11/26 Sootie amps 253,272,287,+.75/204,+3.5/153 +7.5/241,+11/199, pmps/204,3.5/198,+7.5/238,10.5/226

Status
Not open for further replies.

HWright

Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-25-sootie-amps-253-2-25-148-4-25-120-pmps-212.168666/

Good morning all, and hoping all had gentle night.

I crashed early last night with fever and nasals, and missed doing any pm tests, relying on DH to do late night fud snack (Of which not much was partaken of).

Came upstairs this morning with breffies for Sootie Azakea and Bella. Usually Sootie clamoring at top stairs. No Sootie.
Found again major barfs and a Furball (no discernable black fur tho) on clean sheets (changed yesterday due to barfus).
Clean up then to Sootie's amps: 253 again, same as yesterday's amps. She ate some then immediately off bed and barfed fud and froth.

Going for a different fud...the baby fud first....for her so she'll eat but don't dare shoot if she's not keeping fud down...and need to figure out why the vomiting?

Hold off on am shoot til sure she's eating? Her usual morning shoot window these days is 7:30am - 8 am ish.

ETA: is now reluctantly eating a little beechnut turkey with pumpkin, slippery elm and probiotic diluted in water.
 
Last edited:
Bump please.
Sootie's eaten about 1-2tsp baby fud slurry. Here we go again with the appy and dose catch 22. Now that am doing slgs (and just reread guidelines), I'm quandaring about best approach.
suggest reduced dose, no dose, other?
 
It's a tough call. Some kitties actually run higher if they're not eating good. Are you home today to monitor and if needed could syringe feed? If so I'd go ahead and shoot. Nothing bothers me more than when they're not eating though.
 
It's a tough call. Some kitties actually run higher if they're not eating good. Are you home today to monitor and if needed could syringe feed? If so I'd go ahead and shoot. Nothing bothers me more than when they're not eating though.
Thanks Karen. Yes the in-appy as well as barfs of unknown cause get to me, too. Will be home this morning (am still flu-ey with fever) but planned to go to a funeral that's early this afternoon.

I'll retest now to see where we're at.

Am With azalea now, finishing her eye drops (and she ate pretty well this morning thank goodness).

If Sootie eats a little more in next few minutes and I shoot regular 0.25 which would be almost an hour or so late that'd be like a reduced shot? If I choose to reduce it to skinny 0.25 then it'd Be an extra reduced shot bc of delayed shoot time.
 
30 min doesn't usually give much of an affect. I think if Scootie eats you're ok to give the full dose or there's nothing wrong with give a reduced shot if that's what you're comfortable with. They always get back on track.

Bg at 9:16am @ 271. Hardly ate on own but isn't hiding.
 
Retested with neosporin on ear: 287
Ate some orijen soft treats.
Offering more fud and will syringe.
Shot 0.25u 9:25am

ETA: not eating on own but getting about ok. Will syringe feed and monitor.
Thank you Karen ❤️ and :bighug::bighug: vines for Doodles having a good Doodlebug day:bighug::bighug:. Maybe he'll send some to Sootie!
 
Last edited:
Hey Sina, I am sorry that Sootie isn't eating well for you and I know how frustrating it is especially when there doesn't seem to he a reason for it. Could he be constipated? That could have him uncomfortable and nauseas thus the throwing up. Just a thought. It might be hard for you to know if he has given a deposit or not with 3 cats in the house.

Sending appy vines for him. :bighug:
 
Sending all sorts of vines....I'm glad you shot since her numbers are up there a bit. Prayers that her appy and tummy improve ASAP - and that you feel better, too!
 
