11/30 Rhubarb AMBG 121 NS +1 115, PMPS=266, +3 191, +4 155, +7=191

majandra

Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...7-ns-1-137-pmps-272-2-200-4-187-5-149.207226/


So Rhubarb is too low to shoot yet again! I think that she was on the bed all night. I wonder if she can't jump off in the dark or something? She doesn't jump up on her own ever really anymore.


I would really like to be able to give a shot this morning if possible. I can wait another 45 min before shooting and still get a +1 and I should be able to stop by around +4 for a check.


She has had no food since 11pm last night though. do I feed then test in 45 min to see if I can shoot or hold feed?
 
Usually, when you stall you hold feed, otherwise any rise in number can be food induced.
I can't help on the decision to shoot or not, but hopefully my comment will bump up your thread.

Stay safe, Rhubarb:bighug:
 
There are a few options:
  • no shot
  • give 0.25 u on this blue to see how she does and be prepared to monitor and steer (good experience)
  • try a teeny dose we could call 0.1 u by drawing up insulin and then expelling until it's *a hair* over the zero line.
Others might have different ideas.
 
Just seeing tag now. I agree with Kris. I am also wondering if feeding a snack or 2 during the night might keep BG up a little to a level you'd be more comfortable shooting at AMPS. 121 is a shootable number but considerably lower than you've shot to date so I can certainly understand any hesitation and you definitely need to be able to monitor through the cycle. Tomorrow if Rhubarb is low again, it would be a good opportunity to try shooting a lower AMPS if she doesn't thwart the plan and give you a higher BG.;)
 
Just seeing tag now. I agree with Kris. I am also wondering if feeding a snack or 2 during the night might keep BG up a little to a level you'd be more comfortable shooting at AMPS. 121 is a shootable number but considerably lower than you've shot to date so I can certainly understand any hesitation and you definitely need to be able to monitor through the cycle. Tomorrow if Rhubarb is low again, it would be a good opportunity to try shooting a lower AMPS if she doesn't thwart the plan and give you a higher BG.;)

So far she has done well at thwarting plans!! Lol
Last night I think part of problem is that she staid on our bed last night. There's no room for stairs- likely part of why she opted to cuddle instead of jump down to the scary pile of clothes I had on the floor for my early am wakeup.

I agree it's best to give snacks at night. What is the best time to get up to give a snack?
 
You are doing a lot of night time testing so when you test around +3 or 4 and again +7 or 8 would be fine. You might want to look into a timed feeder to accomplish this because while I applaud your night time testing, it can get exhausting so getting food ready ahead of time and not worrying about it in the middle of the night can make things a bit easier. :D
 
You are doing a lot of night time testing so when you test around +3 or 4 and again +7 or 8 would be fine. You might want to look into a timed feeder to accomplish this because while I applaud your night time testing, it can get exhausting so getting food ready ahead of time and not worrying about it in the middle of the night can make things a bit easier. :D

I *am* exhausted!
I can't find any timed feeders here- really hoping I can find one in the city this weekend when I go.
 
I never used one because with 3 cats, my only option was microchip controlled models that are a little over the top price wise. A lot of folks here use the PetSafe feeders. I believe there is one that will provide 2 meals and another up to 5 which is great if your have a day when you aren't going to be home for an extended period of time and I believe it has room for an ice pack to keep the food fresher.
 
Depot question: does a depot get built at all with only a shot a day?
Skipping shots can mess with the depot. That's why I suggested you put dose? in your subject line to get some advice on a dose you can safely shoot twice a day. I'm not criticizing you skipping shots because you have to keep her safe. We need a good dose you can shoot twice a day so we can see what Rhubarb is really doing.
 
Skipping shots can mess with the depot. That's why I suggested you put dose? in your subject line to get some advice on a dose you can safely shoot twice a day. I'm not criticizing you skipping shots because you have to keep her safe. We need a good dose you can shoot twice a day so we can see what Rhubarb is really doing.

I know you aren't criticizing- no worries :)
This weekend is best to try that since we will be home.
 
I've only been able to give one shot a day at current dose. Last night I had intended on steering with food, but plan got thwarted.

What dose should I be giving so that I can shoot twice a day? Someone will be home all weekend for testing if that is relevant.
 
If you are home to monitor tomorrow, I would try that 0.25 units dose tonight and tomorrow AM. Provided she is above 90 in the AM that is. I think you said you want to follow SLGS? If so, please add SLGS to the signature. If 0.25 is too much insulin, she will tell you and you would try 0.1 units next. Make sure you have some high carb food and corn syrup (US brand is karo), honey or maple syrup around.

I got the Petsafe 5 feeder at my local Petsmart, if you don't want to wait for the postal service. :rolleyes:
 
Are you following SLGS (Start Low, Go Slow) or TR (Tight Regulation)?

It looks to me like you could continue to give 0.25u as long as Rhubarb is over 5 mmol at pre-shot while you can monitor this weekend but make sure you have lots of strips and high carb food on hand in case you need to do any steering. None of the readings that Rhubarb has had are too low. The green readings were all well within safe and normal range and they are the levels you need to try to keep Rhubarb in through as much of each cycle as possible to promote pancreas healing. That said, it's early days for you and I completely understand that shooting a pre-shot of 5.4 or 6.7 is very intimidating. It's usually something you work up to but Rhubarb seems to want to move this dance along a little quicker than most.

