11/24 TAFFY AMPS 126/1.75u/+8.5 43/PMPS 124/+1 154/+2 171/+5 268/+8.5 348

Status
Not open for further replies.
Nice, I'd give him about a teaspoon of gravy and see what he's doing in about 30 min..the honey will start to wear off about then so you want to catch if that happens..you are doing great..
The LC food you got onboard with the honey gives him something to ride once that happens
 
Remember to breathe and give him a scritch too! This is scary but actually great because it means he's ready for less insulin!
I'm doing okay so far and so is he. Just feel awful about poking him so much!

So, he'll get smaller dose tonight? By how much, or that depends on the Next couple readings? Yes I have tried to read the protocol and low numbers info and it just doesn't stick!
 
I'm doing okay so far and so is he. Just feel awful about poking him so much!

So, he'll get smaller dose tonight? By how much, or that depends on the Next couple readings? Yes I have tried to read the protocol and low numbers info and it just doesn't stick!
It didn't for me either until I had been led thru it many times...some of it never did..I just accept that it works and do as instructed..
You and Taffy are doing great
Yes post the numbers but keep testing every 2o minutees
 
Good to see a little breathing room, you can move to a 30 minutes test next.

Since you shot 2 units last night and a "temporary" 1.75 dose this morning, it's probably the depot from the 2.0 unit dose that caused the low numbers today. In other words, he just earned the reduction you gave him one cycle early and the new dose going forward would be 1.75 units. On TR, we don't do what we call "back to back" reduction because that depot is influencing things. And by the way, good job giving him a slightly smaller dose this morning, or he might have been lower.

The dose you actually shoot tonight will depend on a couple of things. One is, how late you have to keep feeding high carb food, whether he starts coming up on his own by preshot, and how much you can monitor tonight. Let's see how the rest of the cycle plays out.
 
Good to see a little breathing room, you can move to a 30 minutes test next.

Since you shot 2 units last night and a "temporary" 1.75 dose this morning, it's probably the depot from the 2.0 unit dose that caused the low numbers today. In other words, he just earned the reduction you gave him one cycle early and the new dose going forward would be 1.75 units. On TR, we don't do what we call "back to back" reduction because that depot is influencing things. And by the way, good job giving him a slightly smaller dose this morning, or he might have been lower.

The dose you actually shoot tonight will depend on a couple of things. One is, how late you have to keep feeding high carb food, whether he starts coming up on his own by preshot, and how much you can monitor tonight. Let's see how the rest of the cycle plays out.
OK, will do. He just had 63 @ +9.5. It was 30 minutes after all and not 20 bcuz I was trying to do too many things. So do I hold back on more food now or keep with the small bites?
 
If you want, since it's not quite +10 yet, you could give him a tsp or two of low carb food to encourage him to surf. We want to try to avoid feeding higher carbs after +10, so we get a true reading at PMPS that is not influenced by carbs. Paws crossed he holds it there or goes up a bit.
 
Normally, his dose tonight would be 1.75 units, unless you are too tired or unable to monitor, or do not have test strips or high carb food around. However, if he decides to go diving again and you have to carb him up, that would delay your shot tonight and that may change things, depending on whether you can delay your shot schedule. So, it's all in Taffy's paws at the moment.
 
PMPS 124
I put the "dose advice" in the title, but I think I'm giving the 1.75 dose, right?
I'd ask but looks likely IF you have enough strips, if he dives again you will be testing like this afternoon, and if you can stay up to do that testing and feeding you might need to do..he is a diver meaning he is pretty hellbent once he gets started and the food wears off with him so if you think you can do that it's likely they will recommend you shoot that reduced dose. Let's tag a couple more experienced folks who might still be up
@Chris & China are you still around?
ETA or @Wendy&Neko
 
Ok, now for something to keep you busy while you wait for time to get that +1 test..lets get that thread title cleaned up so folks can quickly see what's happening THIS cycle and render assistance if necessary..
First since you shot, down comes the ? And the dose help part
Then I'd keep the AMPS 126, 8.3 43, and the PMPS 124..you will build from there.
Make sure your spreadsheet is up to date with the numbers from earlier today as this is a long thread and hard to scroll thru to,find those numbers in a hurry. Try to make sure the blue numbers are coded blue, green etc, you have to do that with the bucket tool at the top, it's a pain but helps see the picture quickly. Folks will look at it to see what's happening.
Breathe....You've got this..know you know how to gently bring his numbers up, you've seen yourself do it, you've got this!:bighug::bighug:
 
Ok, now for something to keep you busy while you wait for time to get that +1 test..lets get that thread title cleaned up so folks can quickly see what's happening THIS cycle and render assistance if necessary..
First since you shot, down comes the ? And the dose help part
Then I'd keep the AMPS 126, 8.3 43, and the PMPS 124..you will build from there.
Make sure your spreadsheet is up to date with the numbers from earlier today as this is a long thread and hard to scroll thru to,find those numbers in a hurry. Try to make sure the blue numbers are coded blue, green etc, you have to do that with the bucket tool at the top, it's a pain but helps see the picture quickly. Folks will look at it to see what's happening.
Breathe....You've got this..know you know how to gently bring his numbers up, you've seen yourself do it, you've got this!:bighug::bighug:
OKie dokie, I think I got it all fixed up. Can you see the colors on my SS? I hope you get some rest and have some nice tea and Vit C or elderberry and Umcka if you have it! Wishing you feel much better tomorrow!

@Gussie's mom Thank you for all of your support!!! Get rest!

I'm sure that I'll have some good guidance from @Chris & China, @Wendy&Neko, and @Gill & George if they are around and whomever else is available and so awesome!
 
Haha bet you thought I was gone!
Looking good, he's not diving immediately out the gate..id get a +2 and see from there what he's got up his sleeve
Thread looking good will peek at SS next!
 
Hi Wendy, are you going to be up for awhile? I need to go to bed but after his day today don't want to leave her on her own..the dose she shot is the same as this morning and if he's going on a mission she may want company
 
Last edited:
So still going up a bit. I think he's a late diver. Idk, it's really hard for me to see any patterns still on his SS. Just that when he goes for a dive, he goes fast! You thing I can let him (& me) sleep until...+4 or +5?
 
Well I have to get some sleep, so I probably won't be around in 2-3 hours

Hopefully @Gill & George will be up and around by then to look out for you and Taffy but you did great today and you're learning fast how to keep Taffy safe!!

If he drops below 50, you just want to give him a teaspoon or two of the gravy part of a "gravy lovers" food and retest in 30 minutes.....as long as he comes up at that point, you'd test again 30 minutes later and if he's still doing OK, 1 more test 1 hour later.....so you want to test for 2 hours after you have to feed anything high carb (or mix honey in with food)

If he were to drop back down again below 50, you start the same process over ....including the 2 hour "clock"
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top