? 11/1 Sootie: pm dosing?? 222/pm+11.5, 239/amps 201/+4 270/+7.5 266/+11 233/+5

Status
Not open for further replies.

HWright

Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...42-3-196-6-156-11-253-pmps263-4-5-224.167508/

Good morning and hope all resting up after last night's Halloween party and gathering with rememberance. and not too many niptinis or pumpkin spice sangrias, either!!

Sootie's amps (I'm calling it that even though it's more like pm+11.5&-) @222 at 7:24am. o_O And Sootie's just eaten a pretty good sampling of breakfast. I missed the 3-4am retest...again.

We've now been 6 cycles at 0.05u (after several days on 0). So going to retest close to 8am and continue 0.05u this morning barring any dramatic decrease between now and then. Well...we can hope!

Wishing great day and happy vines for one and all :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Sina
 
Ok I'm starting to weep! patience pants on yes. mystified yes. :banghead: Yes

Any Dosing approach changes or other suggestions for pm dose? Will pmps ca 7:30pm. Shoot window ca 8pm est.

feels like we're stuck in the yellows with the nasty pink yesterday morning and a blue or two in between.

Sootie's +7.5 (3:23pm est) @ 270.
She did eat some after +3, saw her nibbling about an hour later. She is out in the open (vs under a dresser or in closet). Maybe maybe not eaten more since ca 1pm. Appy not as happy . I'd like to think that's she's still full from that 3-day Mirtz binge...but I kinda doubt that!

Thanking in advance
Sina
 
I can't see on your SS when the Mirtz was given, but I don't think that should be impacting her numbers now. To me, it also looks like 0.05 is not quite enough. Since you saw blues, you could wait another day. But if you can monitor, you could increase a smidge tonight. Do you have any idea what is impacting her appetite? If some underlying condition, that could be contributing to higher numbers too.
 
I can't see on your SS when the Mirtz was given, but I don't think that should be impacting her numbers now. To me, it also looks like 0.05 is not quite enough. Since you saw blues, you could wait another day. But if you can monitor, you could increase a smidge tonight. Do you have any idea what is impacting her appetite? If some underlying condition, that could be contributing to higher numbers too.
Wendy, thanks.
First: want to relay that I read your condo of today but not yet posted on that. Prayers and ❤️❤️ And :bighug::bighug: for you and Neko. And Doodles and Karen in our prayers too. with all you're handling, thank you for helping us!

Second: the Mirtz was given with fud at Midnight on Friday (my notation of it on SS not as visible as I thought in the pm +2 or whatever that time slot was. My apologies.
Been thinking about the same about smidgening up the next dose. Although my sense of her nighttime patterns before all this was that she tends to run lower at night, thats all out the window these days. I know that she does NOT like nighttime doses, her body is not accustomed to them, and I prefer to err on the cautious side rather than risk another hypo.

Not sure what precisely is impacting her appy. The iffy appy and consistently higher numbers of later seem to coincide with Bo's passing last Wednesday. And this was one of Carla's observations.

But Sootie's appy been iffy for awhile before that. Uti, the ultrasound possible Dx's of IBD , enlarged/inflamed lymphatics and possible intestinal neoplasia. Her blood work same day as US was good in many respects but low in others. (I'd transferred that info, albeit sloppily I regret due to me trying to transpose idexx information to the SS test descriptions. I haven't resumed straightening it out because of Bo's decline, Azalea's eye injury and my own physical who ha's, all converging like the perfect storm.

So for Sootie: possibly pain (uti and or other underlying), stress and grieving, is there a correlation between higher blood pressure (a mirtz side effect) and glucose?, food, is the insulin itself waning (it's a vial rx'd Jan 2016), IBD and/or other per u/s and b/w? With everything going on so suddenly, i'd postponed Sootie's consult appointments during the week that Bo and Azalea were in-crisis and now getting back to that. Trying not to overthink this but really not sure. I know not doing more tests (especially in pm cycles) doesn't help either.

Don't know if any of this helps with your questions.
 
Last edited:
Since Sootie only got to 156 yesterday, I think you are okay to increase her dose to 0.1 units. If you don't think you can monitor enough tonight, you can wait until tomorrow morning to do the increase.
 
Thanks Carla.
I won't be able to watch closely tomorrow, so will try 0.1 tonight. She hadn't eaten much yet tonight. She went to bathtub again, brought supper dish to her there. She was dabbling in it a few minutes ago. I might dose a few minutes earlier while I know she's made some appy headway. Hoping the increase to 0.1 might start the break through. My brain is mush lately. Crossing paws all goes well.