I was going to ask the same question Bobbie did. When Gussie was constipated it both made his numbers higher by a fair amount, and caused him to be nauseous and to throw up. I know you know Sootie very well but sometimes when we are running on fumes ourselves the obvious comes like a giant lightbulb moment when it's suggested:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Happy to hear Azalea is eating and feeling better:bighug:
Sorry this flu managed to find you, it's a hard one to shake and the fatigue beats even Lupus fatigue and that's pretty dang hard to top!:eek:
Hang in there, give the kits a scritch for me and yourself a hug, or two....if they ever manage to perfect human cloning I know a whole lotta Beans who will be first in line...:p:bighug:
 
Hey Sina, I am sorry that Sootie isn't eating well for you and I know how frustrating it is especially when there doesn't seem to he a reason for it. Could he be constipated? That could have him uncomfortable and nauseas thus the throwing up. Just a thought. It might be hard for you to know if he has given a deposit or not with 3 cats in the house.

Sending appy vines for him. :bighug:
I was going to ask the same question Bobbie did. When Gussie was constipated it both made his numbers higher by a fair amount, and caused him to be nauseous and to throw up. I know you know Sootie very well but sometimes when we are running on fumes ourselves the obvious comes like a giant lightbulb moment when it's suggested:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Happy to hear Azalea is eating and feeling better:bighug:
Sorry this flu managed to find you, it's a hard one to shake and the fatigue beats even Lupus fatigue and that's pretty dang hard to top!:eek:
Hang in there, give the kits a scritch for me and yourself a hug, or two....if they ever manage to perfect human cloning I know a whole lotta Beans who will be first in line...:p:bighug:
Sending all sorts of vines....I'm glad you shot since her numbers are up there a bit. Prayers that her appy and tummy improve ASAP - and that you feel better, too!
Thanks all, the BARFUS brigade !
Thanks for reminding about constipation! 3 upstairs is spot on including Sootie! (plus azalea who has own room and LB etc). Did check the LB's (and good thing DH hadn't yet done the one that's his duty to do). Amazing how you get to know whose poop is whose (or whom's?). I'd say Bella was busy last night (she's dainty poop), And some medium sized poops that looked like Sootie's work. But now that Dancer sometimes uses that box, her poops are only slightly smaller than Sootie's. So...ya definitely are on to something poop/constipation-wise. Sootie frequently has LB dust on her paws so she might by trying valiantly and often but getting as distressed as DH does under such circumstances of his own.
So,hmmm...a syringe of watery mush of water, pumpkin and slippery elm (and a touch of ACV). Don't have miralax here.

Did am+.75 at 10:15am=204. She ate a few treats and slurry with touch of FF. Then barfed more than she had earlier this morning. What I did see were sliver-like remnants of the freeze dried salmon stick she crunched to pieces yesterday. Maybe that contributed to feeling sick and getting constipated?
 
Last edited:
Sootie's +3.5 at what has been been recently this time of day:mid blues. No more pukus. Syringing...not thrilled but that's what happens....
No new activity in LB. But the LB vigil is on!
 
Sorry you're sick and Sootie is not feeling well. I hope it's just constipation and she poops soon and feels better. I'm glad Azalea is eating well for you. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Has she kept the food down that you are syringing?

Sending appy and poo vines for Sootie and eye healing vines for Azalea.
So far no pukus since holding off on solid food. Syringing very liquid and mostly broth and slippery elm diluted in water. Not enough but any food more solid she's vomited. I do have some a/d, probably not at all diabetic friendly but at this point she's not getting enough calories and her bg back up,there again. I'll be retesting in a bit (morning shot was about 1- 1 1/2 hrs later than usual time.

And thank you for sending eye vines for azalea, too. She is now on her second supper and was ok with eye drops today too. ❤️

How are you all today?
 
Last edited:
Spoke too soon. Sootie ate a little diluted wellness core, then vomited it all up. Glad no blood in any of these episodes.
Her +11 just now 199.
Shot about an hour late this morning (ca 9:30am ET), will do pmps soon.
On fence about tonight's dose. Don't want to skip shot. Likely smaller dose also on chance that she might be a runs lower at night kitty and the way I'm feeling right now, need some sleep. Thinking it through with vector that she hasn't kept anything down today except broth laced with slippery elm.
 
