11/20/2019 Mowgli AMPS 284 +2 252 +4.5 97 +5 92 +6 97 +8 133 +10.5 265 Vet Visit Update

AmandaE

Member Since 2019
11/19/2019

Big vetty visit for Mr Mowgz today! He's in good cheer and has no idea what is to come :P

I hope everything goes well and that he has a good follow up on his DM. I had said that I want this to be a DM followup/check in visit when I made the appointment, do you think they will automatically do bloodwork or do you think I will have to ask for it? I am going to decline a fructosamine if offered. I also asked that we talk about his balding belly and overgrowing, I hope it is nothing.

I was surprised to see Melly picking lemons today... when I increased last night I only increased by 0.125u so I might go up another 0.125u to 1.13u, thoughts? I would appreciate it if you all could keep our little Melly-Moo in your thoughts today and hopefully he is in good shape :P if lab work comes through I will post ASAP for feedback

Hope everyone is having a great day!
 
Oh my Melly Moo - what's the hurry dropping bud? Amanda, I have 3 cats who over clean themselves at times. They go through phases - one now has all his hair back, one has most, and the other usually has a baldish belly, but the vet isn't concerned as long as it doesn't get red or raw looking. I look forward to hearing what you learn or hear!
 
Oh my Melly Moo - what's the hurry dropping bud? Amanda, I have 3 cats who over clean themselves at times. They go through phases - one now has all his hair back, one has most, and the other usually has a baldish belly, but the vet isn't concerned as long as it doesn't get red or raw looking. I look forward to hearing what you learn or hear!
Thanks for sharing that Jan, That was something I was looking for too... he is never irritated and he does have a bit of 'Fuzz' but because a few weeks ago he was vomiting liquid every couple days I was worried he could have a blockage bothering him... he was still eating, drinking and pooing though so hopefully it is the same as your kitties, fingers crossed!
 
FFC000CB-635B-4A5E-93DA-24822A93B8E4.jpeg

who’s a fluffy-baby handsome man!?
 
Love your pics! They just do adore laying on the 'cat-top' computers don't they?

Can't wait to hear the good news from Mowg's vetty visit today. I'm sending you positive vines for a great report! He's looking so handsome and so serious in his pic too! Love bug indeed!!

Have a great day Amanda!
 
Love your pics! They just do adore laying on the 'cat-top' computers don't they?

Can't wait to hear the good news from Mowg's vetty visit today. I'm sending you positive vines for a great report! He's looking so handsome and so serious in his pic too! Love bug indeed!!

Have a great day Amanda!
Thanks Sue! Nyx would be the one to love the 'cat-top' (good one!) she really loves coming around on her own terms :P

Thanks for the positive vines for Mowgs visit, he is such a handsome serious man!
 
We're Back!

Mowgli's trip to the Vet went awesome! Mowgli only used his left hook twice!

We did have a different vet than usual, a 'locum' who is only here from time to time, too bad because I liked him. The vet was so happy with how Mowgli was looking that he said he wouldn't bother with bloodwork. He said he was at a healthy weight and that his fur was really healthy, he told me I was doing a great job with him twice. It was really rewarding to hear.

Diabetes: He did mention that he thought I should start giving maybe 5% more of a dose in the morning than in the evening because of Mowgli's higher days but I told him that it would mess with the Lantus depot. It didn't bother him that I mentioned that, and he admitted he didn't know a lot about Lantus. He tried to sell me on Purina DM and I gave him a firm no, and told him that FF is lower carb with similar phosphorus... he was like: well honestly I have never looked at the specifics so I will trust you on that one. He was into the fact that I was taking BG measurements, and had me explain Mowgli's spreadsheet. He was curious about what strategy I was using for dose changes so I told him about tight regulation with Lantus and he was interested... I told him I would send him the publication on it.

Teeth: He said Mowgli should have at the very least a cleaning on his back teeth, and I told him I would like to see a quote on it ($809CAD :blackeye:). I know Mowgli needs dental, his back teeth are brown / dark brown and his breath isn't great, although it's expensive I would hate to risk an infection... so dental it is. Right now my vet is booked solid for dental but they told me to call back next week to make an appointment and they would get him in.