P.S. I think we have our likely azalea eye injury culprit: just saw ch polydactyl Dancer take an unprovoked swipe at Bella.
 
Tx'd 0.1u @ 7:50 pm. Hadn't eaten much in bathtub. She returned to the bed. Ate some from there with mutual cuddles and hugs too. ❤️
 
Good luck with the small increase - I hope it brings her numbers down a bit. Appy vines still going your way.

I find it a bit harder to read a lot of detail on the cells of the spreadsheet and usually look to that information on the Remarks column. If the cells for the hourly BG numbers get too long, it's harder for me to see several days of the spreadsheet at once and hence the patterns that can occur.
 
I'm getting here late but with those numbers, I would have likely shot 0.25u.

I understand you gave her 0.1u as you can't monitor much tomorrow so I'd let it ride for six cycles and reassess but we don't want glucose toxicity to set in. She isn't used to it.

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good luck with the small increase - I hope it brings her numbers down a bit. Appy vines still going your way.

I find it a bit harder to read a lot of detail on the cells of the spreadsheet and usually look to that information on the Remarks column. If the cells for the hourly BG numbers get too long, it's harder for me to see several days of the spreadsheet at once and hence the patterns that can occur.

Thanks, with Sootie right now. Just tested even though she is quite agita. She has been grrr'ing and hissing since came into and left room.

Bg at pm +2 = 226

Sorry about the SS. I haven't figured out how to space lines On columns or remarks so that's not all a jumble. Techno tips welcome too

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
So sorry Sofie is out of sorts and grr'ing and hissing...has she been hanging out with Gussie? That is often his primary mode of communication!
Sending hugs, you must be so tired:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I'm getting here late but with those numbers, I would have likely shot 0.25u.

I understand you gave her 0.1u as you can't monitor much tomorrow so I'd let it ride for six cycles and reassess but we don't want glucose toxicity to set in. She isn't used to it.

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thanks Marje,

If Sootie's behavior so far tonight (described above in reply to Wendy)any indicator, her Sootie-ness level def changed since since 8pm when I went due stairs and now ...maybe not taking the 0.1u well...or could be ticked off about ear pricks...or just wants to work this all out herself. I dunno.

Are you suggesting that now that the 0.1 unit done, to let it ride as in continue with 0.1u for six cycles? Or reduce back tomorrow (depending on bg)? I'm going to have to start by re-reading the sticky about glucose toxicity. But ok to ask questions once I've refreshed self on that?

I'll keeping checking her. I'm not sensing that this is gonna be a hypo night. But who knows. her 'ticked off' level right now is pretty intense And I have feeling the more frequent the retests the worse it's gonna get.
 
So sorry Sofie is out of sorts and grr'ing and hissing...has she been hanging out with Gussie? That is often his primary mode of communication!
Sending hugs, you must be so tired:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
It is verrrrry un-Sootie...she's hissed at others when not feeling well but never like this and never at me or in all the bg tests we've done 'together'... Team effort!

Naughty Gussie! Were you giving Sootie naughty tips while you both were flamenco'ing throughout the night at the party?

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
I put any remarks in the section to the right rather than in the test cells. That will shrink the horizontal rows so that more days are visible. I've been thinking the same thing but hadn't said anything. It helps a lot if we can see at least a week of tests and doses at a time.

Another option, if you really like the comments in the cells, is to put them in notes. I don't know how to do that, but TiTi's spreadsheet is an example of that. I'll tag @Kathy and TiTi and she can tell you how to insert those notes. Those cells with the little black triangles have notes in them. You can see the notes by hovering over the triangle.

A second option for having it in the cells, is to shrink the font.

The way to make the text wrap around is to put in spaces and not hit return until the end of the text for that cell.

Hope that helps some.
 
I think one thing that might help is to add a time column. Look at @ Gussies, I had a time column added that gives me the start point for my + measurements so I don't have to record actual time numbers, just the time past shot time, from whence all counting for that cycle stems.,ex I don't have to write at8:30 but just put the result in the +2 cell or if it's an odd time say I shot at 6:30 and my test is at 9 I'd just put @2.5 126 in the 2 cell.
I will put sometimes some shorthand for what I fed in the cell next to the one I gave a test result in. I put more info in the remarks section.
Hugs
 
Thank you both. Will try to put spreadsheet synergy hat on maybe tomorrow. Too tired. Just messed up reply and ..,,redoing here, I dunno..
Anyway..,
233 @ 12:53am (pm +5). And this was after she and I fell asleep together. And then she snd DH did their beloved late nightly minnows and standard process treats routine.

