? 11/14 whhhhhhy !??! Mimi 86 @+11.75, 96 @+12 PMPS. fed MC food +1 100 +2 109

Looks like sweet Mimi went to the beach today! Good girl! Luci finally made it there too..and stayed for the day.

Have a wonderful evening Rosa!
 
Rosa

Deep breath. FD is a marathon, not a sprint. Very few cats are regulated within the amount of time you’ve been here. Very, very few.

She looks like she was clearing a bounce that started the night of 11/12. Are you going to shoot now? After you do, try a couple big tsp of MC and test at +1.
 
Rosa

Deep breath. FD is a marathon, not a sprint. Very few cats are regulated within the amount of time you’ve been here. Very, very few.

She looks like she was clearing a bounce that started the night of 11/12. Are you going to shoot now? After you do, try a couple big tsp of MC and test at +1.
So I’ve looked at her SS and trying to learn what her +1,+2 are, and what her +11,+12 are to determine how she reacts and sometimes she rises at 1 and 2 and sometimes she drops. She’s all over the place. I’m going to feed her and shoot now. What’s bizarre is she had a 185 at nadir, so why’d she continue to drop... well back to separating them because I do not know if she ate her 6 pm meal
 
So I’ve looked at her SS and trying to learn what her +1,+2 are, and what her +11,+12 are to determine how she reacts and sometimes she rises at 1 and 2 and sometimes she drops. She’s all over the place. I’m going to feed her and shoot now. What’s bizarre is she had a 185 at nadir, so why’d she continue to drop... well back to separating them because I do not know if she ate her 6 pm meal
She will rise at +1, generally, if she’s not clearing a bounce. That doesn’t mean she won’t have an active Lantus cycle. I believe I saw someone link what a Lantus cycle looks like for you before. Normally, on a “typical cycle” day, you’d see a rise at +1 from a food spike. Then onset at +2 and numbers would start to drop. Then by +11, you might see duration waning and numbers starting to rise. Although if a cat has really good duration, it might be really flat or you might even see a drop. Lantus is known for the “second dip” which means the numbers come back down again but not as low as nadir. Not all cats do it and even the ones that do don’t do it every cycle. But if you got a +11 that was lower than a +10 but not as low as nadir, that’s what you are seeing and it’s normal.

She really isn’t all over the place. She looks pretty normal to me. I’m really happy you are studying the SS and trying to figure it out!! Well done, you!!!
 
So I’ve looked at her SS and trying to learn what her +1,+2 are, and what her +11,+12 are to determine how she reacts and sometimes she rises at 1 and 2 and sometimes she drops. She’s all over the place. I’m going to feed her and shoot now. What’s bizarre is she had a 185 at nadir, so why’d she continue to drop... well back to separating them because I do not know if she ate her 6 pm meal
I’ll feed her and shoot
She will rise at +1, generally, if she’s not clearing a bounce. That doesn’t mean she won’t have an active Lantus cycle. I believe I saw someone link what a Lantus cycle looks like for you before. Normally, on a “typical cycle” day, you’d see a rise at +1 from a food spike. Then onset at +2 and numbers would start to drop. Then by +11, you might see duration waning and numbers starting to rise. Although if a cat has really good duration, it might be really flat or you might even see a drop. Lantus is known for the “second dip” which means the numbers come back down again but not as low as nadir. Not all cats do it and even the ones that do don’t do it every cycle. But if you got a +11 that was lower than a +10 but not as low as nadir, that’s what you are seeing and it’s normal.

She really isn’t all over the place. She looks pretty normal to me. I’m really happy you are studying the SS and trying to figure it out!! Well done, you!!!


So the nadir today was 185... that’s what confused me. I just did her +1 and it’s 100
 
She’s at 100 at +1- I fed her some HC mixed in with her LC to make MC. What’s scaring me is she’s only at 100 and her Lantus hasn’t even started working yet , and where was her food spike..
 
She will rise at +1, generally, if she’s not clearing a bounce. That doesn’t mean she won’t have an active Lantus cycle. I believe I saw someone link what a Lantus cycle looks like for you before. Normally, on a “typical cycle” day, you’d see a rise at +1 from a food spike. Then onset at +2 and numbers would start to drop. Then by +11, you might see duration waning and numbers starting to rise. Although if a cat has really good duration, it might be really flat or you might even see a drop. Lantus is known for the “second dip” which means the numbers come back down again but not as low as nadir. Not all cats do it and even the ones that do don’t do it every cycle. But if you got a +11 that was lower than a +10 but not as low as nadir, that’s what you are seeing and it’s normal.

