12/11 PMPS 419 +1 214 +2 7

Sushi

Member Since 2018
Hi,
That's great there aren't any ketones and he is eating well. Also putting on some weight.
Just looked at the SS and I see you have been to the vet and have increased the dose to 1 unit.
I would not have increased that much. I would have only increased to 0.75 units. You will need to test frequently if you are going to take the dose up to 1 unit.
It could take up to 6 doses for the full effect of the 1 unit to be seen so test as often as you can.
Are you able to get a +2 before you go to work each day.? If the BSL is the same or lower than the preshot, that means that the cycle will probably be an active one and his BSL will drop and you might need to pop home to test.

What are you feeding the other cats? It would be much easier and better for all the cats if you were able to swap them all over to a low carb diet and get off the dry food.
You are doing a great job looking after Sushi and it is so good to see him in better health.
What did the vet think?
Bron

I'll be testing him all night and I can get a +2 before work. I can do 0.75u just have to figure it out how to measure it out consistently.

It was a bit awkward at the vet office. The vet said she never had a cat on half units, only whole units in her practice. Had a vet tech bring over an insulin syringe that didn't have half unit measurements to show her how much I give. Showed her the picture of the ones I use.

The main reason for the visit was to check his red blood count. Sushi had a blood transfusion when he was hospitalized and thought it could be caused by infection, parasites, or cancer. Sushi gums are nice and pink today. Sushi is now 10.3 lbs.

The other cats are getting dry food. Just have to tell my mom to stop giving it to them and to give it the stray cat.

Last post 12/10
 
Last edited:
To get 0.75 units you need to draw up the insulin half way between the half unit line and the 1 unit line. Using a magnifying glass is helpful.

Most vets increase and decrease in 1 unit increments which is a lot for kitties. For example going from 0.5 to 1 unit is doubling the dose. Vets don’t get a lot of education on feline diabetes so you are probably helping to educate your vet.

It looks like Sushi is having a very active cycle.
It would be good if you could swap all the cats over to low carb food. Better for their health and easier to manage Sushi if she sneaks food.
 
@Sushi
Looks like Sushi is bouncing after the green numbers yesterday. This is normal, especially in a newly diagnosed cat. When he comes off the bounce you will be able to see how the 0.75 units is working for him.
Any results of the blood tests from the vet yet?
 
Back
Top