12/18 Gizmo PMPS=121, +1=107, +2=79, +3=77, +3.5=92, +4=90, +5=103, +6=110

Status
Not open for further replies.

LizzieInTexas

Member Since 2016
12/17

AMPS 242

Ok, we need to seriously discuss dose increase. Per the spreadsheet he has only seen green once in 14 cycles. He may have seen them when I wasn't monitoring (at work) but obviously this dose is too low. Gizmo would get so close. Nice blue runs - but no greens!

Our weather is crazy. Last night when I went to bed at 10p it was 77*. This morning it is 39* (4:45a). The temp will continue to drop this morning - low is predicted to be 28*

Went to bed with the AC running. Got up and turned the heat on. :banghead::D

Have a great football Sunday!

Kitties surf safe and be kind to your beans.
 
Lizzie, by looking at you SS it looks like he saw green on the PM cycle of 12/15 and they were higher greens at that so there is room for him to drop some more. Can you monitor him if you bump him up to 1.50 ?
 
Lizzie, by looking at you SS it looks like he saw green on the PM cycle of 12/15 and they were higher greens at that so there is room for him to drop some more. Can you monitor him if you bump him up to 1.50 ?
Yes. I am off. 1.5U is what he should be at. I had been dropping the dose to 1.25U during the week when I was working. He really didn't "earn" a reduction to 1.25U. I have seen others here wait until 3 drops to 50 to earn a reduction. I like that for Gizmo - especially since he takes so long to level out with a new dose. Just throwing that out there for opinions.

+2 252

Watch - he will drop to greens today, just to spite me :D
 
That 3 drops to earn a reduction is used with long term diabetics ( over 1 year) or kits that don't hold reductions well.
Thanks. Didn't know that. What do you think of an increase tonight if no greens today?

It seems that 1.5U is too much to not drop him into danger zone and 1.25U isn't quite enough to get/keep him there in the greens. I just need to make the most of the time I am off.

If you (all) feel he is making progress at 1.25U it won't hurt my feelings to stay at this dose. :p I am comfortable leaving him after testing +4/+5 and it will allow me to get some other stuff taken care of while I am off (like eye exam and going with MIL to take Stefi to a specialist).

Pulling out the patience pants now. :D
 
I am comfortable leaving him after testing +4/+5 and it will allow me to get some other stuff taken care of while I am off (like eye exam and going with MIL to take Stefi to a specialist).
If leaving him where he is good for you at this point in time so you can be gone some, then do the increase when you know you can monitor. You have to do what fits for you too especially at this time of the year. It's a double edge sword with you having the time off so you can get him where you want him and to be able to do what you need to do for yourself as well.
 
I have to get him to the vet too. He is due for bloodwork. Going to try and get him in tomorrow. Not sure how to do this. I won't fast him/skip dose to do this. They will have to do bw that allows him to have eaten. It would be one thing if they could get him in and bw done at 7am but the vets don't get in until 9:30a. **that is +5 for Gizmo**!! I have taken food and shot with me and done it there just to keep him on schedule.;)

He really doesn't need to see vet. He just needs bw and I would like his current weight. Need to ck kidneys for ckd numbers.

Just fyi - Gizmo/diabetes trumps ALL other obligations for me right now.
 
Doodles vets never put fasting restrictions on him for BW because of the diabetes.

Gizmo hasn't been on insulin long enough to try the 3 drops before reducing especially with you switching between TR & SLGS. He's seeing green on this dose with nadirs (between 150-90...even a little lower) that are aligned with SLGS. This protocol seems to work for you both especially with your work schedule. If you want to move to TR while you're off then he does have room for an increase but do so when you can monitor as Bobbie mentioned.
 
If leaving him where he is good for you at this point in time so you can be gone some, then do the increase when you know you can monitor. You have to do what fits for you too especially at this time of the year. It's a double edge sword with you having the time off so you can get him where you want him and to be able to do what you need to do for yourself as well.
What about glucose toxicity? I don't want to go backwards!
 
I don't think you have to worry about glucose toxicity since he saw green recently. I think you have room to increase as long as you can monitor since he did see green recently.
 
?

So is he in healing numbers? I.e., making progress? If I hold @ 1.25 will he eventually come down more in the greens or is an increase inevitable? I know ECID and you don't have a crystal ball, but is that the way it should work?
 
?

So is he in healing numbers? I.e., making progress? If I hold @ 1.25 will he eventually come down more in the greens or is an increase inevitable? I know ECID and you don't have a crystal ball, but is that the way it should work?
ITF= itchy trigger finger (ready to increase)

The renal threshold for kitties can vary. From what I understand, the more time they spend below the renal threshold, the more of a chance they have for the pancreas to heal.

Like others said, if you are doing TR, I think you have room for an increase if you will be there to monitor.
 
