? 100 pt drop to 60 in 1 hr btwn. +5 & +6 today

Bibi and Kira

Member Since 2019
Today is the second time Bibi has dropped rapidly to 60 since starting Lantus on July 7. She's on 1.25 iu. Today she was 161 at +5, then 60 at +6. The first time this happened, on the 20th, she was suddenly ravenously hungry. We gave HC food. Today we were both out after feeding "lunch" (1/4 can LC) at +4.5, so we don't know if she exhibited any symptoms. Are these drops any cause for concern at this point? Should we be at home at her nadir (approx. +6) to monitor until these drops (hopefully) stop happening? And why is she staying much higher overnight?
 
Your spreadsheet says I need permission to see it, but if you are seeing 60 and following SLGS, you need to reduce the dose to 1.0 units. I can comment on the rest once I see the spreadsheet.
 
Your spreadsheet says I need permission to see it, but if you are seeing 60 and following SLGS, you need to reduce the dose to 1.0 units. I can comment on the rest once I see the spreadsheet.

Okay, I think you should be able to see Bibi's spreadsheet now? Please confirm, and let me know what you think. She's had so many more high numbers than low, that we want to keep her on 1.25 if possible. But these two sudden drops to 60, especially yesterday when it was so fast, really catch us off guard. Thanks.
 
Yes I can see the spreadsheet now, thank you.

What is your reason for choosing SLGS for dosing? It says to reduce if you spot nadirs below 90.
 
Yes I can see the spreadsheet now, thank you.

What is your reason for choosing SLGS for dosing? It says to reduce if you spot nadirs below 90.

I guess because TR seems more difficult at this point when it's all still so new and overwhelming. I suppose the gist of my question is this: is it riskier for her to stay in high numbers for prolonged periods - as you can see on her SS with all the blacks and reds (Freestyle Libre only reads up to 500 so we don't actually know how high over 500 any of those 500s are) - or to occasionally fall to a low number? We did go back to 1 iu for the next five doses after the first time she hit a low number (62) on July 20, but then went back up to 1.25 at vet's recommendation. If we reduce back to 1 unit again, we would stay there for 2 weeks and if no low numbers, then go back up to 1.25? Thanks.
 
With the Libre, you get plenty of tests in for TR. TR also allows you to hold the dose until they go below 50. With the majority of her numbers even above 200, I can see your reluctance to reduce. The thing I liked about TR was also the ability to increase sooner when Neko was stuck in high numbers. Maybe read the TR guidelines again and see if you feel more comfortable with it now. If you do stick to SLGS, you should reduce.

One thought for you, do you have a manual meter? It might be worth double checking “low” numbers the Libre is showing.
 
With the Libre, you get plenty of tests in for TR. TR also allows you to hold the dose until they go below 50. With the majority of her numbers even above 200, I can see your reluctance to reduce. The thing I liked about TR was also the ability to increase sooner when Neko was stuck in high numbers. Maybe read the TR guidelines again and see if you feel more comfortable with it now. If you do stick to SLGS, you should reduce.

One thought for you, do you have a manual meter? It might be worth double checking “low” numbers the Libre is showing.

Okay, I will go back and re-read TR and see. We just received the manual testing supplies in the mail yesterday, but we are going to need to do lots of desensitization before we can hope to successfully manually test her. She's already become very suspicious of us at mealtimes cause she knows the shot is coming :nailbiting:
 
With the Libre, you get plenty of tests in for TR. TR also allows you to hold the dose until they go below 50. With the majority of her numbers even above 200, I can see your reluctance to reduce. The thing I liked about TR was also the ability to increase sooner when Neko was stuck in high numbers. Maybe read the TR guidelines again and see if you feel more comfortable with it now. If you do stick to SLGS, you should reduce.

One thought for you, do you have a manual meter? It might be worth double checking “low” numbers the Libre is showing.
But come to think of it, someone else (maybe the vet?) also mentioned that the Libre tends to show lower numbers than manual testing. THanks.
 
But come to think of it, someone else (maybe the vet?) also mentioned that the Libre tends to show lower numbers than manual testing
IME, the Libre shows higher numbers than my blood glucometer when Ming is going down. The manual also recommends using blood to test when numbers are lower. The Libre takes interstitial glucose (glucose levels in the tissue - not the blood) and it takes time for the body to absorb blood. So your readings will be behind about 6 to 18 minutes. I've noticed this when Ming is diving. He'll be at 68 on the Libre but 50-something on the blood test.

This is important when you need to bring kitty's numbers up.
 
Back
Top