12/28 - Bandit - AMPS 474 +3 420 +8 513 PMPS 380 +3 240 +5 220

Bandit's Mom

Member Since 2019
Bandit has been super-duper high today and only going higher!

She ate a spoonful (maybe less) of her sister's HC (40%) kibble (Whiskas) around 5am (3 hours before AMPS). Could that have caused such a spike?

Is it new dose wonkiness?

REALLY SPOOKED to see such high numbers!
 
Kibble can definitely raise the numbers like that. It can take up to 24 hours for dry food to leave their system. NDW usually happens right after you increase the dose. Don't let it worry you, she'll come back down once the kibble leaves her system. :bighug::bighug:

Thanks! But just 1 spoon of HC kibble can do this?

(Btw, Bandit is not fully transitioned to canned food. She is on 16% carb kibble and canned food whenever she deigns to have some!)
 
If it is 40% kibble, I think that would cause a big jump in BG. There is a chance it could be part bounce because she went lower last night after the 272, but it doesn't look like she normally bounces that high. I think it's mostly the kibble.
 
Keep working on removing that kibble - it's like feeding them pure sugar - one Temptation treat can send Luci's BG soaring (I keep a bag way up in the cupboard for emergencies) and I call it 'Kitty Crack' it is really just like a diabetic eating a candy bar to raise their BG's quickly...
 
Yes, it will definitely raise those numbers, Bandit stay out of your sisters food:eek: that why I feed both my cats the same thing so you don’t have to worry about watching over them, he will come back down
 
Keep working on removing that kibble - it's like feeding them pure sugar - one Temptation treat can send Luci's BG soaring (I keep a bag way up in the cupboard for emergencies) and I call it 'Kitty Crack' it is really just like a diabetic eating a candy bar to raise their BG's quickly...

It is work in progress. Bandit is up there among the pickiest of picky cats. I'm from India and we have very limited cat food options. Bandit will not eat the canned food we get here except once in a few days for a change. I think she doesn't care for fish and most canned food here is fish based. The chicken-based ones come with gravy and are 20%+ carbs and so as bad as the kibble.

We tried giving her boiled egg as a treat and she wouldn't even look at it. I'm quite sure she is going to turn her nose up at home-cooked chicken too!
 
Yes, it will definitely raise those numbers, Bandit stay out of your sisters food:eek: that why I feed both my cats the same thing so you don’t have to worry about watching over them, he will come back down

We usually feed them separately - even before Bandit was diagnosed - her sister is a total foodie and eats both their food. So we feed them separately and usually make sure that one isn't eating the other's food. Last night was a rare and costly goof-up! :(
 
There is a phenomenon we sometimes see, where a cat goes high before they go low, as they are breaking a bounce. She’s dropping fast tonight. Can you get a later test in tonight. Maybe a +5. Not sure she will be dangerously low, but likely blue.

You had asked me about things that can make it harder to regulate a cat. Something that causes infection or inflammation, like bad teeth or chronic pancreatitis are two such things. Other secondary conditions like hyperthyroidism, heart disease, glucose toxicity or other endocrine conditions like acromegaly can cause insulin resistance . It can be done, just harder.
 
There is a phenomenon we sometimes see, where a cat goes high before they go low, as they are breaking a bounce. She’s dropping fast tonight. Can you get a later test in tonight. Maybe a +5. Not sure she will be dangerously low, but likely blue.

You had asked me about things that can make it harder to regulate a cat. Something that causes infection or inflammation, like bad teeth or chronic pancreatitis are two such things. Other secondary conditions like hyperthyroidism, heart disease, glucose toxicity or other endocrine conditions like acromegaly can cause insulin resistance . It can be done, just harder.

Thank you!

I had taken Bandit to the vet 3 nights back to get some tartar removed from her teeth. Vet said she had some gingivitis and asked us to apply an antibiotic gel on her gums for 3 days which we have been doing. He's also asked us to test her for hyperthyroidism with the caveat that in India we don't have feline specific tests for thyroid and the human tests they run man not give us clear results. Not sure if that makes sense?

Bandit invariable begins and ends the day in the 320-380 range and dips to around 250-270 at night. But because she grazes she doesn't go lower. The kibble she's on doesn't help!
 
Thank you!

I had taken Bandit to the vet 3 nights back to get some tartar removed from her teeth. Vet said she had some gingivitis and asked us to apply an antibiotic gel on her gums for 3 days which we have been doing. He's also asked us to test her for hyperthyroidism with the caveat that in India we don't have feline specific tests for thyroid and the human tests they run man not give us clear results. Not sure if that makes sense?

Bandit invariable begins and ends the day in the 320-380 range and dips to around 250-270 at night. But because she grazes she doesn't go lower. The kibble she's on doesn't help!

Any chance the gel has sugar in it?
 
I meant wet eggs. My previous kitty loved to lick husband plate after breakfast. He always left some eggs for him (scrambled) and he put pepper on them. Smokey loved it.

We are vegetarian. So she's never shown any interest in our food! In fact, she doesn't much care for food (or change) which is why transitioning her is such a challenge.

Ironically, our civvie has started eating more healthy thanks to our attempts to get Bandit to eat wet food. She is less kibble and all the wet food, boiled eggs etc that Bandit refuses to touch!!! :)
 
There is a phenomenon we sometimes see, where a cat goes high before they go low, as they are breaking a bounce. She’s dropping fast tonight. Can you get a later test in tonight. Maybe a +5. Not sure she will be dangerously low, but likely blue.

You had asked me about things that can make it harder to regulate a cat. Something that causes infection or inflammation, like bad teeth or chronic pancreatitis are two such things. Other secondary conditions like hyperthyroidism, heart disease, glucose toxicity or other endocrine conditions like acromegaly can cause insulin resistance . It can be done, just harder.

She was 220 at +5. 406 this morning at AMPS.
I don't think I can expect to see results without addressing her food situation. Hopefully the YA kibble coming in the first week of Jan will help.
 
Back
Top