12/30 Ivana AMPS=310, +2=331, +5=315, +7=355, PMPS=302, +2=342, +5=338

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara & Ivana (GA)

Member Since 2015
Yesterday's post

Ivana finally broke her bounce yesterday afternoon. Paws crossed she hasn't bounced straight away, although from the later numbers in her PM cycle and also the AMPS and +2 from this morning, I suspect she might be. I will get a +5 to confirm.

Question: Should I increase her dose now, or wait til this bounce breaks? I'm thinking increase now, as clearly the 1.25 isn't taking her to normal numbers, but I'm worried that if I do that now that she might go too low once the bounce breaks. Help please!
 
She really could be starting a new bounce so I'd be hesitant with increase for another cycle or two. That said Tara, it's just my opinion and hope more experienced eyes will have some good advise for you.
 
Yes, I would increase. She didn't see green at this dose and that is the goal.

Nothing wrong with increasing during a bounce. Here is one of my favourite posts by Libby on that topic. It's just best not to increase on the cycle when they are breaking the bounce (if you can), because the dose increase on top of the bounce breaking can mean a lot of downward momentum.
 
Yes, I would increase. She didn't see green at this dose and that is the goal.

Nothing wrong with increasing during a bounce. Here is one of my favourite posts by Libby on that topic. It's just best not to increase on the cycle when they are breaking the bounce (if you can), because the dose increase on top of the bounce breaking can mean a lot of downward momentum.

Thanks Wendy, that cleared up some of my confusion.
 
I agree with Wendy - you can see clearly that this dose is getting her into the 120's at best. With Tight Regulation, your goal would be greens - and since she's just started on a new bounce, it's perfectly ok to go ahead and increase.
 
Will definitely increase to 1.5u as of next shot tonight. I'm not working tomorrow so will be able to monitor her tonight and tomorrow. We were planning to go out tomorrow night for new years eve, but we'll see how she goes I guess.

Another question: At what point should we consider an insulin change? She's been on Lantus for 4 months, and I know there's been some ups and downs with it, but she's still nowhere near close to becoming regulated. How much longer should we give the Lantus a go before considering a switch to Levemir or even a non-depot insulin (ProZinc?) - maybe something else would suit her better? Willing to do whatever it takes! As you can tell, patience is not my strong suit, so feel free to tell me to just hang on if that would be the best thing.
 
We usually suggest giving an insulin 6 months to see how it can do. I don't have experience with Prozinc, but I do like Levemir. Some cats (not all) go flatter on it. Neko did, Sheba not so much.
 
Ivana's SS reminds me a bit of Walter's. Obviously, they are two totally different cats, but I think you might have lost some momentum in early December. She actually had some stretches of good numbers in late November/early December and then took a step back when you had to reduce her dose for the pet-sitter.

So I would give her the dosecrease and see where that takes her. 1.5U seemed to be a good dose for her before.
 
I agree with @Mandarin'sMom - lets see what this increase can do. It's not uncommon to have to dance up and down around a dose until they finally decide it's a good one. Regardless of type of insulin.
 
And an update on Midori the chicken - she has been camped in the loungeroom, and is still very much not herself. Not eating, but at least she's drinking a bit now. I was given a tip today to give her a steam bath, which is basically me filling up the bathroom sink with hot water and standing her on the edge of the sink with her butt over the water so the steam gets onto her tummy and butt. I'm not sure exactly what it's supposed to do, but she seemed to perk up a bit afterwards, so she had two steam baths today. Here she is having cuddles with my hubby just a little while ago, she fell asleep with her head in his armpit haha

2015-12-30 20.42.10.jpg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top