Thanks all. I think I am going to hold through tomorrow AM and hope I can get him into the vet tomorrow morning. I should know what MIL will want to do as far as getting Stefi into specialist by then also. If I get Gizmo in for his BW and MIL isn't going to pursue specialist I just may increase tomorrow PM (if no greens between now and then). I don't think he will be on the 1.5 very long but it may be what is needed to just get him "over-the-hump".

+5 140
 
Healing numbers are 50-120. By staying under the renal threshold majority of the time (say under 250 ish but ECID) means no further harm is being done to their little body.

ETA: Pinks here and there come with the game and are not harmful. It's part of bouncing which is natural. The more time they spend in that 50-120 range the better and hope bouncing becomes less and less. As you know by know...some just bounce until they are off the juice.
 
I'm with Bobbi. Your signature says TR, now you have time to do it - I would increase to 1.5 and see if it can help flatten him out. If after you increase and you see him diving, try to prop him up with a few carbs so that he stays in safe greens for a while and gets used to it. You do want him used to greens, not blues.

However, I can understand waiting until after a vet visit, unless he plans any funny business.

I took a quick look at DMIL's cat's b/w from yesterday and a couple things pop out. First, the website www.felinecrf.org is a good site for all things CKD related. Looks like kitty is at stage 3 kidney disease, which is where Neko was. Two things of concern are the Hematocrit (HCT) and Potassium. Both of those out of whack can make her feel crappy. Neko had both values out, the HCT partly due to her chemo and partly her CKD. She was on a potassium supplement (potassium gluconate powder) and was taking B vitamins that helped the aenemia (HCT) numbers.
 
+11 148

Almost forgot to do the +11 - Whoo Hooo! Glad I did. Maybe he heard daddy and I talking about the scheduled dose increase tomorrow evening. lol.
 
She was on a potassium supplement (potassium gluconate powder) and was taking B vitamins that helped the aenemia (HCT) numbers.
So is it ok to tell MIL to give the potassium supplement I sent over? This is what I have/sent:

https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B000MFRP9W/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

How much should I tell her to add to the food? I am thinking 1/8 teaspoon. I wasn't going to advise her to give it until someone who had kitty with heart problems OK'ed it - I was not sure of the possibility of adverse issues.

For the aenemia - someone suggested chicken hearts - is that ok or is the B vit better? If chicken hearts - raw or cooked?

First, the website www.felinecrf.org is a good site for all things CKD related.
I am a member there also. I made a post yesterday at the same time as when I posted here. Lots of good info was given.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I wouldn't give a potassium supplement without asking the vet first. You also have to check bloodwork again fairly soon after starting the supplement. Neko had a problem with chewing hard things, so Vit B powder in a capsule was the way to go.

Go Gizmo!
 
I might give her that LC snack now.
I am trying to let him play it out without too much intervention (unless truly needed of course). I have to get to a point where I can trust him to be ok at these number using the auto feeder for when I am at work.

Poor baby is tired this evening. So am I. I get such anxiety when his numbers are low in the evenings. I know it is just my tiredness but that doesn't make it any easier. :)
 
I am trying to let him play it out without too much intervention (unless truly needed of course). I have to get to a point where I can trust him to be ok at these number using the auto feeder for when I am at work.

Poor baby is tired this evening. So am I. I get such anxiety when his numbers are low in the evenings. I know it is just my tiredness but that doesn't make it any easier. :)
:bighug::bighug:

I completely relate to everything you just said. I want each cycle to play out as it would as if I am at work and no one can monitor. Of course I haven't done that because I am trying to get her used to better numbers. The absolute fear when we are working and no one is around is so real. Just look at Osha the other night. She was in the 300's for PS. I wouldn't have thought twice about leaving her and going to work and then she dropped into the 40's. :eek: I just pray that all my kitty angels are looking after her. None of this makes sense and 100% of this is stressful and anxiety provoking. The sleep deprivation doesn't help either.

But right now....you are home to keep him safe even if you are a sleep deprived zombie. You take amazing care of Gizmo and he knows you love him.
 
@Osha
Couldn't wait. +3.5 93

I looked over and he was drooling a bit. I panicked. I think he was just sleeping soundly and he will drool a little every once in a while. Oh well, better safe than sorry.
:bighug::bighug:

Ah yes, we are hovering helicopter kitty parents. No harm in testing. I am happy Gizmo is in a safe number. :cat:
 
+5 103

What a strange cycle. That jump at +3.5. Anyways, I think he is done for the night but am going to give it one more hour.
 
+6 110

We are done. He has had enough. I am tired. Slathered his ears up with ointment (poor baby :(). The good thing is they "heal" almost overnight. I am also getting much better at testing closer to the edge of the ear.

He had a great run today!

See ya'll bright and early.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top