? 10/8 Scooter AMPS 231, PMPS 357 Vetty Visit, Baby food question? Feeding help!

Jill & Scooter

Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-7-scooter-pmps-196-3-267-tiki-cat.204339/#post-2266921

Scooter wouldn't eat anything this morning, so I skipped his shot. I didn't know how much it might drop him if he didn't eat and I had to go to work. I called the vet clinic as soon as they opened and got him in at 1:15. The vet said he had an infection of some sort. He gave him a steroid shot. He said he knew it wasn't good for diabetic kitties, but said he needed it to get after the infection. He sent Clavimox home to give him. I hope this was the thing to do. He had fever of 105*. He checked his teeth/gums eyes, ears, belly and pretty much all over and didn't see/feel anything. He said if he gets worse or isn't better by Wednesday AM to bring him back and he would draw blood and do a full workup.

I left Scooter a buffet when I left this morning and when I brought him home from the vet and he did eat a little FF Salmon. I got him some baby food when I got off this evening but the only kind they had has corn starch in it. Is this OK to give him??? Any other feeding suggestions? I was wondering about an egg? I have a great deal of sympathy for those of you who go through this feeding thing all the time! It's quite stressful!
 
I don't know about corn starch however if in doubt - don't offer it.
Beechnut turkey and broth or chicken and broth are appropriate because they have no onions or other additives. Some babyfoods have onions . please read labels carefully if you can't find beechnut.
Eggs are fine.

The liver shake has worked wonders for many cats, including one of my civvies Henry.

Please step up testing for ketones - at least once per day. When a kitty is not eating and an infection is present and shots are skipped conditions are favorable for ketone formation - even with BG that is not crazy high.

Ketones can quickly escalate to life threatening levels. In one instance my BK went from negative to large in exactly 24 hours.
Any reading higher than trace warrants a call to the vet.
 
I live in a very small town with only one grocery store. Gerber was the only kind they had. Water and meat were the only other ingredients. I’ll skip it though since we’re not sure about the corn starch.
I had thought about needing to test for ketones. I will make sure and test. I’m waiting for him to give me a sample.
I have read about the liver shake, but it would take several days to get all the ingredients here. I need him to eat tonight.
I gave him his shot tonight since I’m home to monitor and encourage him to eat. I was just afraid to leave him while I had to go to work when I didn’t know if he would eat anything at all. He ate a bit more wet food. I hope I can keep getting bits down him. I may fix him an egg in a bit. I can syringe feed him if I have to, but would rather not.
Thanks for your help!
 
Back
Top