had a UTI in the past, although I'm not noticing any LB pee issues. He may have some liqui-poo, but other than the lack of eating today, nothing else seems amiss.
 
I'm no expert but I think you could give the cerenia. It's for puking. And him wanting to eat but can't would warrant giving it. The poor furbaby. Hope he gets to feeling better soon. :bighug::bighug:
 
Do you have a different food to try? I would hold the one he vomited, give him some time and try a different kind of food.
 
Okay, I tested him at +3. Thankfully the ketones are negative. He ate a bit of his AMPS about 15 mins ago and hasn't vomited. I threw away the rest of that and fed him 1/4 can FF of a different flavor. He ate a little bit and walked away. We'll see what happens in the next 15-20 minutes.

+3 BG = 352
+3 Ketones = 0.3
 
Did you try SEB It might help & can't hurt. Works great for all 3 of my cats. For vomiting or nausea. I only give half of a cap mixed in baby food with water. :)
 
Well, unless he snuck one by me, we've gone an hour after eating without vomiting. He also hasn't eaten any more. He's sleeping with his Daddy.

Did you try SEB It might help & can't hurt. Works great for all 3 of my cats. For vomiting or nausea. I only give half of a cap mixed in baby food with water. :)
I've heard of SEB around the board, but I haven't thought much about it's use. Where do you get it?
 
Could it be due to a hair ball? I wouldn’t self medicate either like Wendy said, because we could be masking sometimes that needs to be addressed. I know he’s also on antibiotics so that could be it as well.

You could try to feed him a few times to see if he maybe it was just some GI upset but if he continues to throw up I would take him back in. I know you don’t want to, but better be safe than sorry. Hopefully its just some upset from the antibiotic or something simple, but you don’t want to miss something that may need to be treated with something other than nausea medicine.
 
Could it be due to a hair ball? I wouldn’t self medicate either like Wendy said, because we could be masking sometimes that needs to be addressed. I know he’s also on antibiotics so that could be it as well.

You could try to feed him a few times to see if he maybe it was just some GI upset but if he continues to throw up I would take him back in. I know you don’t want to, but better be safe than sorry. Hopefully its just some upset from the antibiotic or something simple, but you don’t want to miss something that may need to be treated with something other than nausea medicine.
I didn't see any hairball, but it doesn't mean it wasn't. It was all liquid with what seemed like white foam mixed in. I had planned on giving him the Cerenia or taking him in if he threw up again, but he's held on to the rest of his food. His appetite has been slowly coming back. I've fed him twice since the last vomit episode, and he's (eventually) finished all the meal. Much quicker this last time. He isn't on anything other than insulin right now. The vet didn't give me anything for him this last visit. I hope he continues to improve. Of course his BG has gone down quite a bit today throughout the day, so that makes me worried about his insulin dose tonight if he continues not eating as well. He ate with some gusto this last meal, so I have some hope it was just an upset tummy. I'll continue to watch him tonight.
 
I didn't see any hairball, but it doesn't mean it wasn't. It was all liquid with what seemed like white foam mixed in. I had planned on giving him the Cerenia or taking him in if he threw up again, but he's held on to the rest of his food. His appetite has been slowly coming back. I've fed him twice since the last vomit episode, and he's (eventually) finished all the meal. Much quicker this last time. He isn't on anything other than insulin right now. The vet didn't give me anything for him this last visit. I hope he continues to improve. Of course his BG has gone down quite a bit today throughout the day, so that makes me worried about his insulin dose tonight if he continues not eating as well. He ate with some gusto this last meal, so I have some hope it was just an upset tummy. I'll continue to watch him tonight.
Yeah hopefully just a gi upset with the UTI or something. Fingers crossed that it’s just a fluke!

I usually cut down frosty’s insulin when he’s not eating or throwing up, just to be safe. It does mess up our numbers but better than going hypo in my opinion.

Hope Loudogg feels better soon!! ❤️
 
Well, I really thought his appy had improved, as he ate most of his +9 meal in relatively short order. His PMPS is at 77, so I don't have a lot of wiggle room to move around here if his appy declines. I went ahead and gave him 1.5u tonight instead of his usual 2.75u. Such a bummer with that beautiful PS. He ate some of his PS meal (I gave more thinking he'd eat most of it), and I think he's gone back to bed. Still no vomit, thankfully.
 
It’s ok! Sugars take a back seat to appetite and vomiting and many other more serious health issues. You will get him back under control in no time, as long as he’s eating and feeling good over-all. :bighug:
 
Looks like Lou and Luci decided to slip off for a moonlight swim! Hope Lou got to feeling better last night and didn't go any lower...I'll look for your updated SS later this morning...poor Lou - Luci had a bout of that vomiting a while back - puked on every rug in the house...sheesh...seemed fine the next day ....who knows - maybe the kitty cat flu - that's all I can figure...sending vines to you guys!
 
Back
Top