Overgrooming: Much like Jan mentioned above, the vet said that as long as there was no irritation that he would just leave it, he wasn't concerned.

Mowgli's BG is pretty high right now (ye old vetty visit) so I am probably going to shoot early this evening by about 30 mins

Anyway! I left with a very positive feeling so that's a relief.
 
Sounds like a great vetty visit. I saw a locum who finally got Neko onto Lantus from Caninsulin. :) I was so happy when Dr. Joe became a regular vet at the practice.

Can we have pics of the balding belly?
 
You know, Macka who’s also black, has the same belly as Mowgli. It could be aging too...
Oh really!? he has the sparse hair too? maybe it could be age then, you're right. There has never been irritation or anything so if that is the 'take action' point then we're doing ok!
 
Awww...that's a cute belly...

SO glad to hear your vet appreciated all your work with Mowg's! You're a wonderful bean to that boy!! Great that all is well with Mowgli too...and those dentals...Luci and Mowg's will both be signing up for their dentals soon. Luci is next month (after assessing her foot with an -ray on 12/12.

Have a wonderful evening Amanda! Thanks for the update!!
 
Love the pics of your sweet babies! Glad the vetty visit went well. The vet sounds like a good one, maybe he will become permanent. Mowgli does look very healthy.
 
Awww...that's a cute belly...

SO glad to hear your vet appreciated all your work with Mowg's! You're a wonderful bean to that boy!! Great that all is well with Mowgli too...and those dentals...Luci and Mowg's will both be signing up for their dentals soon. Luci is next month (after assessing her foot with an -ray on 12/12.

Have a wonderful evening Amanda! Thanks for the update!!
Dental twinsies! so pricey! but I guess worth it :)

It's so nice to hear you're doing well with your sugar baby! it was totally validating for me (kind of sad I know) I could tell that he was really taken by surprise by my commitment... I was like... you should check out the FDMB hahaha
 
Love the pics of your sweet babies! Glad the vetty visit went well. The vet sounds like a good one, maybe he will become permanent. Mowgli does look very healthy.
They're the best! love em!!
I hope that vet becomes permanent too... I wonder if he fills a locum role for a flexible schedule or if he he actually wants a permanent position... Something tells me flexibility is his game :|
 
We're Back!

Mowgli's trip to the Vet went awesome! Mowgli only used his left hook twice!

We did have a different vet than usual, a 'locum' who is only here from time to time, too bad because I liked him. The vet was so happy with how Mowgli was looking that he said he wouldn't bother with bloodwork. He said he was at a healthy weight and that his fur was really healthy, he told me I was doing a great job with him twice. It was really rewarding to hear.

Diabetes: He did mention that he thought I should start giving maybe 5% more of a dose in the morning than in the evening because of Mowgli's higher days but I told him that it would mess with the Lantus depot. It didn't bother him that I mentioned that, and he admitted he didn't know a lot about Lantus. He tried to sell me on Purina DM and I gave him a firm no, and told him that FF is lower carb with similar phosphorus... he was like: well honestly I have never looked at the specifics so I will trust you on that one. He was into the fact that I was taking BG measurements, and had me explain Mowgli's spreadsheet. He was curious about what strategy I was using for dose changes so I told him about tight regulation with Lantus and he was interested... I told him I would send him the publication on it.

Teeth: He said Mowgli should have at the very least a cleaning on his back teeth, and I told him I would like to see a quote on it ($809CAD :blackeye:). I know Mowgli needs dental, his back teeth are brown / dark brown and his breath isn't great, although it's expensive I would hate to risk an infection... so dental it is. Right now my vet is booked solid for dental but they told me to call back next week to make an appointment and they would get him in.

Overgrooming: Much like Jan mentioned above, the vet said that as long as there was no irritation that he would just leave it, he wasn't concerned.

Mowgli's BG is pretty high right now (ye old vetty visit) so I am probably going to shoot early this evening by about 30 mins

Anyway! I left with a very positive feeling so that's a relief.
:bighug: :cat: :bighug:!!!
 
Back
Top