11/19 Sheba vet visit.....good blood test results +7.5 76; +10 72

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bron and Sheba (GA)

Very Active Member
Previous condo
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-6-sheba.166180/#post-1794561

Sheba AMPS 151

We are back after an absence of several weeks, although I did try and pop online most days for a quick look to see how everyone was.
My UK visitors have gone home.....they were not looking forward to snowy weather after a month of daily trips to the beach or around the pool. It is good to be back to normal again though.

Sheba is doing really well..........antijinx x 1000. Appetite good, mobility good.
About seven or eight weeks ago her numbers started to drop to blue and green a lot more and she stopped bouncing as much or for as long. That coincided with a number of things ........I was able to concentrate more on raising the insulin dose (hopefully my hospital visits were over), she had just finished a course of zenequin for her bladder, she was diagnosed with idiopathic cystitis and she started on cosequin, a course of cartrophen injections (both for the bladder wall), Feliway collar and an extra, closer LB to encourage her to use it more often to empty bladder (vets advice). She did have one short flare up during the relatives visit...which didn't surprise me......but she got over it quickly.
She has been giving me lots of blue preshots and several green ones and staying in good numbers for days on end except for food spikes and bounces which are not going as high or for as long.
I have reduced her dose five times since I raised it and she has maintained the reductions well.
Last week she had a vet visit for her last cartrophen injection (4).
She also had a full blood profile done. The vet was very pleased with her results...Everything was in normal range except urea (up a bit from last time but not hugely above normal), protein (one above normal but has been that for several years), CK elevated (it often is, vet said could be inflammation or due to the blood draw).
SMDA normal, creatinine normal.
She will be 15 in the new year so I am pretty pleased with the results.
 
Good to see a Sheba condo and great news on Sheba's vetty visit, glad to hear she is over the cystitis which has plagued her for a few months. Life can now return to normal in your household after your visitors long stay; I'm sure Sheba is delighted to have you all to herself again. Her numbers are looking really good, you manage her so well Bron, not an easy task with all that has been going on.

I hope you are feeling well too Bron. :bighug: to you both.
 
Thank you for the Sheba update! :bighug: I hope you are well too and can stay out of hospital. It is great to see Sheba somewhat flatter, that's easier on you too. And I'm glad she's responding to the cystitis treatments. I hope you see continued improvement there.
 
Thank you Carla, Suki, Wendy and Sandi for visiting.
I am well thank you (whispering it so the gremlins don't hear). I am back walking every day and loving it. I take the dog..Jessie...my daughter's dog who now lives with us.
@Wendy&Neko yes I am finding the lower numbers are much easier to manage. She has virtually stopped diving....I'm whispering that too!......so finally 16 carb is often enough to slow her down. I am trying not to let her drop too low as I know it will trigger a bounce. I still have to use honey sometimes...often at night when I can't monitor as closely night after night. I find I can sleep ok in between tests even if i am up every hour but I try and get an hours sleep a couple of times a week during the day. Hopefully she will settle down more so I am confident to leave her longer at night.
 
Thank you Gill, Elise, Sarah, Jayla and Paula for cheering us on.
There are so many new faces on L&L land now..when I scroll down the page I know very few.... my fault really as I have not been around much lately.
It is lovely to see some old friends :)
 
Thanks @Chris & China
I am really pleased too.!! Just wish she had settled down like this three years ago.....it is almost three years since she came out of remission and I thought at the time it would be easy to get her back OTJ!, because she was so easy the first time around! How naive of me!:confused:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top