11/9 Ovie: PMPS 219, +3: 303

Status
Not open for further replies.

KATIE&ovie

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/ovie-is-just-starting-insulin.186466/#post-2070971
Yesterday's post.

Hi guys. I posted yesterday about my kitty's dosing. I'm new to this. I thought I gave him 1U when I actually gave him 10. I read the syringe wrong when I used it. I don't know why I thought it said 1.0 on it. ☹️ I'm really kicking myself over this. I could've have killed my cat. ☹️

I took his
AMPS this morning. It was 259 He was low all day yesterday (bc I gave him way too much insulin).

I gave him the correct dosage of 1u. We will see where his numbers are today.

Could he have any serious health complications from the dose I gave him the night before last? ☹️
 
Last edited:
Holy smokes! Well that would explain yesterday's numbers! Don't beat yourself up, it's not easy getting up to speed with all that goes along with treating a kitty with diabetes. I can't imagine there are any long term affects, keep an eye today, and post if you have any concerns with anything :bighug:, I'm sure he'll be just fine.
 
Thank you. I feel bad I put him through that yesterday. He seems back to normal. He's longingly gazing outside. He loves time on the porch. I'll be spot checking him all day.
 
Oh my goodness! Glad you realized that quickly. :) And so glad you were testing him frequently so you would know if he went too low. You got lots of good advice yesterday and I think you have a good handle on what you need to do. Keep rereading those stickies and posting your progress and questions.

Here is your condo (history of previous posts) from yesterday. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/ovie-is-just-starting-insulin.186466/#post-2070971 Put this at the beginning of your daily post so others can review previous posts, if necessary. Also, put the date in your title, so "11/9 Ovie AMPS 259". You are off to a great start! :)
 
Also thought I'd mention, don't be surprised if the numbers today stay higher, those low numbers can cause a bounce. See post #4 in attached thread, Wendy comments on bouncing. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-advice-please.186334/#post-2069462

And, here's a link to your previous post, so others can follow the history
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/ovie-is-just-starting-insulin.186466/

We've all done things we feel badly about, we're only human. I've done furshots, had a horrible time getting blood in the beginning, likely missed lows because I was at work...honestly, these kitties are resilient, Ovie has probably forgotten all about it :cat:. Hang in there, today's another day.
 
Oh my goodness! Glad you realized that quickly. :) And so glad you were testing him frequently so you would know if he went too low. You got lots of good advice yesterday and I think you have a good handle on what you need to do. Keep rereading those stickies and posting your progress and questions.

Here is your condo (history of previous posts) from yesterday. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/ovie-is-just-starting-insulin.186466/#post-2070971 Put this at the beginning of your daily post so others can review previous posts, if necessary. Also, put the date in your title, so "11/9 Ovie AMPS 259". You are off to a great start! :)
Thank you. I will add that now
 
Also thought I'd mention, don't be surprised if the numbers today stay higher, those low numbers can cause a bounce. See post #4 in attached thread, Wendy comments on bouncing. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-advice-please.186334/#post-2069462

And, here's a link to your previous post, so others can follow the history
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/ovie-is-just-starting-insulin.186466/

We've all done things we feel badly about, we're only human. I've done furshots, had a horrible time getting blood in the beginning, likely missed lows because I was at work...honestly, these kitties are resilient, Ovie has probably forgotten all about it :cat:. Hang in there, today's another day.
Thank you! You guys are the best. I will read through those now.

We all try our best. It's the best we can do. So glad I caught on to the dosing this morning.
 
Just peeked at Ovie's spreadsheet, apparently "bounce" is not in his vocabulary! :) You can update your thread title to keep us posted (only if you want ;)), hope he stays nice and flat in the blues today :cool:
 
Are you feeding Ovie any food with the BG readings so far? He's in a nice range at the moment, but still dropping, for me, I'd be inclined to check +5. Good job getting the +2, that can give you a clue which way he's headed, and whether it's an active cycle.

Edited to add (ETA): you'll get more familiar with when to test as you gather more data that tells you how low the dose takes him and when (nadir). That said, I've been surprised a few times with early nadirs with my kitty, so I'm definitely not an expert :rolleyes:, but starting to figure things out as I go!
 
Last edited:
I hope he stays cool blue too! lol I updated the title. :)

When do you think I should spot check again? +6?
For start I'd say test when you can. In my opinion until the kitty is not regulated these tests are for safety more than to see a real BG curve (which doesn't exist yet).
The 10u shot may linger for few cycles and influence the BG numbers (lower them).........try to see how he's doing @+2/+4/+6+8/+10 (different days) in order to have an idea what's going on. I don't believe that testing every single hour will help if the numbers are not in the danger zone (again, this is just my opinion - but I'm sure Ovie will concur :)).
 
