? 11/11 SHEBA AMPS 380;+6 337; question about dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bron and Sheba (GA)

Member Since 2015
Previous condo
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-9-sheba-amps-272-3-261-4-167-5-140-6-104.147245/

AMPS 380
Sheba has got herself into the cycle of big drop and bounce the past two days since the dosecrease. It is very frustrating. I am going to have to go back to closer monitoring of the drop. She dropped 94 the first morning in an hour and 79 the next morning in an hour apart from other smaller drops then bounced way up by PMPS.

This morning my daughter came over and gave Sheba her am insulin shot. I got her to draw it up and give it. She did well and there were no problems. I think she was surprised how easy it was and how much time she had to do it while Sheba was eating her food. I have a sample syringe ready to fill with the dose she has to give.

At the moment Sheba is on 6 units and I was thinking of reducing it to 5 units while I am in hospital. What do others think? No one will be testing the blood sugar. Do you think that will be enough? I thought 5 units was an easy dose to draw up and should be enough of a reduction to keep her safe, but would appreciate your experience in deciding please. I will reduce the dose the night before I go into hospital as well. What do you think?

Armistice Day here in Australia...Rememberance Day.....remembering all the soldiers who fought in WWI.. My dad fought in WWI. Lest we forget.
 
I think that's a very reasonable plan with regard to Sheba's dose. I think you will rest relatively easily with that reduction in dose.

Tomorrow (Nov. 11th) is Veterans Day in the US. It sounds like our holiday is similar to yours.
 
Lots of good and healing vines for ya Bron! Glad your daughter will be able to take care of Sheba for you. Take care of you and don't you worry, sounds like your daughter has got this :)
 
Hey Sheba, my mumma bean told me to keep my eye on you while your mumma bean is away, so be good! I don't want to have to tell on you! -- Ivana

Best wishes for your hospital stay, I'm sure everything will go smoothly with Sheba.

Lest we forget.
 
Thank you Sienne, Elizabeth, Gabrielle, Carla and Tara for the dosing advice, vines and best wishes. All very much appreciated. I will just be thankful when it is behind me.
DH is going to be actually looking after Sheba and feeding her and DD will come and do the insulin. I am sure it will all be fine....there is just that little bit of anxiety as I have not had to leave her before for someone else to look after since the diabetes diagnosis.
 
The 11th Hour of the 11th Day of the 11th Month. My dad was in the navy in World War I, but did not see action. Two of my uncles were in the infantry and fought in France. Although the commemoration of the Armistice is now called Veterans Day (in the US), I still think of it as Armistice Day.

I agree that the lower dose is the best plan. I'm glad that your daughter discovered that it won't be so hard to give a shot. Sending lots of vines for your successful surgery.

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
I also think 5u is a reasonable reduction. I've missed how long you expect to be in the hospital.

Sending you many healing thoughts, Bron. I hope all goes well and you heal quickly. You'll be missed here while you are gone. :bighug:
 
The 11th Hour of the 11th Day of the 11th Month. My dad was in the navy in World War I, but did not see action. Two of my uncles were in the infantry and fought in France. Although the commemoration of the Armistice is now called Veterans Day (in the US), I still think of it as Armistice Day.

I agree that the lower dose is the best plan. I'm glad that your daughter discovered that it won't be so hard to give a shot. Sending lots of vines for your successful surgery.

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
Thanks Ella
My dad fought in France also and was gassed at Passchendaele.
 
I also think 5u is a reasonable reduction. I've missed how long you expect to be in the hospital.

Sending you many healing thoughts, Bron. I hope all goes well and you heal quickly. You'll be missed here while you are gone. :bighug:
Thanks Julie. Hopefully only a day or two if all goes well. They don't keep you long in hospital these days!
 
How nice that you now have a "back up shooter" in the family if you need one!!

I'm sure Sheba will be fine on the 5u dose...You just concentrate on getting better and getting out of the hospital as soon as possible...Hospitals are for sick people!! (and if you hang around too long, you might end up as one! ;)
 
Sending you tons of good wishes for the hospital visit. :bighug: As the others have said, you have a good plan in place. As a bonus, once DH and your daughter have successfully looked after Sheba for you this time, maybe you can take advantage of them covering you for a fun trip sometime!

Remembrance Day here tomorrow. My father was in the Navy in WWII, grandfather in the infantry in WWI. The service I go to has my great uncle's name listed as the first one on the cenotaph. We shall not sleep, though poppies grow in Flanders fields.
 
Vines for a successful and short hospital stay. You may not be here, but we'll be with you.

Great plan for Sheba. Also great that this trial run with DH and DD may give you some piece of mind to use their help for more pleasurable things!

Marilyn and Polly
 
Armistice Day here in France, where so many gave their lives for our freedom. Lest we forget.

Glad to hear DD is coping well with Sheba's injection, sounds as if you have a first class team in place Bron, nothing to worry about while you are in hospital. Sending mega vines for Friday and hope you are soon home, fit and well :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hope everything goes smoothly for your hospital stay Bron. Try not to worry about Sheba or they'll want to keep you in longer for high blood pressure!
 
Hi Bron. I was wondering how you are doing and so I looked for an update and read you had to go to hospital and I just want to send you my best wishes for a fast recovery and I hope you are doing okay and that Sheba is doing okay too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top