12/28 Myagi amps 249, +2.5 206, +7 140, +9.5 239, pmps 312 incrs, +3 289, +6 282

Status
Not open for further replies.
Glad he's eating good today. Hopefully the flat yellow cycle last night means he'll get back some green today. Personally I'd be thinking increase to .25 soon if he doesn't.
I certainly hope that doesn't end up being necessary. He failed his reduction to 1 drop, but with him being so bouncy I would think it's a little early to give up on 0.1 yet.... ?
 
I think i want to hold his dose. Seems like very slowly improving. Don't think he needs increase. I'll try to sleep and get a +3 and +6 tonight. I also need to conserve test strips as a practical matter. So advise on proceeding is appreciated. Take into account I need to soon go back to 4 - 5 tests day. (Need to ensure I have what I need in a crisis or big drop). We are theoretically trying TR. I also need to push at work so even that might be challenging. I don't see the point in an increase when he's seems to really want off the juice and 0.25 prob won't even show a whole cycle without earning a reduction. But.... you all know more than I do. So guidance is greatly appreciated.
@Chris & China @Wendy&Neko @JeffJ @Kris & Teasel @Barbara & Uncle @Doodles & Karen @Tracey&Jones
@Marje and Gracie
@Sandi & Whisper
Thanks!!! :bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
If your gut is telling you to hold it, it's OK to listen, but if he's not getting into at least low blue numbers tonight, I think you should really consider going back up to .25

Keeping him on a dose that's not getting him where he needs to be just encourages glucose toxicity to set in and then you may end up having to give him an even higher dose.

Right now you're home and able to test to keep him safe, right? I'd take advantage of it while you can
 
If your gut is telling you to hold it, it's OK to listen, but if he's not getting into at least low blue numbers tonight, I think you should really consider going back up to .25

Keeping him on a dose that's not getting him where he needs to be just encourages glucose toxicity to set in and then you may end up having to give him an even higher dose.

Right now you're home and able to test to keep him safe, right? I'd take advantage of it while you can
Ok. I do understand what you said and l will take the increase at pmps shortly. But I don't understand why he'd go to 1 drop and then back up. It makes me sad. Feel like somehow I screwed it up for him.
 
You didn't screw it up. :bighug: You just followed what the number stold you to do. Going up and down in dose is what almost everyone has to do. You have to remember that Myagi is leading the dance, not you. Your job is to follow.
 
Thanks
You didn't screw it up. :bighug: You just followed what the number stold you to do. Going up and down in dose is what almost everyone has to do. You have to remember that Myagi is leading the dance, not you. Your job is to follow.
Thanks Wendy. @Wendy&Neko maybe tomorrow I'll feel better about it - doing what he needs and following his lead. Right now I honestly just feel like a failure and scared about the drops that are coming. :bighug:
 
I'm so jealous of those nice blue nadirs. Some cats like Leo "fight the blue nadir". And those minor doses are great. You just about have it dialed in.

I'm not familiar with your BG tester. Many use Relion and strips from Walmart. I think they may be $0.10 each or less. But if you're lucky, there could be a remission in Myagi's future.
 
I'm so jealous of those nice blue nadirs. Some cats like Leo "fight the blue nadir". And those minor doses are great. You just about have it dialed in.

I'm not familiar with your BG tester. Many use Relion and strips from Walmart. I think they may be $0.10 each or less. But if you're lucky, there could be a remission in Myagi's future.
I got it from dcin - they saved my boy, and me too as a result. Turns out several other people here use it also. Adw sells it and the strips. It takes the teeniest drop of blood, which is great. thanks for the encouragement! I'm hoping for that remission Jeff! From your lips..... :bighug:
 
With such small doses, it's possible the BG variation is from food. I'm hoping the B12 and partial regulation starts having an effect on the neuropathy within a month (of both regulation + B12).
 
With such small doses, it's possible the BG variation is from food. I'm hoping the B12 and partial regulation starts having an effect on the neuropathy within a month (of both regulation + B12).
@JeffJ I haven't updated his signature info on the neuropathy cause I don't want to jinx his progress. But he's got significantly increased energy and he's jumping to window seat many times daily (which allows him to cross to bed independently :p). But, he is still on hind hocks. I too hope for increased improvement! Another upside is he's so much happier going potty cause he doesn't have to "lay" in the litter anymore!

On the food front, that would create a hot mess for us since his daily food is 0 to 3 carb. Lol
 
Good progress. Neuropathy takes time. Regulation + B12 can fix it. That's good that Myagi still has good mobility and is active. That will help stimulate the rear legs - which is part of the therapy to heal.

Yes, the litter situation and neuropathy is bad. Leo used to get pee soaked litter on his hocks. It dried into concrete. Challenging to clean, and not pleasant for the kitteh either.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top