11/21 Gizmo PMPS 121, +1=135, +2=136, +3=113, +4=125, +5=134, +8=216

Status
Not open for further replies.
Oh, I do have a question - how late can I feed him a snack before PS tests? He woke me up again last night (though I was on the couch) and was walking around chirping, and basically being obnoxious (clawing at furniture, etc) - I suspect hungry (maybe bored). He had eaten most of his +6 - this behavior was around +8 (so he got a test, haha). His autofeeder is set up for +3 and +6 from "meal" though they are all about the same size with PS meal a tad larger.
 
You're not supposed to feed regular food two hours before PS. However, if the cat is having low numbers sometimes you have to. If he's bugging you, you can give him some freeze-dried treats or boiled chicken to tide him over until PS time.
 
You both did great yesterday! If they bounce, I'm thankful for it being at night to catch up on some sleep. Hope he comes back down today. Doodles gets fed every 4 hours around the clock but his +8/8.5 is the smallest meal. If he wants a snack in between he gets it except for the 2 hours before preshot like Carla mentioned.
 
Oh, I do have a question - how late can I feed him a snack before PS tests? He woke me up again last night (though I was on the couch) and was walking around chirping, and basically being obnoxious (clawing at furniture, etc) - I suspect hungry (maybe bored)
He's probably wondering where all those extra snacks are :p:joyful:

Hope you see blue again soon, but now drama, OK Gizmo!!
 
Good morning! Glad you will be able to get a little break today. Bounces do have their merit. :p

About the feeding, the two hour before guidelines are mostly for newbies that don't know how their kitty is going to respond to insulin yet and helps them to not dose an inflated number by food. You are a bona fide seasoned care giver now after yesterday and you test enough so if he wakes you up a bit shy of the 2 hours and you need to feed him, don't worry about it. Just get a test 2-3 hours after the insulin ( like you usually do)
 
You are a bona fide seasoned care giver now after yesterday and you test enough so if he wakes you up a bit shy of the 2 hours and you need to feed him, don't worry about it.
Aawww thanks.

I am not going to get into the habit of waking up and feeding him. I might switch the +6 snack to +7 though. He didn't eat any +6 two nights ago and didn't eat all of the +6 last night. But woke me up around +8 acting hungry both nights. I am going to just play it by ear for now. His schedule is messed up because of the delay yesterday.

Ok, I have another issue. I have three cats that are across the street that are just crying and crying. They have either gotten out from owners house or were abandoned. I am trying to get a hold of a couple of neighbors (no luck so far).

Anyone have any ideas on who I could call to come get these babies? I will NOT call SPCA. They are in danger from stupid dogs that roam. The stupid dogs have killed one cat that I know of and have attacked a child a couple weeks ago.

I have posted on Nextdoor for my neighborhood.
 
Last edited:
+6 115

Well, well, look at him go!! His +6 snack is in about 20 min.

**Note the "?" in the subject line is for the post above ^^ in Red**
 
Expanding on Bobbie's answer on feedng 2 hours before preshot. It's always a good idea to know where kitty's numbers are if you are going to do so. If they are quite low and the food will artificially make him high enough for you to think it's fine to shoot, then you might use caution. You do want to know what his non carb inflated preshot number would be. So what does that mean for you? Get enough +1 and +2 tests that you get a good idea how much food will inflate his numbers. You do a good job with that testing so might have that information on hand already. You might also want to consider zero carb snacks for end of the cycle begging. There is another reason for not feeding late in the cycle - adding carbs when the insulin effect is waning can put the brakes on it. The analogy I've seen is a car coasting to a stop sign. Adding carbs taps on those brakes and stops it early. What does that mean? You could shorten the duration and he'll zoom up to a higher preshot number.

As for the "spare" kitties, do you have a humane society near you you can call and ask? Our local municipality has a municipality run shelter which is run by municipal employees, and came into place when they booted out the SPCA. The local shelter/officers operate differently, thankfully. Do you know whow has jurisdiction over stray animals where you live? The city web site might answer that question. Are there local cat rescue groups that might be able to respond? The answer of who to call depends on where you live. Good luck either finding their owners or new homes for them.

Nice low blues today. :cool:
 
Just have to wait and see what he does for his pmps.:D you may get another go at shooting green, or he may come up to blue.

BTW do you want to add that you are following TR for the time being to your sig block?, it'll avoid any confusion later on if you need some assistance;)
 
BTW do you want to add that you are following TR for the time being to your sig block?
I was/am a bit nervous about doing it. I was just learning the SLGS method and I really am not up on all the "rules" with TR. I did go ahead and change it for now. :)

Check it out and let me know if there should be anything else in it or if you see anything I should change.

Thanks. :bighug:
 
I was/am a bit nervous about doing it. I was just learning the SLGS method and I really am not up on all the "rules" with TR. I did go ahead and change it for now. :)

Check it out and let me know if there should be anything else in it or if you see anything I should change.

Thanks. :bighug:
Hey Lizzie,
the reason for reminding you about it is just so that you don't get conflicting advice, I realize that when you go back to work you might not feel comfortable following TR when you go back to work because you don't feel like you will be able to test enough, and if that's the case you can change back to slgs and change it on the ss. But for the moment while you still are able to test, and if you want to take advantage of the time you have off TR will give you a better chance of taking advantage of that, and have you move Gizmo closer to regulation in a faster, but still safe manner.

I wasn't trying to pressure you I was just reminding you as last night you were saying that you were temporarily following TR while you are on vacation, or at least that is how I read it, and what I have understood from other comments you have made.

Food for thought with TR you don't have to raise the dose every 6 cycles, you can time your increases to coincide with weekends engineering it so you have a good few cycles for you to see how Gizmo is doing on the dose.
 
PMPS 121

for history:
AMPS 318, +2=270, +4=174, +6=115, +7=112, +8=92, +9=112, +10=106, +11=103

How often should I test? Start at +1?
 
I might wait until +2 but it's really what you're comfortable with.
you could get away with a +2.
Thanks for the hand holding. Sorry to be a pain :). My brain just can't wrap around the "delay's" - I know it - I just can't accept it. LOL. I was ready to start testing in 15 min - LOL.

I will test @ +1 (so I can breath again and hopefully not throw up between now and then).
:bighug::bighug:

Gizmo had a 5P day! A really, really good day. Windows open all day. He was up in the window sills. Chirping to the kitties across the street. Watching the birds and leaves fall - feeling the beautiful warm fall breezes. It would have been better if I wasn't poking him all afternoon, but he is such a good boy, he just tolerates mama.

I need to teach him how to play again. I think he forgot when he got so, so sick.
 
I just love what Gizmo is doing! This is so exciting that he had a cycle like yesterday and he is clearing the bounce this fast. :cat:
It is pretty amazing to me. It is mind boggling. I wish I better understood the mechanics of what is going on- but that is just how my brain works. It is difficult to just accept that it works without the understanding - I hope that make sense. BTW it drives my hubby (and my boss) crazy - so it does have its upside. :D
 
It is pretty amazing to me. It is mind boggling. I wish I better understood the mechanics of what is going on- but that is just how my brain works. It is difficult to just accept that it works without the understanding - I hope that make sense. BTW it drives my hubby (and my boss) crazy - so it does have its upside. :D
I think as Gizmo does what he's doing regularly, it will all start to jive with you. There will be a recognizable pattern. You'll see........
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top