? 12/3/19 Charlotte +11 82; amps 66; 1 drop; +1.75 45; +2.25 67;+3 62; PMBg 83; +3 41??!! Concern??

Just refed her gl/pate mix before leaving for work. My daughter will feed again same thing for +5 and then leave with pate and chicken treats at +6 til I get home later. Hope all goes well. :). Have a good everyone!!
 
So it is OTJ trial then, correct? BG before am and on meals and then 3 hours later? All values must remain below 100, correct?

If we are simply following the rules, Charlotte earned a reduction, which puts her straight into trial!
I would feel better if someone else came and stated YES - no shot tonight.
You do want a green to begin the trial . . .and you would only check BG twice daily, at the normal preshot times, and log AMBG and PMBG numbers.

You look good to go to me, but I hope a more senior and or confident helper comes along:):D
Congrats btw!
 
If we are simply following the rules, Charlotte earned a reduction, which puts her straight into trial!
I would feel better if someone else came and stated YES - no shot tonight.
You do want a green to begin the trial . . .and you would only check BG twice daily, at the normal preshot times, and log AMBG and PMBG numbers.

You look good to go to me, but I hope a more senior and or confident helper comes along:):D
Congrats btw!
Thanks! Her shot was due a half hour ago. What happens if no one responds soon?
 
I say, go ahead and start the trial. It is a little "early" in that she hasn't gone green for very long, but Charlotte does seem determined! Worst case scenario, her numbers trend upwards and you have to start her up again with a little insulin support, in the meantime you can get a few nights of restful sleep (other than worrying about the trial, of course!).
So when you say start her up again if her numbers trend upward, last dose I left off with which is a drop? Or higher?
 
Well, I'm voting for the OTJ trial myself: I don't know if anyone has posted the instructions to your condo or not - so here they are:
Here are the instructions for an OTJ Trail.

Instructions for starting the OTJ trial
Start the trial on the next green pre shot.
If he/she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If he/she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!
Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. He/she may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.
After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!
Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him/her the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.
Good luck with the trial!!!
Once he/she is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to change his/her feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him/her monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he/she seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), test his/her blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!
 
I'm not sure that you could shoot any less insulin so I think it's OTJ trial time. Here are the instructions:

  • If he/she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If he/she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!
  • Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. He/she may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.
  • After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!
Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him/her the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.
Good luck with the trial!!!

Once he/she is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to change his/her feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him/her monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he/she seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), test his/her blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!
 
IMHO Charlotte has sent you a message that she is ready to try a go without the juice. I'd skip the shot tonight and test a couple of times to see if she stays green, start your OTJ trial tomorrow AM. It will take a few days to totally empty the depot but she's not giving you much choice since she dives to the 40s with even a drop.

Let the games begin! :D
 
Have you ever tested any of your other non diabetic cats? 40's is OK for a cat not on insulin. If you are worried about remnants of a depot, you can give her a little snack. And congrats on such an exciting day! Go Charlotte. :D[/


Ok! Thanks. I had tested a few of mine but never got that low- 50s but not 40s. I’ll leave her be.
 
You go Charlotte! We are cheering you on!

upload_2019-12-3_21-50-51.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2019-12-3_21-50-51.png
    upload_2019-12-3_21-50-51.png
    215.1 KB · Views: 207
Back
Top