12/26 Mikey PMPS 312 +1 353 +2 286 +3 195 +4 203

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marycatmom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...23-3-312-dosing-question.130386/#post-1340768

Good Morning!

I hope everyone is having a relaxing day after Christmas/Boxing Day. After reading the protocol quote Marje posted on yesterday's condo, I decided that, Mikey being Mikey, I would bend the rules. I upped his dose back to .1, even though it had been five rather than six cycles. I didn't see anything good at that 2 drop dose, so I moved ahead. I also upped his carbs to a 10% food. Of course, I made sure he would eat the food before I shot the .1 dose. The protocol would have me raise the dose by more, but since he tanked a .1, I didn't. As I like to say, "Mikey, Mikey, Mikey!" He's dropping a bit fast here at +2, so I gave him a bit of HC to try to slow him down. I want blues and greens, but I don't want a bounce. I'll be here most of the day, and when I'm not, Don will be, so we'll keep a careful eye. Meanwhile, all 5 P's are in place, and Mikey is a seriously happy camper. He loves school vacation. Unlimited petting!
 
I think we have a yellow/blue surf going on. I will probably test again in a hour, then lay off, if things are stable. I need to get to the store to get more 10% food. I'm hoping this .1 dose/10% carbs food will give us some decent numbers, no bouncing, and lots of stability. Calorie free chocolate and world peace would be nice too. lol
 
This is where what you've been saying finally hits home! lol He's down to 119 at +5, so I'm giving him a bit more HC to slow him again. I am so at a loss with this! 2 drops isn't enough insulin, but .1, which is 3 drops, may turn out to be too much! I'll keep monitoring him until he stabilizes. At least he's not in any danger. If anyone is about to ask, yes I have tons of strips, HC, karo, honey, MC, LC, ABCDEFG.... Mikey, Mikey, Mikey! Ok, I'm going to start giving him the "you are a cat not a ball" lecture.
 
If anyone is around and has time, I'd be grateful to have you look over Mikey's AM cycle with the new dose and food, and tell me if there's anything I should be doing differently tonight. Many thanks!
 
We don't usually pull out the HC until they drop below 50 but I understand you're trying to keep him from going too low and then bouncing back high again

Maybe try something MC to see if it's enough to slow him down without adding so many carbs that he goes right back up high again?

Mikey, Mikey, Mikey!! One more time!....THIS is a BALL:
sport_tennis_ball_01.gif


THIS is a CAT:
graphics-cats-955866.gif


YOU are a cat!!...LOL
 
Thanks, Julie and Chris. What do you mean when you say MC? I'm already feeding him 10%, which I'd consider MC, so that I can give him the "super-high" dose of .1.
2 drops and he's too high. 3 drops (.1) and I have to worry about him diving. Mikey, Mikey, Mikey!

I'm showing him your illustration, Chris. Please, listen this time, Mikey!
 
Below 10% is considered LC. Up to around 15% is MC and above 15% is HC. However, a lot depends on how carb sensitive YOUR cat is. These are general ranges and may differ for Mikey.
 
Considering how he handled the HC today when he was dropping too fast, would you use HC or MC, if he drops like that tonight? I have 11% and 12% on hand, but nothing higher until you hit actual HC.
 
Great job today Mary. Love that blue surf. :cool: There can be small differences from batch to batch, so a 10% might be 11% one day and that 12% could be 11%. They are all pretty close. What percent is your HC? Some are really high.
 
Thanks, Wendy. My HC is the FF Gravy Lovers Turkey, which is not on the food chart. The other FF Gravy Lovers flavors run from 20% to 22%.
 
I know I've broken every rule in the book today, and I just broke another one. I'm give Mikey a bit of HC again, because he dropped about 90 points in the last hour. My guess is that the carbs in the 12% and 13% I have wouldn't be enough to stop this, and I really, really, really want to avoid yet another bounce. I suspect that Mikey is very sensitive to insulin and not super sensitive to carbs, but I may be all wrong. So for a summary of today's offenses: 1. Raised the dose after 5 cycles instead of 6. 2. Raised the dose by less than .1 units instead of .25 or.5 units. 3. Gave HC food when his BG was not 50. I know none of these things are grave offenses, but did I blow it? I do so love blue.

I will now scroll up and review Chris's cat vs. ball lesson with Mikey. Seems to have worked this morning. Obviously, you're a good teacher, Chris.
 
LOL...in this dance, there really aren't any hard and fast rules.....ECID and each of us has to find what works best with each of our cats and just try to work within the framework of the protocol

Let me know if Mikey needs more examples...I'll see if I can find more
icon_lol.gif
 
The teeny tiny bit of HC he had (He turned down most of it.) seems to have caused him to be flat! He's 203 at +4, which I'd say is basically the same as he was at +3. I didn't really want to feed that, but he was hungry, and he's short on calories for today, so I gave him a bit of leftover 8%. I'm watching the calories, because he still needs to gain nearly a pound. He actually lost a bit again when I got him switched over to canned LC. When he was on dry, I would put out food twice a day, let him eat until he was full, then pull it up. Until he got FD, he regulated his weight perfectly on this. Now with me spacing out his meals, I have to make sure he gets enough in the course of the day. The Friskies can says he should get one can per day, and the calorie charts agree, but he seems to have a faster metabolism than that, so I need to give him extra to even get him to maintain, let alone gain. Of course all this may change, once he's in decent numbers more of the time. After all, Mikey wouldn't like for me to have things figured out. He greatly apposes that idea.

Any further examples of the cat vs. ball concept would be greatly appreciated. We seem to have come to a critical point in the lesson and extra reinforcement would be most helpful! Thank you!
 
Well, he seems to be surfing between blue and yellow. Hopefully, he's coming down slowly enough to avoid a bounce. Chris's lessons do seem to be helping. I'm off to bed after testing him once more. Any opinions as what time I need to set the alarm for to test him during the night? Poor baby has very pricked ears!
 
I think you should probably get at least 1 more test in tonight....he's still dropping

I'd get one in an hour and see if he's starting to level out or continuing to drop
 
Have you got some Neosporin (or Polysporin) with pain relief ointment to put on his ears? It'll help them heal

I think in the future, unless you're shooting at a low PS number, you can get by with waiting and getting a +2 instead of getting a test every hour. We've found that it's a really helpful test in figuring out where they might be going later in the cycle.

If the +2 is about the same as the PS, usually it's a pretty normal Lantus cycle that gradually comes down and then starts to rise in the last half

If the +2 is lower than the PS, that's a good indication that you really need to plan getting more tests in later in the cycle

If it's higher, that can signal that they're starting a bounce, so could be a good time to take a break on poking.

Of course we have to remember that ECID rule, but generally, that +2 is as close to a crystal ball as we get!
 
He's pretty much flat at +5. I'll get a test on my way to bed, and if he hasn't risen a good bit, I'll probably set the alarm and get up and test him. Any other cat would probably be fine with one more test, but Mikey is Mikey of Mikey, Mikey, Mikey!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top