10 Aug | Girlie | AMPS 650; +2=545; +4=470 | "Colitis" gone

Status
Not open for further replies.

Girlie's mom

Member Since 2017
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...eat-no-shot-miralax-cisapride-problem.181962/

I'd like to say a special "thank you!" to everyone who responded to me yesterday re: Girlie's sick tummy: @DebG , @Wendy&Neko , @Chubba , @Mandy & Rex , @Marvin's Mom - Nat : the tips and support were very much appreciated! Fortunately, Girlie was better by evening, and so got her shot. Today she's back to normal, albeit with numbers in the black/red again...sigh. I really hope this hasn't created another 3-day bounce, but I guess we'll just have to wait and see.

No Miralax or Cisapride yet: the vet said to wait until she's eating again. I might try her on the Miralax once a day at the start and see how she goes with that. I'm also getting the fresh pumpkin ready as well to add to her food: boil, mash, and put in ice cube trays for other days. Thanks, @Bron and Sheba

Other meds/flea treatments/etc.: Just curious - how careful do I need to be from now on with things like flea treatments, additional medications, etc. now that she has diabetes? Does everything that goes in or is topically applied now need to be checked just in case?
 
I'm glad that Girlie is feeling better and you have been able to give the insulin.
With any meds you need to make sure they don't have added sugar in the ingredients.
 
When not sure ask here, think there is a link somewhere that talks about certain meds that shouldn't be given because of other issues. Will try and find it.
 
Good news that Girlie is doing better!

As far as meds go, make sure if it's a liquid that it does not have sugar in it as often time bad tasting liquids are flavored and sugar and malts are added.
As far a flea treatments, I believe that the don't have any contraindications with FD. I have used Revolution on Bubba twice so far this summer without any issues. I'd check with the vet also.
 
Good news that Girlie is doing better!

As far as meds go, make sure if it's a liquid that it does not have sugar in it as often time bad tasting liquids are flavored and sugar and malts are added.
As far a flea treatments, I believe that the don't have any contraindications with FD. I have used Revolution on Bubba twice so far this summer without any issues. I'd check with the vet also.
Thanks so much - will do. :-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top