? 11/5 SHEBA AMPS 122; +3 103;+4 47; +4.25 34; +4.5 59;+6 74 ; +7 76; +8 77; +9 126

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bron and Sheba (GA)

Member Since 2015
Yesterday
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ce-after-night-in-lagoon.146983/#post-1528008

AMPS 122

I know you can't prefill syringes with lantus but can they be prefilled with levemir? I think I can remember reading that you can do it but can't find where I read it.
I have to go into hospital next week, hopefully just overnight. One of my daughters will give Sheba the insulin injections but no one is up to speed yet with testing so she won't be tested. I was wondering if prefilling a couple of syringes with levemir was an option.

OT. The nanny who had the car accident was waiting at lights when someone hit her. She has a fractured foot/ankle and possible chest injuries. She should be OK thank goodness, but she won't be able to work for at least a month. DIL is trying to work out how she will manage without her. She has a busy physio practice and leaves early in the mornings. She could drop the kids off here early before school, but it is also the washing, housework and shopping that won't get done. Might have to get a temporary person in.....but that isn't necessarily easy to find either.
 
I'm thinking that I've read you can't prefill Levemir Bron, but can't remember where I read it. How about filling a syringe with coloured water to use as a guide or putting tape round the syringe at the correct dose? Hope you manage to get the testing sorted out.

Vines for a full recovery for your DIL's Nanny.
 
I believe the research that's available was published before Lev came on the market. I don't advise people to pre-fill syringes. What I would suggest is making up a "sample" syringe that measured to the dose you want your daughter to shoot. Use something that's colored (e.g., milk, orange juice, tea) so the amount is obvious. This prevents someone who thinks they know how to measure a dose from making a mistake. FWIW, I would reduce the dose if no one is going to be able to test. That will give you some margin for safety.

@Tara & Ivana - There is information in the "storing and handling Lantus" sticky about pre-filling syringes. See p. 3 of the link. Not only did the pharmaceutical company indicate you shouldn't pre-fill the syringes, at least one syringe company also said their syringes shouldn't be pre-filled.

 
Maybe you can make up a test syringe and draw up the insulin and show your daughter how to compare it before you go in to the hospital. I hope it's nothing serious and things go well for you. Sending prayers for your DIL's nanny.
 
I did a search a while ago looking for what was recommended (or not) for prefilling Levemir. I couldn't find anything, but did see references to nurses at seniors homes prefilling syringes for use by aides later in the day. I don't know if that means it's OK to prefill for use a few hours later. So it might be OK for the evening shot, but pushing it for the AM one. I might be best to do that sample syringe, and choose a lower dose on a line that's easy to measure.

I think Sheba wants that reduction now! :eek::D Time to come up Sheba, you've been hogging the water wings too long.
 
+4.5 59
Looks like we have another reducie. This is her 3rd reducie in 14 cycles.:D

Thanks Suki, Sienne, Wendy and Carla for your advice on the prefilled syringes.
I think I will go with the sample syringe method because I am not exactly sure how long I will be in hospital..........depends on how everything goes.....and I would rather stick with one method and not confuse DD.
I agree with giving a lower dose as well so I will post closer to the day for advice on dose.

+5 97
Probably a bit heavy handed with the honey.......although I didn't really give her that much.....she responds quickly to honey I have found. But every time she drops really low I am anxious until I get that next reading....even though I know she responds well.....silly me:rolleyes:
 
Hi Bron,
I agree with the others: fill a sample syringe to use as comparison. It's possible that the coating on the inside of the syringe will interact with the insulin if left in the syringe too long. Safety first!
Sending vines for Nanny to recover quickly. And sending vines to you for your hospital visit.

Yo Sheba, I've got my eyes on you and the waterwings are ready. Surf safe! Congrats on the reducie (I got one, too, today)
~ Rusty, LagoonMeister
 
Hi Bron,
I agree with the others: fill a sample syringe to use as comparison. It's possible that the coating on the inside of the syringe will interact with the insulin if left in the syringe too long. Safety first!
Sending vines for Nanny to recover quickly. And sending vines to you for your hospital visit.

Yo Sheba, I've got my eyes on you and the waterwings are ready. Surf safe! Congrats on the reducie (I got one, too, today)
~ Rusty, LagoonMeister

Thanks Ella. And thanks for all the vines.
Congrats on the reducie Rusty!
Thanks for watching out for me Rusty.........got right in the deep end this morning and saw the big sharks!:eek::facepalm:
I will holler if I need the water wings.......Congrats on the reducie....way to go!
 
I agree about the syringes - I'd leave a sample one. If your daughter is going to learn to test, I'd also give her a no-shoot number. If not, I'd reduce the dose as well.

Big hugs - I hope your hospital time is very brief, you get the help you need, and the nurses don't wake you all night long. ;):bighug:
 
Thanks Julie!
I have been teaching some of the kids to test BSLs but they would not be available for the nadirs during the day or night, and either would my daughter because she works and doesn't live here to test nadirs, so I think it would be safer to go with the reduced dose option.
 
Whew, Sheba, that was some ride you took Mama on today! Guess you wanted to make sure she understood you were tired of this dose! :D Congrats on the reducie.

Sending more vines for the nanny, and a bunch of advanced ones for you. They don't spoil, so just tuck them away to be used while you're in the hospital!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top