11/28 hypo?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Sushi, Nov 28, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sushi

    Sushi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    Sushi is newly diagnosed and just came home yesterday (11/27) from the hospital after being treated for DKA.
    Was given his insulin dose around 5pm at the hospital.

    This morning at 445am I tested his BG and it was 42.
    Offered some food, I think he ate a little and gave him honey.
    Right now he's sleeping.

     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2018
  2. Elizabeth and Bertie

    Elizabeth and Bertie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Oh, gosh! Well done for giving honey.
    Can you get another blood glucose test? We need to be sure that the blood glucose is definitely rising. In hypo situations Lantus can continue to drop the blood glucose beyond 12 hours after the shot.

    For others reading this thread:
    Sushi is getting 2 units Lantus BID.
    Human meter, Relion prime.
    .
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2018
    Sushi likes this.
  3. Elizabeth and Bertie

    Elizabeth and Bertie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Honey and syrup can raise the blood glucose quickly, but can also wear off relatively quickly also. Giving once may be sufficient, or may not.
    Do you also have high carb food in gravy available? If the numbers are not rising you can try giving a little of the gravy from that food.
    But we want to ensure that the blood glucose doesn't drop lower than it is at the moment.
    .
     
    Sushi likes this.
  4. Sushi

    Sushi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    Yes, its 39
     
  5. Elizabeth and Bertie

    Elizabeth and Bertie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    You really need to get that above 50 to keep your kitty safe.
    Can you give more honey now? Rub on gums if you need to.
    .
     
  6. Elizabeth and Bertie

    Elizabeth and Bertie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    And if you have some high carb food in gravy, give a couple of teaspoonfuls of that gravy also.
    .
     
  7. Elizabeth and Bertie

    Elizabeth and Bertie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    At this point you really need to be testing about every 12 - 15 minutes, and just making sure that the blood glucose comes up and does not drop any lower.
    I know you're new to this, and this must be scary. But you're doing a great job.
     
  8. Elizabeth and Bertie

    Elizabeth and Bertie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Is it now about 13 hours since Sushi had insulin?
    .
     
  9. Sushi

    Sushi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
  10. Sushi

    Sushi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    will do and thank you.

    Yes, at the hospital
     
  11. Elizabeth and Bertie

    Elizabeth and Bertie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    @Sushi, how long since you gave insulin? Is it about 13 hours now?

    Okey dokey.
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2018
  12. Elizabeth and Bertie

    Elizabeth and Bertie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    @Sushi, time for another test. It's 20 minutes since the last one.
    .
     
  13. Sushi

    Sushi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    trying atm
     
    Elizabeth and Bertie likes this.
  14. Sushi

    Sushi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    6:14am bg 49
     
  15. Elizabeth and Bertie

    Elizabeth and Bertie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Ah, better! Well done, you! :bighug:
    .
     
  16. Elizabeth and Bertie

    Elizabeth and Bertie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    It may be that Sushi's blood glucose will rise on its own now. This is almost 13.5 hours after the shot, so let's hope so.
    But do continue to test for a little while just to make sure that it continues to come up. Ideally, you want to see three rising numbers in succession. But if the numbers show a clear steady rise now, or jump up fast, you may be OK to skip that.
    If the numbers drop a tad again, give more gravy. If the numbers are dropping a lot, give honey directly to the gums.

    You really are doing incredibly well! This has been a heck of a lot for you to deal with in a short time... (((Hugs)))

    Clearly, the dose is too high and needs to be reduced. There are some experienced Lantus folks on this forum who can guide you with regard to dosage.

    How are you feeling? Are you OK?
    .
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2018
  17. Sushi

    Sushi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    nervous, but better with your support.
     
  18. Elizabeth and Bertie

    Elizabeth and Bertie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    This is a very hard way for you to learn about feline diabetes. I promise you it's not always like this!

    How is Sushi coping?
    .
     
  19. Sushi

    Sushi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    7:42am bg 49
     
  20. Sushi

    Sushi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    Sushi is resting. I'm very lucky that Sushi is a very good patient. The vet tech and vets all praised him for being so good.
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2018
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  21. Elizabeth and Bertie

    Elizabeth and Bertie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Aw, bless him...
    Okey dokey, so, the same as the last test. And we're now about 14 hours after the shot, I think?
    It's good that it hasn't dropped, but it would be good to see the blood glucose start to rise on its own soon. Then you can get some much needed rest from this...
    .
     
  22. majandra

    majandra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    It's about time for another test I believe?

    Make sure you have a treat for yourself ready once he starts to climb back up- chocolate, hot bath, whatever makes you happy or feel good.
     
  23. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I'm so glad you had Elizabeth here to help. Please do post on the Lantus forum for help. Your kitty needs insulin in a high enough dose post DKA but 2 units is obviously too much. There are many very experienced people to help on the Lantus forum. They'll guide you every step of the way. What a baptism by fire you've had! :eek:
     
  24. Sushi

    Sushi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    yes, trying atm
     
  25. Sushi

    Sushi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    8:23am bc 64
     
  26. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Hurray! People on the Lantus forum are waiting to hear form you. :)
     
  27. Anne Biddle

    Anne Biddle Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2018
    Well done. When Truffles had a hypo once I was so scared. He, on the other hand, was totally nonplussed and excited to get food with gravy every 15 minutes!
     
  28. Sushi

    Sushi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    I made one :)
    http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/handsome-sushi-911-hypo.207159/
    hehe, soo cute
     
  29. Lisa and Witn (GA)

    Lisa and Witn (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    You did a great job handling the hypo. What is his current reading?

    Tonite his reading may be much higher than normal because of the carbs you gave him. Because of the hypo he will also probably be more sensitive to his current dose and you may need to lower it. What is his current dose?
     
  30. Sushi

    Sushi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    2:18 pm BG 343
    He's on 2U.
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2018
  31. Lisa and Witn (GA)

    Lisa and Witn (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    My suggestion is even if the PM pre-shot reading is higher than normal, reduce your dose. If Sushi was my cat, I would probably reduce it to 1 or 1 1/2 units. Since he is a new diabetic, 1 unit probably would be better. We recommend starting low and going slow. What this means is you start at a low dose, such as 1 unit, and it is slowly increased over weeks, not days. Usually you would keep the dose the same for at least a week before increasing it again. This gives the cat's body time to adjust to it. Then if an increase is needed, only increase it by 1/2 unit and keep it at that dose for at least another week before deciding if you need to raise it more.

    I know that changing a dose sounds scary, but this is the best way to find the optimal dose that works best for any cat. Since you are testing, you also need a "don't shoot" number. For beginners, we recommend using 200 to start with. This means if the pre-shot reading is less than 200, skip the dose. Yes, the next reading probably will be much higher, but by using a "don't shoot" number, you reduce the risk of Sushi becoming hypoglycemic again. As you learn how his body responds to the dose, you may consider lowering the "don't shoot" number later on.
     
    Sushi likes this.
  32. Sushi

    Sushi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    5:15pm BG 408

    I'm going to do 1U tonight.
    I still don't know what the ranges for BG are.

    Can you please link some website?
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2018
    Elizabeth and Bertie likes this.
  33. majandra

    majandra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Your spreadsheet has the ranges along the top, and is colour coded to match when you input data. Does that help?
     
  34. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    On a human meter normal BG range is 50 to 120. Anytime you get a reading of 50 or below it's time for immediate action to bring BG up to a higher level. If you take a reading and it's approaching 50 (high 50's or 60's) it's ok to give Sushi a little snack to boost BG to avoid him dripping below 50.
     
  35. Sushi

    Sushi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    Yes, I have noticed that.

    Thank you.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page