11/10 Mocha-AMPS 324 +2.0=246; +9.5=143; PMPS225;+1=452; +2=228; +3 290

Status
Not open for further replies.
Watch her today as that was quite a drop which means she could slide down into the green today. Try to get more tests in this afternoon too you want to catch her going under 90 so she can earn those reductions :)
 
She's liking the dose - the swings will get shallower once she get used to the pretty blues.

Maybe next time she's low at shot time, you'll consider doing a 50% dose or so, just so you don't have quite the bounce. I could delay or reduce, but skipping took a while to recover from.
 
She's liking the dose - the swings will get shallower once she get used to the pretty blues.

Maybe next time she's low at shot time, you'll consider doing a 50% dose or so, just so you don't have quite the bounce. I could delay or reduce, but skipping took a while to recover from.

I agree with your thinking and idea. I was nervous with the low amps number and happy at the same time. But, she clearly "paid" for getting nothing when she was doing well. I soooo appreciate input how to help get her stable. Just needs some tweaks. I might ask you to give me input when I get another number.
 
Watch her today as that was quite a drop which means she could slide down into the green today. Try to get more tests in this afternoon too you want to catch her going under 90 so she can earn those reductions :)

I was out today trying to find a home to downsize so I just saw this message. I will try to test her again shortly but she likely has already climbed again. I agree with getting more numbers and filling in this puzzle. I need help how to piece it all together.
 
Watch her today as that was quite a drop which means she could slide down into the green today. Try to get more tests in this afternoon too you want to catch her going under 90 so she can earn those reductions :)
Just got the 143.....I missed her low due to not being here. Will have to watch more tomorrow and get more late night data.
 
Nice blues! I know it's scary at first, when you start seeing those numbers. Goal for now is to get rid of pinks, see some yellows, lotsa blues, and maybe a few higher greens. Blues are your friend. If you're ever concerned, especially with the lower preshots, you can always shave a little off the dose. Good job!
 
Nice blues! I know it's scary at first, when you start seeing those numbers. Goal for now is to get rid of pinks, see some yellows, lotsa blues, and maybe a few higher greens. Blues are your friend. If you're ever concerned, especially with the lower preshots, you can always shave a little off the dose. Good job!
Please HELP. She got 225 pmps. I am afraid to give full dose due to the drops. She may be ok but I don't have much data on night dips. What do you advise?
 
Can you stay up tonight and test? Do you have plenty of testing supplies? Do you have HC or Karo in case you need it?
 
Can you stay up tonight and test? Do you have plenty of testing supplies? Do you have HC or Karo in case you need it?
I can stay up. I have honey, which I thought was also fine? Do you think give the full dose and test her how many times and how far apart and when do you give the honey?
 
She has dropped 180 to 257 points on a 4.0 am dose. I don't feel safe with dosing the same when she is only @ 225!!! I know it says to shoot if above 150 but with her dives I don't think so? Agree?
 
Honey is fine. If you don't feel comfortable shooting the 4 units, you can reduce it for tonight. I won't be able to stay up with you. You can ask for help in your subject line if you need it.

Whatever you shoot, you should get a +1 and a +2 to see what she's doing and if she's dropping fast. Any other tests would be based on what you get from the +1 and + 2 tests. You would use the honey if she drops below 90 and she won't come back up with just food.
 
Honey is fine. If you don't feel comfortable shooting the 4 units, you can reduce it for tonight. I won't be able to stay up with you. You can ask for help in your subject line if you need it.

Whatever you shoot, you should get a +1 and a +2 to see what she's doing and if she's dropping fast. Any other tests would be based on what you get from the +1 and + 2 tests. You would use the honey if she drops below 90 and she won't come back up with just food.

do you think go to 2.0 units from 4.0?
 
I can stay up. I have honey, which I thought was also fine? Do you think give the full dose and test her how many times and how far apart and when do you give the honey?

You would not need to give honey until about 60 (most don't until 50) or if she starts showing signs of hypo. If she drops below 90 you'll want to reduce her dose! I'm not comfortable giving you any dosing advise but do agree with Carla. Hopefully the more experienced group will chime in soon!
 
I think 2 units should be okay, but to be on the safe side you should still get the +1 and +2 tests. You can post what they are and ask for when to test next in your subject line.

I wish I could stay up and walk you through shooting. Hopefully sometime soon you'll get a number like this and someone will be able to stay with you, but until then you need to do what you feel will keep Mocha safe.
 
I think 2 units should be okay, but to be on the safe side you should still get the +1 and +2 tests. You can post what they are and ask for when to test next in your subject line.

I wish I could stay up and walk you through shooting. Hopefully sometime soon you'll get a number like this and someone will be able to stay with you, but until then you need to do what you feel will keep Mocha safe.
Thank you....I feel so alone and I needed someone to respond. I feel 2.0 units will be safe and I will watch her to see she climbs after the dip that may be a good 3 hours to see the dip though?
 
You'll want to get a +1 & +2 because there is still insulin in the depot to be sure. Depending on those numbers I'd probably test again until you are comfortable
 
I don't want to give dosing advice but I will be up for a while for support. I feel too new still to make that call.
It just helps to have support. I gave her the 1/2 dose and will watch her....what a day.....hope the night is uneventful. How much longer will you be checking the posts?
 
Honey is fine. If you don't feel comfortable shooting the 4 units, you can reduce it for tonight. I won't be able to stay up with you. You can ask for help in your subject line if you need it.

