12/25/14 Keiko AMPS 155

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Maria, I saw your other post too. Since Keiko gave you a 74 on this dose a few days ago, I would take my time increasing. As for increase amount, a one unit increase over 10'units is the same as a .5u increase on 5 units, but we like to take into consideration the type of nadirs you are getting. I would stick to .5U increases if you are still seeing blue or green, when you do need to increase. It doesn't make sense to decide on an increase based on one curve tomorrow, he could bounce then.

As for pet sitters, most people lower the dose a bit for safety, but it depends on whether the sitter can get tests in. You could print off the Handling Low Numbers sticky for the pet sitter it they are testing. When are you leaving and for how long?
 
Hi Maria!!!

Hot20Chocolate20Kitty.jpg

Merry Christmas!
 
Thanks everyone. Love the xmas card Marje & Gracie!
Wendy & Neko I'm leaving next Wednesday (31). I could keep him on the current dose until I get back (11 units twice a day). He's having some higher numbers today. I did an Alphatrak curve. I'll have to translate the numbers. His low was about 211 human which was the AMPS. He has always been high in the am. Now he seems to reverse or stay at a plateau.
Keiko & Maria
 
you can get a rough translation from AT to human glucometer #s by multiplying the AT # times 0.75. So the 179 x 0.75 = 134 (approximately).

To go the other way, from human glucomter to AT (if you need to give your vet that info), you would add 35%. the 211 + 135% = 284.

A lot of people find that it's more useful to get the sprinkling of midcycle tests combined with the preshot tests instead of doing a curve one day. If it's a bounce day the information is useless because for Lantus dosing, you want to know the LOW points, ie, how low the dose can take the cat, rather than the high numbers. Just something for you to consider.

What does it mean on the spreadsheet when you say "Alphatrak curve above." Is that on the spreadsheet somewhere?
 
Yes. Alphatrak curves are from row 4 to row 127. I'll convert the Alphatrak soon. I do the curves for the vet. She does not have confidence in human meter readings with cats.
Thank you!
 
you can get a rough translation from AT to human glucometer #s by multiplying the AT # times 0.75. So the 179 x 0.75 = 134 (approximately).

To go the other way, from human glucomter to AT (if you need to give your vet that info), you would add 35%. the 211 + 135% = 284.

A lot of people find that it's more useful to get the sprinkling of midcycle tests combined with the preshot tests instead of doing a curve one day. If it's a bounce day the information is useless because for Lantus dosing, you want to know the LOW points, ie, how low the dose can take the cat, rather than the high numbers. Just something for you to consider.

What does it mean on the spreadsheet when you say "Alphatrak curve above." Is that on the spreadsheet somewhere?
I hope you got my message. I have the alphatrak curve in human equivalent. It looks good!
thank you.
 
row numbers are only available to the person who owns the spreadsheet.

just saw your last post. I don't think you can reliably convert from AT to human or vice versa - we've had people do comparisons and it isn't consistent. I was giving you that approximate formula above just for your own info, but i wouldn't count on them as being accurate. You want to compare AT to AT and human to human glucometer numbers. Does that make sense?

I think if you have days (rows) that are AT in the midst of mostly human tests, I'd just note it in the spreadsheet comments. It's going to be very confusing to have them mixed up in the ss. Part of what we look at is color coding over the past 3 or 5 days, and if the tests are both AT and human in the ss they can't really be compared.

ah, just saw your other last post. hahahaha i'm apparently taking too long to post. ;-)
 
With ATs, the important number is 68. That's your cut-off for Keiko earning a dose decrease and the point where you want to give carbs, equivalent to the 50 on a human glucometer. Normal numbers on ATs are about 68-160ish. We don't have exact numbers to refer to, other than the 68.
 
With ATs, the important number is 68. That's your cut-off for Keiko earning a dose decrease and the point where you want to give carbs, equivalent to the 50 on a human glucometer. Normal numbers on ATs are about 68-160ish. We don't have exact numbers to refer to, other than the 68.
Hi - Clarification - I keep the AT at the top part of the SS and the human at the bottom, the divider is a turquoise row. I'll remove the converted numbers from the SS. Thank you for your help!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top