11/22 Paws AMPS 158/218 +4 145 +8 130

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrPawsKitten

Member Since 2017
Yesterday

Another rough night yesterday, but worth it - Paws is acting completely normal today. Running around, scratching his scratching post, playing, then sitting on my laptop while I'm trying to work.

Got a low initial AMPS, decided to wait a couple hours and test again - esp. with not wanting to get up at 6:30am over Thanksgiving. Since he was above 200 I went ahead and gave him 0.5U.

I'm sure the depot from his week at 1U probably contributed substantially to last night's 45. But depending on his PMPS I may skip the PM dose today b/c I just can't do 4 nights in a row of hypo monitoring...
 
Am I understanding you right? You shot two hours late?
Could you reflect that in the SS, by putting stalled 166@+12 (it was something like that) perhaps in the comments, and in the Amos column write 216@+14. That way anyone looking to help you can see the delayed shot, it might impact the advice you get.

If you did shoot late, remember that tonight, if you shoot it needs to be 12 hours from when you last gave insulin.

When you shoot late it can act as a reduction, but conversely shooting early can act as a slight dose increase. When you need to get back to your regular shot time you should attempt to do that by moving the time by no more than 15min per cycle or 30 min a day.

Nicely back into blue for Mr Paws
 
On this forum, we say that it's OK to shoot with a preshot over 150. If below that, then DO NOT FEED, and post for help. People will walk you through the options. One of which is still to shoot. Often cycles are a lot flatter when you shoot lower.

If you did shoot two hours late this morning, and want to be back on time tomorrow morning, a skip tonight will help you reset the schedule, as well as drain the 1.0 unit depot.
 
Yes, I did shoot two hours late. With Paws seeming to be on a trampoline, bouncing all over the place, and having two nights in a row below 50, I just personally wasn't comfortable shooting at 158... yet. Maybe if his curves were flatter, if I had more data, more experience... I tried to update the comments on the SS to reflect things, hope it makes sense.

Trying to decide what to do. I have 3 hours before he's due, if I'm going to shoot tonight. But I'm also not in a position to monitor him tonight, I'm just too drained from the past 3 nights, so I won't be able to know if he drops below 50. He's starving now, I'm leaning toward feeding him now and skipping, and then just staying on the early morning schedule going forward. I'm just so unsure of his dose, his curve, his depot, because we're only 9 days into this... Thanks again for all the help everyone, your assistance, input, experience, etc. are so valuable to us...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top