Whatever you shoot, you should get a +1 and a +2 to see what she's doing and if she's dropping fast. Any other tests would be based on what you get from the +1 and + 2 tests. You would use the honey if she drops below 90 and she won't come back up with just food.
Is it not CRAZY to have her drop in excess of 180 points in her regular dosing? That is what scared me. It makes me think she must be on too high a dose.
 
It may seem counter intuitive, but when a kitty starts with a lower preshot number, they don't dive as much. That's the beauty of Lantus and Levemir, when you start out lower, they are great at holding the numbers steady. That's why I had no problem shooting 6.5 units into a 107 this morning. But shooting a lower dose tonight is OK. It'll let you see what happens. This journey is all about gaining experience and data.

To me, it does not look like she is on too high a dose.
 
It may seem counter intuitive, but when a kitty starts with a lower preshot number, they don't dive as much. That's the beauty of Lantus and Levemir, when you start out lower, they are great at holding the numbers steady. That's why I had no problem shooting 6.5 units into a 107 this morning. But shooting a lower dose tonight is OK. It'll let you see what happens. This journey is all about gaining experience and data.

To me, it does not look like she is on too high a dose.
Good to know that the "math" is not the same when the numbers are lower. I did not know that would be the scenario. Makes it less scarey. But, I guess as times goes on and I get more data, I will have more comfort. Are you going to be around later?
 
Not really knowing what I'm doing... Lol.. It does look like you started getting good numbers at 4 units.
 
Is it not CRAZY to have her drop in excess of 180 points in her regular dosing?

Not necessarily....we see cats drop from 400's to 100's all the time....we have one person who's cat routinely dropped from 400 to 40 and back to 400 by the next preshot

I know it seems scary to shoot a lower number than you've shot before, but that's how Lantus works best....you just keep shooting the same dose until they EARN a reduction and then slowly work your way down to where they're (hopefully) needing none!
 
Yes, I am on the west coast, still an hour away from PMPS time and madly working on a Remembrance Day wreath. Gonna be up a while yet!

BTW - When Neko started out and did her worst diving, she earned reductions (below 50) in a cycle she started at 470. But when she starts a cycle in the 80's, she often will only have movement of 10 points all cycle. But that's me and Neko and we have been on TR over 3.5 years so I have lots of data. You will gradually learn to shoot full dose into lower and lower numbers with Mocha.
 
Is it weird that I get a thrill shooting the low numbers? Not too low, my lowest has been 88 I think, but I love seeing where she will go with it.
 
Not necessarily....we see cats drop from 400's to 100's all the time....we have one person who's cat routinely dropped from 400 to 40 and back to 400 by the next preshot

I know it seems scary to shoot a lower number than you've shot before, but that's how Lantus works best....you just keep shooting the same dose until they EARN a reduction and then slowly work your way down to where they're (hopefully) needing none!
It is comforting that the drop is not the same as the number goes lower, I just don't have that testing to know yet for her. If this is across the board, that helps.
 
Honey is fine. If you don't feel comfortable shooting the 4 units, you can reduce it for tonight. I won't be able to stay up with you. You can ask for help in your subject line if you need it.

Whatever you shoot, you should get a +1 and a +2 to see what she's doing and if she's dropping fast. Any other tests would be based on what you get from the +1 and + 2 tests. You would use the honey if she drops below 90 and she won't come back up with just food.
Since she shot up at +1, can I give her the other 1/2 of her dose? Should right?
 
Kari, there are usually people on here until about 11pm west coast time, and then often the Australian contingent comes on. Suki/Crystal is in France, and it's her morning about then as well.

So, fortunately, we have people all around the world and most of the time there is someone experienced online.

No, don't give her the rest of the dose now. I'll explain in the next post. Just go with it this time.
 
Kari, there are usually people on here until about 11pm west coast time, and then often the Australian contingent comes on. Suki/Crystal is in France, and it's her morning about then as well.

So, fortunately, we have people all around the world and most of the time there is someone experienced online.

No, don't give her the rest of the dose now. I'll explain in the next post. Just go with it this time.
Good to know about the support round the clock and to let the dose go. Feel bad because she is so hungry when it climbs that high. I guess I messed up in trying to be cautious.
 
There are times when you get a "furshot" - meaning that something happens and the insulin doesn't all get in. Maybe some does, or the needle goes all the way through the skin tent and shoots out onto the cat. Or maybe the cat moves while you're shooting and the syringe pulls out and some doesn't go in.

Here on FDMB we don't ever recommend that people re-shoot if some is missed. I feel the same way about giving partial shots. Even though you know that 2u got in, still measuring 2 u is tricky enough that you wouldn't want to give slightly more in each shot and have it really end up being 4.5u or something. We have done experiments on syringes and we know the markings tend not to be very accurate. For a human with a larger dose (or my cat, who got up to 15.5u) slight differences in dose might not matter. But for a small cat, 0.5u can be a huge difference. Even 0.25u can be a lot.

So, I would just go with the initial shot you gave - it will give you good information on how she does with a reduced dose and next time you have a preshot that's lower, you can look at this example and see how well that worked/didn't work.

I see your last post so I'm going to post this, but I'm a person who has to explain everything, so I want to write some more to you as well. back in a moment.
 
It may seem counter intuitive, but when a kitty starts with a lower preshot number, they don't dive as much. That's the beauty of Lantus and Levemir, when you start out lower, they are great at holding the numbers steady. That's why I had no problem shooting 6.5 units into a 107 this morning. But shooting a lower dose tonight is OK. It'll let you see what happens. This journey is all about gaining experience and data.

To me, it does not look like she is on too high a dose.

Can it help me to think that her drops are not points but % of the preshot? If I knew that then I would have been more comfortable giving the shot at full dose tonight. I was thinking points and that was problematic.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top