11/3 Biscuit PMPS 236 +2 176

ShannonandBiscuit

Member Since 2019
Last post

So we went ahead and reduced Biscuits dose the day before yesterday. Not sure how he’s taking it yet. Several factors are in the mix, in that we were gone yesterday after +5 until today at +6 and we are dealing with DST.

Last night our son was able to test at PMPS and at +4.5 but this morning he tried and was not able to get a morning test. Then due to issues with testing and calling us, Biscuit didn’t receive his shot on time and was 30 mins late. So between that and DST it was really 1:30 mins off normal. So with tonight’s shot we backed it up 15 mins so hopefully we’ll be back on track tomorrow.

Did some testing when we got home and he’s just playing with lemons.

One question, How does all the weird timing get recorded on the spreadsheet? And is it fine to give this dose a few days to let the timing settle? The 39 really had me worried but his numbers are just not great on 0.5. I still always get anxious when his numbers go up given his DKA at the end of Sept though. Especially reading little Luna’s tale of fighting. Wondering if going back to 0.75 and trying to manage more with food and snacks wouldn’t be possible too. But the nights are scary then...
 
With the SS...note in the AMPS box that insulin was given 30 mins late and in the remarks column note it was DST changeover and the actual time the insulin was given was 1.30 late.

Are you testing frequently for ketones? That is your first line of defence so don't neglect to do it. And always note result in the SS please as well as the thread.

How is Biscuits appetite?

It looks as if it could be an active cycle tonight so I would get a few tests in and reevaluate tomorrow.
 
I'm not sure I would take the dose up just yet, she dropped into the 30's and it took some getting her up, as long as she was negative for ketones, eating and acting fine.
With a ketone prone cat whenever we take a dose down it's important to keep monitoring those ketones daily.

Looks like on 11/2 she dropped 100pts at +5 from her +2, then was pink by pmps, the sharp drop in itself may have triggered that bounce, but I am wondering if she just nadired later in that am cycle and might have green later in the cycle?

The 1 1/2 hr delay will act like a bit of dose decrease, over the next couple of cycles.
 
Back
Top