Are you feeding Ovie any food with the BG readings so far? He's in a nice range at the moment, but still dropping, for me, I'd be inclined to check +5. Good job getting the +2, that can give you a clue which way he's headed, and whether it's an active cycle.

Edited to add (ETA): you'll get more familiar with when to test as you gather more data that tells you how low the dose takes him and when (nadir). That said, I've been surprised a few times with early nadirs with my kitty, so I'm definitely not an expert :rolleyes:, but starting to figure things out as I go!
He had 1/8 of a friskies can between +2 and +3 I had offered him 1/4. After the +5 reading of 116 I fed him a 1/4 friskies can and he ate it all.

He is still dropping. I noticed Toro & Ovi said the 10u shot may linger. Perhaps that's a factor too?
 
For start I'd say test when you can. In my opinion until the kitty is not regulated these tests are for safety more than to see a real BG curve (which doesn't exist yet).
The 10u shot may linger for few cycles and influence the BG numbers (lower them).........try to see how he's doing @+2/+4/+6+8/+10 (different days) in order to have an idea what's going on. I don't believe that testing every single hour will help if the numbers are not in the danger zone (again, this is just my opinion - but I'm sure Ovie will concur :)).
He's still in the blue. I checked him at +5 and saw his numbers are still slowly dropping. He got a 1/4 friskies can snack. He's such a trooper. I should probably give his ears a break for a few hrs.
 
Excellent +5, that's pretty much the same as 2 hours ago...looks like a nice surf now :cool:, I'd say you can relax with the pokies. It's possible the one shot of 10u might linger, but Ovie's doing great, in very safe numbers.

ETA: I'm actually curious about the question of how long the one shot of 10u may linger :bookworm:, being a depot insulin, it would seem that the depot wouldn't have filled yet? hope you don't mind, I've tagged @Wendy&Neko , she's helped me greatly and knows a lot about higher doses :)
 
Last edited:
Hello and welcome.

It is true that you may still see the effects of the accidental 10u for a few cycles. You might find that once that effect wears off numbers will trend up, you'll just have to wait and see.

In any case you want to hold on to your 1u starting dose (unless he goes to low) for between 5-7 days if you are doing TR.
How much does Ovie weigh? Is he at a good weight? Dose is based on ideal weight of a kitty is to 'fluffy' or his actual weight if normal or under weight.

About the food...Lantus starts working aprox. 2 hours after shot....so you'll have to develop a feeding schedule for Ovie.
Us (and again, it's just us) we feed Toro 1/3 of food @ 1 hour after AMPS and 2/3 @ 2 hours after AMPS. He's usually out of food 4 hours before the next shot which works perfect to get an accurate PMPS BG reading. We try to duplicate the schedule during the night and get some BG tests then (especially that Toro has lower BG numbers during night).
So unless the AMPS or PMPS numbers are too low for shooting, we never feed him during or before the shot.
Other members can comment on this, I believe there are a lot of other feeding schedules used out there (some with automatic feeder involved, etc.). Different kitties, different schedules, different responses to treatment.....every cat is unique, that's the beauty (and the beast) of it. :)
Cheers.

I just wanted to make a comment on Toro and Ovi post, this is not the recommended way to feed
It is recommended to always
1) Test
2) feed
3) Shoot

I would most definitely not wait an hour after shooting to feed, you want to be sure that. Your kitty has some food in his system before onset, which with most kitties is somewhere between the +1-+2 mark. It can vary from kitty to kitty and from one day to another, over time you will figure out what is most usual for your kitty.

My feeding at +1 you are not giving enough time for the food to have its complete effect before onset.
It's also important to know if your cat is going to eat for you, as this might influence your choice of dose if for some reason he is off his food.

Fwiw I used to test, feed, and then shoot George while he still had his head in the bowl, most times he never looked up, the one time I tried to shoot before feeding (until a very experienced member set me straight) he would not hold still, he gets very excited about his breakfast :)

As far as how much and how often, eventually I settled on the following, he got 25% of his total intake at amps, 25% at pmps, then 25% divided into 3 snacks at +2+4+6(usually) in the am cycle, and the remaining 25% divided up just the same in the pm cycle (I use an auto feeder for that).

