12/31 Cleo AMPS=500 +4.5=478 *Question: one pupil larger than other?*

Status
Not open for further replies.

Delia

Member Since 2014
Yesterday

Tonight Cleo earns a reduction, immediately after a dose increase. PMPS was 211 so I shot without fear. I never expected to see that 46 when I tested bg before going to bed.
Fortunately I was in good hands and Cleo is safe. but her values today are so high...
 
I've noticed that Cleo has one pupil larger than other. I'm really worried about it, today is the first of the year, so the vet didn't work.
I have read that this is always a symptom of something serious. I'm very scared!
I'm uploading a photo to let you see what I mean.
 
Cleo.jpg
 
hi Delia

I've just had a Google, it's called anisocoria and can be caused by quite a number of different things - some more serious than others. One thing all the sites I looked at said about this condition is that you should get to the vet asap. Can you get CLEO to an emergency vet?

Also try to note if she has any other symptoms particularly pain - could be shown by pawing at her head - or confusion.

Deep breaths there's no point in getting panicked before you know what you're dealing with. Sending vines that it turns out to be nothing too serious.

Serryn
 
I also noticed that with my kitty, Blackie, and took her to the vet to have her checked out. Turns out that she may be going blind in that eye, and unfortunately there's nothing I can do about it. You may want to take Cleo to the vet to have her sight checked out. Not sure if that's one of the symptoms of FD or not. Good luck!
 
I have just returned from the emergency clinic. They said that Cleo is well and that can be a problem related to diabetes. Cleo behaves normally, is lively, plays and purrs. The ophthalmologist fixed me a visit for January 8th. It's a lot of time.
 
Neko has one pupil larger than the other, especially when her pupils are fully dilated. I've had a couple of vets notice it and comment on it, but do nothing more. She does have acromegaly (benign tumor on the pituitary glad) which is near the optic chiasm, so that is the possible cause in Neko's case.
 
Your Cleo sure is cute :) I'm so glad it wasn't anything of immediate concern, so much better to be safe than sorry on that one! Try not to give yourself a heart attack before the visit with the ophthalmologist :bighug: will be thinking of you
 
I'm clad you got it checked out, :bighug: I know that it is a long time to wait for the appointment.

Cleo looks like my GA Cleo.Scritches to her and hugs for you. Hang in there!
 
Whew, Delia. Glad you got Cleo to the vet. Peace of mind.

She sure is a gorgeous girl. I love those colors, especially the splash of caramel on her face. A stunner.

Years ago, maybe 10 or so, my Charlie had an episode with his right pupil being dilated. Just the right. At the start of a weekend, of course. Never knew what it was. It resolved just as spontaneously as it appeared and by Monday, fine.

You've seen a vet. You'll see a specialist. Cleo is acting fine. Breathe.

And keep us posted.

Light for you both.

Marilyn and Polly
 
she is beautiful! I'm glad you got the vet to check her out. Like Neko, my punkin had acromegaly. His pupils sometimes blew open and became fixed, then would sometimes retract again. The pituitary gland sits right over the optic chiasm (tracks) and that is all on top of the sinuses. The latest study on acromegaly is that it may be the cause of diabetes in as many as 25-30% of cats. I don't know that is the case with Cleo, and she certainly doesn't have the high dose that goes along with most cats with acromegaly, but i thought i'd mention it. We don't even suggest cats get tested for acro until they have passed 6u per shot, so again, i'm not suggesting Cleo has it, but it's a very small possibility that might explain her pupils.

Sending you our best healing thoughts from across the world.:bighug:
 
Thank you all for your words! You are all so kind! I hope the dilated pupil returns to normal. Otherwise I will wait to see the specialist trying not to give myself a heart attack :);)

I wish you all a very happy new year!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top