Oh Sina I'm so sorry Sootie has issues still...you have to be on your absolute last fume:(:bighug::bighug::bighug:
im at a loss as to what to suggest but sending lots of hugs:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Sootie did fine today with 0.25U and the amount of food she ate today. Would she eat more baby food? Do you have any Cerenia around to help with the vomiting? Sending tons of vines. :bighug:
 
Oh Sina I'm so sorry Sootie has issues still...you have to be on your absolute last fume:(:bighug::bighug::bighug:
im at a loss as to what to suggest but sending lots of hugs:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thanks Les, Ja, could use some really good rest...but we've all been there. And it could be worse, I guess that's one way of keeping the oomph fumes going.
I'm still mystified and if constipation I'd rather it be constipation caused by that silly freeze dried salmon stick that she crunched on yesterday than another kind of blockage anti-jinx or other. Maybe she'd go for a dose of Acv and slippery elm diluted in water. If it worked for DH...,,

Sootie did fine today with 0.25U and the amount of food she ate today. Would she eat more baby food? Do you have any Cerenia around to help with the vomiting? Sending tons of vines. :bighug:

Hi Wendy,
Glad you think she did ok Bg/wise today. I was relieved that she found two blues anyway.
Alas, more baby food didn't work even very diluted. Even tried a bit of fancy feast mixed in with baby fud and pumpkin, the former for stinky, the latter for fiber. . She vomited it. The only thing that's she's kept down today is broth, syrunge fed (she won't drink it). The only solid fud I haven't tried yet is a/d.
Don't have any cerenia here and couldn't get pills from vet (he only has injectable) and he doesn't carry the other anti nausea you suggested. I'll look in other fridge where I keep stuff that cats don't use anymore in case there's a syringe of cerenia in there (probably expired tho).

The famitidine I have (was for Spunky) is oral suspension and what's left is now way out of date. I'll get some Pepcid tomorrow if any chance she's all tummy acidy by now. I've been hoping that the slippery elm would help in multiple ways including nausea.

I wussed out and decreased pm dose to fat fat 0.1 unit (closer to 0.2)u tonight to be in safe side. Supposed to do weekly CURVE tomorrow so hope I didn't mess that up by shooting low tonight.
 
Sina, if the vet will give you some of the injectible cerenia, that's okay. It takes effect faster. As for Ondansetron, it's a human anti-nausea med, so if your vet will give you a prescription for it, you can get it at any pharmacy. You want the 4 mg tablets.

Hill's a/d is actually not so bad for diabetics - 12% low m/d. Sending appy and tummy vines.
 
Thanks Tricia,
I'll ask vet again on Monday. They've been closed since Wednesday afternoon.

Just did +3.5 blue at 198.

Syringed broth and she barfed it up immediately and went into hidey place. That's a first in this bout. I was going to try a dose of Nux v tonight but will hold off til she settles.

I'm wondering if some other blockage going on or p'titis. No poops yet. Nearest ER is about an hour away. She's not lethargic or logey which is strange, considering....
 
Hmmmm. How long since she last ate and kept it down?

It'd be Friday night now. Though if the pukus on bed Friday morning was hers, she'd have started Friday morning, but managed to keep food down through/to supper.

Tricia, really appreciate you hanging in and especially at these hours!❤️
 
+7.5 at 5:09am 238.
No signs of vomiting since pm+3.5. No poops yet.
Tx'd nux v
Syringed liquid mush of baby oatmeal and baby turkey. So far has kept it down. Seeing how Sootie does with this.
 
Thank you Carla and good morning.
Looks like sootie kept down the syringed oatmeal/baby fud mush. She came out but her voice is such that can tell she feels awful. Sending text to vet even tho it's his holiday weekend and making call to veterinary er which is about an hour away,
Am about to do Bg.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top