I tried to avoid feeding in the latter half of the cycle as it can have the undesirable effect of bumping their numbers up as there is less insulin around at this point to counteract any BG rise induced by food.
It is really important that you not feed 2hours before AMPS/PMPS as you don't want those BG readings to be food influenced so that you are sure it is safe to shoot.

If you absolutely must feed something at +9 because he's going to chew your arm off, or to avoid problems with acid tummy then either a little zero carb treat, like boiled chicken breast or freeze dried chicken treats are a good choice as this will not normally cause a food BG spike.

Of course of his BG is low, then ignore the above, as safety is what's important in that situation.
 
I am going to do SLGS with Ovie. TR seems overwhelming for me. Ovie weighs 13 pounds. I think he is slightly overweight. The vet put in his paper work that he was ideal weight though.

I did the test, feed, shoot with Ovie. Thank you for the feeding info it helps to hear how others do it.

I just tested him and he was 212. I think I'm a little early though like 25 minutes early. He hasn't eaten since 3pm.
 
I would say to hold the 1-Unit dose and let his body settle in to it. The depot will adjust to reflect the 1-Unit dose. Every time you change the dose, the depot has to adjust. So it is always a good thing to follow the protocol and give each dose change the proper time to settle.

Wow on the 10-Unit "adventure"! I'm sure you're not the first person to have done this.

Ovie is a very handsome kitty.
 
I would say to hold the 1-Unit dose and let his body settle in to it. The depot will adjust to reflect the 1-Unit dose. Every time you change the dose, the depot has to adjust. So it is always a good thing to follow the protocol and give each dose change the proper time to settle.

Wow on the 10-Unit "adventure"! I'm sure you're not the first person to have done this.

Ovie is a very handsome kitty.
Okay. So I'll give him the 1U? I'm so glad I caught the issue this morning and didn't accidentally give it to him again. ::phew::
 
I am feeling confused lol..

+3 reading was at 303, could I have given a fur shot? I gave the shot in his shoulder after tenting his skin. Or is this that "bounce"? He was in the blue all day today after his insulin injection in the morning.

Where do I go from here? Ride it out till his next scheduled injection in the morning? I don't think I did a fur shot but I don't know?

Thank you guys for your help. ❤️
 
I am feeling confused lol..

+3 reading was at 303, could I have given a fur shot? I gave the shot in his shoulder after tenting his skin. Or is this that "bounce"? He was in the blue all day today after his insulin injection in the morning.

Where do I go from here? Ride it out till his next scheduled injection in the morning? I don't think I did a fur shot but I don't know?

Thank you guys for your help. ❤️
Very likely the bounce started at PMPS! Even if it was a fur shot, you never know if "some" insulin made it in, it is never recommended to shoot again. Take a break, get some sleep and start again tomorrow, 1u. :)
 
Very likely the bounce started at PMPS! Even if it was a fur shot, you never know if "some" insulin made it in, it is never recommended to shoot again. Take a break, get some sleep and start again tomorrow, 1u. :)

Okay I will talk to you in the am. I'll be on around 830am. I tell my husband that this forum is like my new Facebook. Lol.
 
Okay I will talk to you in the am. I'll be on around 830am. I tell my husband that this forum is like my new Facebook. Lol.
LOL
am going to do SLGS with Ovie. TR seems
That's ok, then you hold the dose for a week, unless he drops below 90, that would earn him a reduction, at the end of the week you run a curve, then you make a decision about dose based on the low numbers you find.

I'm really glad you realised your mistake before you shot this morning. You're not the first, nor will you be the last.
 
Sorry I didn't respond earlier - for some reason I didn't get the tag. Thank goodness Gill was around. And YIKES on the 10 unit accidental dose. You aren't the first and I'm glad it was just one shot. The effects could linger a couple cycles. Fortunately it looks like tonight he's bouncing and you can get to sleep.
 
LOL

That's ok, then you hold the dose for a week, unless he drops below 90, that would earn him a reduction, at the end of the week you run a curve, then you make a decision about dose based on the low numbers you find.

I'm really glad you realised your mistake before you shot this morning. You're not the first, nor will you be the last.

Okay :-) Im so glad I realized it too. That could have been really bad.
 
Sorry I didn't respond earlier - for some reason I didn't get the tag. Thank goodness Gill was around. And YIKES on the 10 unit accidental dose. You aren't the first and I'm glad it was just one shot. The effects could linger a couple cycles. Fortunately it looks like tonight he's bouncing and you can get to sleep.

He did bounce.. This morning his AMPS was 312. I will make a fresh thread shortly. :-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top