She really isn’t all over the place. She looks pretty normal to me. I’m really happy you are studying the SS and trying to figure it out!! Well done, you!!!
I think I mean “all over the place” because her numbers don’t seem to rise at +1 and +2- they dip and her nadirs have been in the high blues
 
I’ll feed her and shoot
So the nadir today was 185... that’s what confused me. I just did her +1 and it’s 100
The nadir is the lowest number of the cycle; it’s not always at mid cycle. Her nadir today was at +12.

She’s at 100 at +1- I fed her some HC mixed in with her LC to make MC. What’s scaring me is she’s only at 100 and her Lantus hasn’t even started working yet , and where was her food spike..
She won’t always get a food spike. With no food spike at +1, she’s probably going to come down more tonight. Be prepared. Test frequently and use food to control the BG.

I think I mean “all over the place” because her numbers don’t seem to rise at +1 and +2- they dip and her nadirs have been in the high blues
They won’t always. Did you read my explanation? If she’s clearing a bounce, they will be lower. If she’s starting a bounce, they will go up. Nadirs are the lowest number in the cycle and sometimes that might be at +12.

Be sure and get a +2 please :)
 
Ohh so at +6 is only if she was regulated? She just did 109 +2 going to feed her some more.. LC since she’s going up not down?
 
Ohh so at +6 is only if she was regulated? She just did 109 +2 going to feed her some more.. LC since she’s going up not down?
As Christie said, nadirs can move around a bit and they can vary by cat. I can remember one kitty here, on Lantus, and he always nadired at +12 so the CG had to get used to shooting lower (not below 50) AMPS and PMPS. Usually cats on Levemir always nadir late but even they can vary. When my Gracie was well regulated on Levemir, she would nadir at +15. That means her carryover and overlap were outstanding. Levemir often gives better duration than lantus.

So, you might find in time, that Mimi nadirs earlier or later than +6. Sienne’s Gabby was an early nadir cat; usually around +3.
 
As Christie said, nadirs can move around a bit and they can vary by cat. I can remember one kitty here, on Lantus, and he always nadired at +12 so the CG had to get used to shooting lower (not below 50) AMPS and PMPS. Usually cats on Levemir always nadir late but even they can vary. When my Gracie was well regulated on Levemir, she would nadir at +15. That means her carryover and overlap were outstanding. Levemir often gives better duration than lantus.

So, you might find in time, that Mimi nadirs earlier or later than +6. Sienne’s Gabby was an early nadir cat; usually around +3.
Hmm, ok. Interesting. So now I’m not exactly sure how Lantus works- doesn’t it bring you down and then bring you up- how can it bring you down right before it leaves the body?
 
Hmm, ok. Interesting. So now I’m not exactly sure how Lantus works- doesn’t it bring you down and then bring you up- how can it bring you down right before it leaves the body?
It’s just a design element of it that it does that. Likely to try and give the body a lower starting point before the next shot kicks in. The second dip is not a large drop; as I said, it is not as low as the nadir and you wouldn’t necessarily see it on a bounce clearing cycle.

Love Mimi’s new avatar!!! Very adorable.
 
Can the nadir change cycle to cycle? One cycle it’s +6 , next it’s 9+ or whatever
It most definitely can, depending on the cycle. I have had nadirs at +3, sometimes on a bounce breaking cycle I've caught lowest numbers at +9, but *usually* my kitty nadirs at around +5, but not always.
 
It’s just a design element of it that it does that. Likely to try and give the body a lower starting point before the next shot kicks in. The second dip is not a large drop; as I said, it is not as low as the nadir and you wouldn’t necessarily see it on a bounce clearing cycle.

Love Mimi’s new avatar!!! Very adorable.
Ya that’s her currently- you can see where they shaved her neck for the jugular catheter- it looks like she’s wearing a scarf. She’s so sweet and cute. She’s fighting so hard.
 
Yes I’ll get one. Just fed her her LC food. Should I give her a dash of HC or wait till +4?
Mimi looks like the FDMB mascot kitty drawing- I always thought that
 
+5 248 . Wow that’s a bounce
Yep, that’s a bounce.
Perfectly normal and to be expected. So there is no need to test anymore this cycle. Mimi might bounce for a few cycles, up
to 6 cycles.... you will just have to wait and see. Once she starts to come off the bounce, just be aware she can drop low and faster than normal so just be ready to test more when this happens.
 
Back
Top