11/19 Scooter AMPS 63, +2 - 67, +4 - 53

Jill & Scooter

Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-3-scooter-amps-84.221228/
Good Morning!
It’s been a while, but there really hasn’t been anything to report. Scooter is holding steady at .25. He has had a low PMPS the last two nights. I’m having a vacation day today, which basically means I get to work from home today. I’m going to get some late cycle tests to see what he’s doing leading up to these low PS. Don’t know if he’s changed his nadir or what.
Prayers and vines for all kitties and beans in need!
48E18845-083A-44A5-92FA-23DDCB2686B5.jpeg
 
Jill - it's great to see you post a Scooter condo, and I'm glad Scooter is still such a green kitty! Give him a green kiss from Tina:D Scooter is the green poster boy from much higher dosing too.
I hope you have a wonderful day off -- you couldn't have picked a better fall weather day!
I love your kitty pic about diamonds - so very true for me and likely many others:)
 
Jill - it's great to see you post a Scooter condo, and I'm glad Scooter is still such a green kitty! Give him a green kiss from Tina:D Scooter is the green poster boy from much higher dosing too.
I hope you have a wonderful day off -- you couldn't have picked a better fall weather day!
I love your kitty pic about diamonds - so very true for me and likely many others:)
Thanks Jan! Scooter said to give Tina a kiss from him!
 
What a great update on Scooter, he's such a green kitty!!! I'm sure I've told you this before, I think he's such a cutie pie! :D:D:D
Good luck, it'll be interesting to find out if Scooter decided to change his nadir time without giving advanced notice! Let us know!
I hope you enjoy your working vacation day Jill! :bighug:
 
What a great update on Scooter, he's such a green kitty!!! I'm sure I've told you this before, I think he's such a cutie pie! :D:D:D
Good luck, it'll be interesting to find out if Scooter decided to change his nadir time without giving advanced notice! Let us know!
I hope you enjoy your working vacation day Jill! :bighug:
Thanks Sonia!
It's looking like he may be coming off his vacation and is gearing up to really work the juice. I'm glad I'm home today to monitor!
 
Oh, here is the right condo :p

glad to see Scooter is still working that quarter unit dose! Keep it up Scooter!!

have a great day Jill :coffee::coffee::coffee:
That was me having a mad moment looking back through the history.

Jill I posted this in the previous condo rather than todays, so I don't know if you read it.

Impressive numbers. He's Mr Greeeeneeee!

Just wondering how come you haven't tried a reducie he's been in normal numbers for well over a week (to be exact since 22 October so almost a month) I think you could try taking him down to 0.1 units.
I know it's scary, like you don't want to break it, I was like that with George, in someways I wanted him to show me a low number to convince me he needed a reduction, but the 1 week in normal numbers does work as a reduction point.
Remember that they can hypo on just a drop of insulin if that is too much of a dose for them.

The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive. Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus, Basaglar, & Levemir ISG safe by taking reductions when appropriate.
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
  • Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
  • Please do not let yourself become complacent or blasé about drops into the 20s or 30s. Please ask for advice immediately.
  • If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended. There are few exceptions given to caregivers who have collected years of data and KNOW their cat's response to the combination of insulin and food backwards, forwards, and inside out.
  • Caregivers whose kitties have "High Dose" conditions may find the need to reduce in whole units or more.
  • If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose as soon as you see kitty's numbers trending upwards. You don't have to hold the reduced dose for a certain number of cycles before taking the dose right back up. The guidelines listed under the topic "Increasing the dose" do not apply to a failed reduction. Please use common sense in this situation. The "last good dose" is not the dose that just dropped kitty into the 20s or 30s. You want to resume momentum by finding an in-between the dose.
  • We've found many kitties benefit from reducing the dose from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely. During a two week OTJ trial, you want to see mostly green numbers (under 100) with only a few random blue numbers between 100 - 120 to help ensure a strong remission. Most kitties will be in the range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) overall.
R
 
That was me having a mad moment looking back through the history.

Jill I posted this in the previous condo rather than todays, so I don't know if you read it.

I hadn’t seen it. I get in the wrong day myself sometimes. :D
I have been doing exactly what you said, waiting for Scooter to show me he needed a reducie. He’s been pretty low today. Had you not said anything, I probably would have waited to see if he stayed low another day or so (giving him carbs when I work), but I will reduce to .1 tonight and see how it goes. Oh my gosh!!! .1!!! Thanks for the advice, I very much appreciate it. Scritches to George!
 
Back
Top