If you are uncomfortable with shooting at those lower pre-shot numbers, you could try a dose of 0.1u which would be just below the zero line on the syringe. Your dose doesn't need to be exact but it should be consistent, so I would get a used syringe and using coloured water, draw up the 0.1u as close as you can and use that syringe as a gauge when drawing up the insulin.
 
I was planning on SLGS but so far even on a skinny 2.5, she dropped below the reduction numbers within the cycle.
I would like TR but I don't generally have the time to do the amount of testing needed to keep it that regulated.
 
Shooting at the 5.4-6.7 range automatically makes it TR doesn't it? I am willing to do a trial over weekend to see how she responds. If she doesn't go hypo on 0.25 bid, would it be safe to assume she would continue to be ok during the week when I can't test in day?
 
I would suggest you try the 0.25u over the weekend while you can test and see what Rhubarb does. You've skipped a lot of shots so the depot has never really got filled. It may be that 0.25u is too much but if it is, then you can back the dose down to 0.1u and try that. Lantus is good at holding a lower BG so often once you get into low blues and high green numbers mi ore consistently, our kitties surf along beautifully in healing BG range. Right now I think Rhubarb's bouncing around too much to really know what she needs so all you can do is experiment a bit when you have the ability to monitor. Ultimately it's up to you what you feel comfortable doing but if remission rather than just good numbers is your goal (remembering that remission is not guaranteed), it looks like you are going to have to consider shooting lower pre-shot numbers. We'll be here to assist if you need help. Rhubarb is definitely not following the rules!
As for feeding her, why don't you compromise and shoot a half hour early. That way you don't have to listen to or deal with a ravenous cat for too long and it won't put your schedule out of sync or give you a food influenced PMPS.
 
My goal is to have her on schedule for 7am/pm currently 550pm. I can do 630 for the weekend though. Its better than 530!
 
Thank you,
I will do the 0.25 U and see how it goes. I think you are right about her body not knowing what it needs, and none of her numbers have been too low. I was being very cautious because of work.
 
What feeding schedule would work best for helping her surf? I've been giving food in evenings in 0.5 oz bits every hour or two depending on if she finishes it, and leave an ounce out at bed.
 
It's often a good idea to stop feeding at +6 however with Rhubarb giving you low AMPS I think feeding around +3/4 and +7/8 at night might give her a little boost to keep the numbers up a bit by AMPS. During the day, this doesn't seem to be as much of a problem because she always has a shootable PMPS. You might even want to try a slightly higher carb food during those night time snacks to see how that works to get 2 shootable pre-shots.
 
I've been mainly feeding PC chicken or oceanfish pate and friskies chicken pate, with a little bits of other low carb for some variety. The friskies is 5% and the pc 2%. I also have a few cans of purina dm savoury bits in gravy (10-14%), merrick's thanksgiving dinner(2-6%), and a whackload of purina mature chicken pate that I think was 20%. Also have gravy lovers fancy feast.

Is the friskies high enough for the "slightly higher"? I can mix if not, or I will be running to walmart and independent shortly and can grab something more middling.

Oh, I have about 10 lbs of honey, so I am set for any potential hypos lol! Local farmer makes good honey.
 
Well the 10lbs of honey might be a bit of overkill......HAHAHA! but food wise you seem to be well supplied. I'd start with the Friskies and if She needs a further boost then I'd go with a small bit of the Purina DM for night time snacks...maybe DM early on and then Friskies at the later feed to try it out. Don't want to over do but Rhubarb will no doubt tell you what she needs so start slow. If you can find something around 8-10% that would be good to have on hand. Rhubarb is proving she is a very particular little girl. :woot:
 
I picked up an 8% carb friskies to try out as well.
What number am I trying for to shoot at in am?
 
What number am I trying for to shoot at in am?
If BG is over 5mmol then I'd try a dose of 0.25u. If BG is lower than 5mmol, you may need to skip but I'd suggest you post for assistance and suggestions particularly if BG happens to be very close to 5mmol.

Should I do both +2 and +3 test or just the +3?
One or the other is fine. Lantus doesn't usually start to kick in a that much until +3 onward.
 
I won't be around tomorrow to follow your progress but I will be looking in to see how things went when I get home in the evening! Fingers crossed for some lovely blue and high green numbers! :D
 
A little bit lower at +4, so I gave some more dm with a little bit of friskies- she has an appetite! I left a tsp food in the other cats' dish in case she needs it.
Off to bed now until 130 or 230 (+7-8)
 
Looks like I may have steered with a little too much dm.
10.6 when I tested now at +7.
I'm likely good to give either no food or a small bit low carb I think.
Man I havs a weird dream of you guys. I thought I had already got up! Fading now
 
I was trying to steer with food to avoid having another NS morning, but went a little too far. Now I know!
I gave her a half tsp low carb cause I forgot to cut up steak pieces for post test treats and I'm likely still sleep and not about to try it.
Goodnight, and hope you get some rest again Chris!
 
Back
Top