? 12/12 Hyde AMPS 233 +3 183 +4.6 267 +7 336 +9 416 PMPS 498

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Hyde (GA)

Member Since 2015
Yesterday before dose increase

Well, from a AMPS of 583 to an AMPS of 233. DH does the AM t/f/s routine. He did not ask if he should shoot the new dose of 23u, guess he deserves the balls of steel today!

I guess my assumptions as to when she would start to react to the dose increase were wrong. I should have gotten an overnight test in last night. The problem is that we have plans to be away tonight and have a pet sitter giving the shot tonight and tomorrow morning. Should we have her give a reduced dose? 2ou or lower?We will leaving around +8 or 9 today, so I can get a test to see if she bounces. We will be home around +4 tomorrow.

More immediate question. I have seen others feed the cat to keep them surfing better numbers. How does this work?

Longer range question. How will I know that the insulin resistance has broken? I am assuming (maybe incorrectly given my track record of assumptions this week) that we are close. Should I start routinely testing her in the overnights? I am taking Wednesday off this week and can do some day testing.

Also, Jekyll started his chlorambucil today - any spare vines would be appreciated.
 
Good morning, and let me say "WOO HOO!!!" Great numbers!

I would wait and see what kinds of numbers you get this afternoon before making any dose decisions. Typically we want to hold the dose. If she's near where she's been for the past low end preshots, I would hold. Does your sitter home test for you?

Insulin resistance typically comes down gradually. So instead of getting low blues & high greens, you may have some numbers like 46 that make your eyes pop out. That's when you'll start with the reductions... or just bringing her up with food like I did with Grayson. For now, I think you're probably pretty safe holding the dose. Remember, it's a long-lasting insulin, so it's not going to be like flipping a switch overnight. Not usually, at least.

The food drill for me went like this: If G was really low (36-50), I could give him 1-3 spoonfulls of gravy food. It would bring him right up, but might not hold him, depending on if it was early in the cycle. OR, I could just let him free-feed with his regular food. He would eat enough that it would hold him in good numbers. I had previously tested a LOT with food (that's the extra row on my SS 2012 to 2014). He ate mostly chicken & turkey FF, with occasional seafood varieties. C-1 is one can of chicken; OW-.5 was half can of Ocean Whitefish. I typically fed every 2-3 hours, as Grayson was EXTREMELY ravenous due to his Acro. As many as 12-14 cans per day at one point (yes, he was a mortgage payment!). So long as you have the sitter leave (canned) food out for her, she will probably eat as she needs to.

They have amazing timing sometimes... as if they know when we're going away!
 
Hi Anne,
I can't comment with the experience in high-dose matters that Lu has, but I can say that Rusty, who is a grazer, always has wet food available.

Good luck with the dose increase. It seems to be working!

Ella & Rusty
 
Beautiful Hyde- Just beautiful! and good for your husband to shoot!!! Surf safely today- and for the petsitter too :)
 
Great numbers for Hyde today. I hope he'll surf safely while you're out tonight. I would leave some food out for her. Sending prayers for Jekyll and he starts the new med.
 
Hyde's looking good - nice to see that blue in there. Good job DH!

As to your questions - I'd check before you go and see if the inevitable bounce has begun. If so, I think I'd let the petsitter stay with 23u and just leave out plenty of regular food when she leaves. Do you use an autofeeder?

If she hasn't bounced, or is lower than the 183 from this morning, I'd be tempted to have her drop back to 20u for this evening and tomorrow morning.

So hard to predict, and if I was waffling, I'd choose the more conservative choice.

One final thought, if it looks like she's heading for low numbers this evening, I'd just have the petsitter skip the shot entirely. Her depot is large and if you want to interrupt the cycle as it's playing out this evening, it'll take more than just dropping it back 3u - I'd think cutting the dose in 1/2 dose at least. Skipping is an viable option too - far better to have her too high if no one is home than running too low.

Hope you have a marvelous, carefree time tonight!
 
Well, I think we have the expected bounce. <sigh> Guess it is good so that I do not worry too much tonight.

No autofeeder - with 4 cats there is no guarantee who will get the food :cat: but we do free feed dry so she will have access to that all night. The neighbor who is pet sitting will get a PS but no subsequent test. Going to have her shoot the full 23u. Fingers crossed:nailbiting::nailbiting:
 
Have fun and try not to worry too much (if that's possible). Looks like this might be a good dose...just have to get rid of that bounce :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top