11/19 Jenn'sCrew- Need advice on Abby

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenniferF

Member Since 2014
last thread

Cassius AMPS 114

Abby AMPS 283, PMBG 123- I lowered her to 13u (from 14u) I think that's what I was supposed to do. Trying to remember from a previous thread. Took her to the vet because I felt her recent numbers were concerning. Rightfully so, but I'm surprised her BG's are LOWER and not HIGHER. Her mouth has a HUGE ulcer in it. She is scheduled for a dental on Monday. Not sure how that helps the ulcer but her teeth were pretty bad too. Knowing that she's been going low way after her dose should I skip the PM dose the night before? I'm very worried because the rescue wants to do the bare minimum to save on cost which means to IV cathether. I'm going to ask if I can just pay for it. With her BG dropping and now this ulcer I'm worried there is more to it. But she seems find otherwise

Rose AMPS 260. She had her dental on 11/14 I believe and 2 days later she fell apart. She is "scared" to eat most food I offer. She literally runs away from it and looks petrified to even go near it. So the past few days she will lick the juice from one of those Fancy Feast pouches and baby food. (sigh)

Shadow AMBG- 102- OJT-

Oreo AMBG- 69 Day 5 of OJT Trial -

Mikey AMPS 85- Glad to see his BG came down after the dental. His third eyelid on his left eye is still out. The vet said it could have been the pressure of her hand while trying to remove his canine. She said it will go away which I'm starting to doubt.

Tigger AMPS 226
 
Knowing that she's been going low way after her dose should I skip the PM dose the night before?

Most of us give the normal dose the night before and then skip the morning of the dental and then see how they're doing afterwards before making decisions on the PM dose after the dental.

Since usually they aren't supposed to eat after midnight, it also will depend on what time you shoot that night and what her number is then

Congrats on Oreo's day 5!!!! :D:D:D:D:D
 
I think you are saying that Abby has a late nadir? My Neko is the same, sometimes even nadiring at the next shot time. I have never skipped the night before anesthesia, but I have also given her medium carb food to make sure she stays up. You should ask the vet what they want to do about dose the morning of the dental, and also how late you can feed. Neko's dental specialist let me feed up to 6:00AM, though a reduced amount. That's the more current thinking on anesthesia for diabetics. Most however, still do a cutoff of 10:00 pm or midnight the night before. The vets will usually suggest a half dose in the AM of the anesthesia, though I play it by ear depending on her numbers, and have given a reduced amount or skipped, though not on purpose- it was a fur shot.:oops: Sending lots of good vetty vines for Abby. I hope the ulcer can be dealt with easily.
 
I think you are saying that Abby has a late nadir? My Neko is the same, sometimes even nadiring at the next shot time. I have never skipped the night before anesthesia, but I have also given her medium carb food to make sure she stays up. You should ask the vet what they want to do about dose the morning of the dental, and also how late you can feed. Neko's dental specialist let me feed up to 6:00AM, though a reduced amount. That's the more current thinking on anesthesia for diabetics. Most however, still do a cutoff of 10:00 pm or midnight the night before. The vets will usually suggest a half dose in the AM of the anesthesia, though I play it by ear depending on her numbers, and have given a reduced amount or skipped, though not on purpose- it was a fur shot.:oops: Sending lots of good vetty vines for Abby. I hope the ulcer can be dealt with easily.
Her shot time is after she will already be at the vet so she won't get the AM dose anyway. My concern is the past few times she's gone low has been at her next shot time which would be 9am and I'm dropping her off at 8am. I guess I'm worried she will be at 45 like she was the other day when they start the procedure.
 
I've always just skipped the morning of but I have heard of others giving a half dose the night before and a half dose the morning of. I don't think they would do the procedure if she's at 45. I think in your shoes I would give a half dose the night before. And yes on the reduction to 13u - nice to see her go down one :D

Poor Rose, is she still having painkillers? Sounds like she definitely needs them.

Oreo is looking good :D:D:D:D:D

Shadow :cool:
 
My concern is the past few times she's gone low has been at her next shot time which would be 9am and I'm dropping her off at 8am. I guess I'm worried she will be at 45 like she was the other day when they start the procedure.
Without any late cycle tests on the cycles before the preshots where she's been low, it's hard to say if preshot has been her nadir, or whether she is typically on her way back up at that point. With Neko on Lantus, if her +4 was about the same as her preshot, chances are she was heading for a later nadir around +7-+9. I also agree with Serryn, it'd be fine to give her a half dose the night before. You've done enough skipping lately and she's still managed to get into lower numbers, so caution is good.
 
Sending good dental vines to Abby, feel -better vines to Rose, keep- on -improving vines to Mikey, congratulations to Shadow, and :D:D:D:D:D To Oreo.
lookin' good, Cassius and Tigger.
 
I don't have experience with a high dose kitty, but from what you're saying the half dose the night before makes sense to me. Sending perfect dental vines to Abby, and I hope they can help that ulcer in her mouth at the same time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top