❤️❤️❤️
 
Thank you both. Will try to put spreadsheet synergy hat on maybe tomorrow. Too tired. Just messed up reply and ..,,redoing here, I dunno..
Anyway..,
233 @ 12:53am (pm +5). And this was after she and I fell asleep together. And then she snd DH did their beloved late nightly minnows and standard process treats routine.

❤️❤️❤️
Awww nice routine and I'm sure the snooze together was lovely!! :bighug::bighug:Sounds like the hissing Sootie has left the building!:cat:
 
Awww nice routine and I'm sure the snooze together was lovely!! :bighug::bighug:Sounds like the hissing Sootie has left the building!:cat:

Hope so. I'm now off to get some more zzzz's Looking like Sootie not likely to dip tonight but will try to recheck later.

I'm wondering if the insulin losing its kabotz. Doesn't look cloudy nor does it have any speckles. But it's almost a year old (and within exp date). I don't have a new spare vial. Will ask vet tomorrow...actually this morning....when bring Azalea in again.

Sweet dreams and happy vines to you and your Flamenco boy :);):bighug:
 
I haven't heard of anyone having their insulin last a year. That is extraordinary. The expiration date is before it's been started being used, as far as I know. That could explain the recent higher numbers, but it could also be that she just needs a little larger of a dose.
 
Thanks Marje,

If Sootie's behavior so far tonight (described above in reply to Wendy)any indicator, her Sootie-ness level def changed since since 8pm when I went due stairs and now ...maybe not taking the 0.1u well...or could be ticked off about ear pricks...or just wants to work this all out herself. I dunno.

Are you suggesting that now that the 0.1 unit done, to let it ride as in continue with 0.1u for six cycles? Or reduce back tomorrow (depending on bg)? I'm going to have to start by re-reading the sticky about glucose toxicity. But ok to ask questions once I've refreshed self on that?

I'll keeping checking her. I'm not sensing that this is gonna be a hypo night. But who knows. her 'ticked off' level right now is pretty intense And I have feeling the more frequent the retests the worse it's gonna get.
Yes....since you already went with the 0.1u dose, I was suggesting you hold the dose for six cycles, unless she earns a reduction, before increasing. If she starts to go much higher, post and ask for dosing help as we don't want her to sit in really high numbers if it's obvious the 0.1u just isn't enough.

I wouldn't reduce the dose unless she drops below 40 (since she is a long term diabetic) or unless she kicks into green and starts churning out normal numbers, mostly below 100, for a week.

And also, yes, please ask any questions any time!
 
Yes....since you already went with the 0.1u dose, I was suggesting you hold the dose for six cycles, unless she earns a reduction, before increasing. If she starts to go much higher, post and ask for dosing help as we don't want her to sit in really high numbers if it's obvious the 0.1u just isn't enough.

I wouldn't reduce the dose unless she drops below 40 (since she is a long term diabetic) or unless she kicks into green and starts churning out normal numbers, mostly below 100, for a week.

And also, yes, please ask any questions any time!

Thank you @Marje and Gracie. Keeping this in mind as thse dances within dances continue. Gussie's onto something with his passion for Flamenco (@Gussie's mom)!

When I bring Azalea in this morning, I'll bring in Sootie's Lantus vial in case vet wants to see the vial for himself.

If he thinks best to start a new vial....

Here's a question and in context of yours above and with the possibility / hunch that the existing vial might now be at less than full efficacy: start new vial at 0.1u or best guess compensate by doing a...lower dose of .05u, or other (for example)?

Heading upstairs soon to retest and with fud. Last night she'd settled in with DH...his snores can, in their own cycles, can be ohm-like (at least for her!). Crossing paws for :cool:.

And :bighug::bighug::bighug: for smooth sailing day for all.
Sina
 
If you start a new vial, it's best to hold the dose. You don't want to change two things at the same time because if her numbers change you don't know which one caused the change. Sending good vetty vines for Azalea. :bighug::bighug:
 
If you start a new vial, it's best to hold the dose. You don't want to change two things at the same time because if her numbers change you don't know which one caused the change. Sending good vetty vines for Azalea. :bighug::bighug:

Thanks Carla.

Just added condo for today, Sootie's amps 276 and not eating. Holding off on am dose (window lately between 8-9 am depending mostly on appy) til gets enough yummy going in tummy. Playing it safe. However....these yellows....grrrr....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top