11/7 River (AMPS 346, +5 224, +8 344)

Paigeworthy

Member Since 2018
Forgive me, FDMB, for I have sinned; it's been three days since my last confession.

The pet sitting service was SO GOOD about checking in with me, recording River's BG levels, etc. I will definitely be hiring them again!!

Back from NYC after two days…today feels like a Monday, ugh! :blackeye:

River's numbers are high but I intend to hold this new dose for a week and see what's up then. I am still under the weather today and have not checked her for ketones in a few days. I'll catch her tomorrow, hopefully, before I have to head downtown for work. I feel badly that I can't monitor her more closely.

I'm willing this girl to make a New Year's Resolution to go OTJ…

giphy.gif
 
You are too funny Paige. No apologies needed for lack of confessions! :woot: Hope you enjoyed your trip to NYC and start feeling better soon. So glad you had good pet sitting. That is worth it's weight in gold!
You've already been at 1.25u for 6 days. Are you planning to follow SLGS or TR? Are you holding the dose because you are not feeling well? Just curious because our kitties can tend to get stuck in higher numbers if we hold doses too long. :)
 
You are too funny Paige. No apologies needed for lack of confessions! :woot:
Just gotta keep things light or I'll lose my mind…

Are you planning to follow SLGS or TR?
I want to follow TR but I guess I'm struggling with understanding the protocol as well as I should… I don't know why my eyes just glaze over when I read it :| My vet called to check in yesterday and is so adamant that I hold doses for at least a week.

Also, I think I have been giving a fair number of fur shots…

River's been hanging around the water fountain a lot tonight and the pee clumps are bigger. I was out most of today so couldn't check her for ketones, I'm scared.
 
Is River eating Ok? Other than the extra water drinking, does she have any other signs she is not feeling well? Don't know if you have considered it, but there are meters you can get to test for ketones which would save you from having to try to catch River in the LB. The strips are a bit expensive but with a history of DKA, it might give you peace of mind to know you can test quickly and easily any time you are concerned.

River's numbers are high enough that I would seriously consider increasing her dose to 1.5u tomorrow. Holding doses for a week works in some cases but sometimes it's harder to get the BG down when doses are held too long.

If you are concerned about possible furshots and need help, maybe Carol can help you out with more instruction.
 
Out of curiousity, was insulin given last night? The spreadsheet is empty on the units entry.

Also, I think I have been giving a fair number of fur shots…
Good to mark those on the SS, with a FS in the units column or FS? if you aren't sure. Furshots can impact dosing decision. You might want to take a look at these Testing and Shooting Tips to see if there is something that can help you.

Stay safe tonight River.
 
Out of curiousity, was insulin given last night? The spreadsheet is empty on the units entry.


Good to mark those on the SS, with a FS in the units column or FS? if you aren't sure. Furshots can impact dosing decision. You might want to take a look at these Testing and Shooting Tips to see if there is something that can help you.

Stay safe tonight River.
It was. My husband probably gave it — he never puts the dose in.

I am never sure if I’ve given a fur shot honestly. Her fur is never wet but there’s hardly any insulin in the syringe to begin with. I’ve read the shooting tips a billion times and watched so many videos...
 
Paige, I always did a sniff test if I had concerns about a furshot. Lantus has a distinct medicinal odour. If the fur is not wet and there is no odour around the injection site, it's highly unlikely it's a furshot. Just make sure you don't have any drips on the outside of the syringe from drawing up the dose and that you don't have any insulin on your hands when you inject. :)
 
Give yourself a pat on the back for learning all you have in a very short period of time, Paige. This FD journey can be tough and having a period of sadness or panic or eroded confidence is perfectly normal. You'll get past it. Trust the people here. :bighug:

I agree with the advice to increase to 1.5 u soon.
 
Back
Top