12/31 CRYSTAL 414 AMPS +9.5 254 PMPS 376 - is this okay?

Status
Not open for further replies.

suki & crystal (GA)

Member Since 2014
Can someone have a look at Crystal's SS please - she had wide levels yesterday, starting at red, hitting a yellow but then back to pink, as she is this morning. Currently at 10.5u BID with a dose increase to 11u tomorrow planned - okay? Her breathing is constantly noisy now, even worse when she is alseep but she seems okay in herself as she's just had a playful tussle with Tiggy for the favoured spot in the sun. When I take her next week for her IAA test I'll ask for all her X-ray and echography results to be printed off and get the vet to listen to her breathing to see if anything is wrong or if its just the acromegaly stridor.

Best wishes to everyone for a Happy New Year, and good health for all our beloved kitties (and of course their carers)

Suki & Crystal
 
I think your SS looks fine. The red yesterday was a bit of "New Dose Wonkiness" (NDW) whereby when you increase the dose, you get some higher numbers before they come back down.

I would encourage you to increase Crystal's dose tonight. With these flat pink cycles, I think you are safe to increase every 4 cycles until you start seeing some better numbers.

What kind of echo do you want? An echocardiogram for her heart? If you plan to get x-rays for Crystal's lungs (usually to rule out asthma or any growth in the upper respiratory system), there will be an x-ray of her heart. The radiograph will tell you if her heart is of normal size. An echo will give you entirely different information and is more about motion abnormalities (i.e., are all parts of the heart beating properly.)
 
Hi Sienne, thanks for your reply and I'll follow your advice and go for an increase tonight then.

About her tests, sorry I didn't make it clear, Crystal has already had various tests done in Octber when I first took her to this new vet (her acromegaly was dx later in November). She's had an x-ray taken and I think an echography of her abdomen, plus usual blood tests but unfortunately the vet didn't actually show me any of the results. With all that has happened to her, it's hard to remember the vet's exact prognosis so I just want a printed version of the results as I need to know exactly what she's had done in case I've missed something important.

Suki & Crystal
 
I agree with Sienne on the increase. Yellow is nice but blue is better.

I'll be interested to hear what the echo results say. Acromegaly can impact the heart so getting an echo of the heart at some time may be worth while. I had one done for Neko a year and a half ago and am thinking about getting another one done this spring.
 
I'd stick with the 4 cycles and increase plan until you're seeing some nice solid blues in there. It's going to take a while for her to get used to lower ranges of blood sugar - her body thinks pink 300's are the norm and it's going to be expected that she'll hit lower numbers and then immediately bounce from them.

Hang in there though - she'll get there! :)
 
Hi Wendy and Julie, thanks for advice, I'm at 11 units now. Just made vet appointment for next Thursday morning. I've been out all day so not much chance to test Crystal throughout the day, will post tomorrow
Suki and Crystal
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top