? 12 Aug | Girlie | AMPS 556; +2=236; +2:50 122; +4=124; +5=196 Bouncy baby...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Girlie's mom

Very Active Member
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-aug-girlie-amps-709-2-724-4-713-sigh.182070/

Well, she's out of black, but a 320 point drop is a bit too big, isn't it, so I gave her some medium carb food. She was already going for food, so I mixed a tsp of 9 carb food with her LC 3 carb food. We'll see how she goes!

Today she has to poop, or I have to give her a little enema suppository. Three days ago: deluge. Today so far: no joy. She keeps me on my toes! I started giving her the Cisapride again, but only 0.25 ml, and no Miralax so far. I was hoping the pumpkin might help, but maybe it takes a little longer to do so?
 
Good call on the MC! Do you have HC on hand if she keeps dropping?
Yes I do - I have HC, MC, LC, glucose syrup (works well), and honey (not so adept at that one: she doesn't like it at all).

Goodness knows I've been here often enough in the past few weeks, but - clearly - the anesthesia during my most recent surgery fried my brain! Just about to revisit previous posts and copy and paste into a master document, but do I test 15 or 30 min after giving the food or wait til the next test time on the hour? I know I test 15 min after giving glucose...

Brain like a sieve...sigh...
 
Yes I do - I have HC, MC, LC, glucose syrup (works well), and honey (not so adept at that one: she doesn't like it at all).

Goodness knows I've been here often enough in the past few weeks, but - clearly - the anesthesia during my most recent surgery fried my brain! Just about to revisit previous posts and copy and paste into a master document, but do I test 15 or 30 min after giving the food or wait til the next test time on the hour? I know I test 15 min after giving glucose...

Brain like a sieve...sigh...
20 minutes - but I do 30 minutes because the first 10 minutes is me posting on here then feeding.
 
9% is just higher low carb food. Do you have anything in the 11-15%, which is what is MC?
 
9% is just higher low carb food. Do you have anything in the 11-15%, which is what is MC?
Oh boy: 122 at +2:50 min. Just gave her a tsp of 15 carb fancy feast. I'll test again in 20 (or 30?) or should I consider glucose syrup now? That will bring her up quickly. She also has a food saturation level which she might be reaching soon as she had a fair bit for breakfast. She just cleaned the plate of the 1 tsp of 15 carb food, though.
 
9% is just higher low carb food. Do you have anything in the 11-15%, which is what is MC?
Wendy, what would be considered HC, then? Anything over 15 carbs? And does it matter how high it goes as long as it's wet food? Just checking my stores and thinking ahead...
 
Over 15% is high carb. It can make a difference how high the carbs, ECID of course. Neko was fairly carb sensitive. At one point I used the Weruva Grandma's Chicken Soup (21%) for HC, but it sent her numbers soaring. You really only want HC to raise the numbers 30 or so points. So I ended up with the 16-17% Cats in the Kitchen pouches which did the job for her. Some cats need 20-25% carbs to bring them up.
 
Over 15% is high carb. It can make a difference how high the carbs, ECID of course. Neko was fairly carb sensitive. At one point I used the Weruva Grandma's Chicken Soup (21%) for HC, but it sent her numbers soaring. You really only want HC to raise the numbers 30 or so points. So I ended up with the 16-17% Cats in the Kitchen pouches which did the job for her. Some cats need 20-25% carbs to bring them up.
Thanks for that, Wendy. When I can leave the house, I'll check those out.

138 at +3:15; gave her another tsp of 15 carb FF; chowing down on that. Should I test in 20 mins or wait til her +4, do you think?
 
Glad Girlie's numbers are settling a bit now, you've had a busy morning :coffee::coffee:
Still in my pajamas and no breakfast yet! That's okay - it's a beautiful Saturday and she doesn't care if I haven't gotten dressed yet. :-)

I get so lost in FDMB reading posts, copying relevant info from my and others' posts, that the time just races by...sometimes I think I spend the majority of my life on the FDMB! But it's great to have so many incredibly supportive people here for me on this journey. :bighug:
 
Interesting: she was 128 @ +3:15 (after 1 tsp MC 15 carb FF), and 45 minutes later she was 124 @ +4. Does that tell me that she responds well to MC food to slow her drop and that she might continue to be stable for the rest of the afternoon?

Also, with something like this, should I test every hour or consider her ok to test every 2 hours as usual?

I'm trying to set up some protocols for myself so that I can use them in future with confidence, especially if she tries to do this when all of you wonderful people are sound asleep, although she seems to save her interesting activity for the daytime lately, for which I'm grateful, at this point. :-) She's also hit her food saturation point, so I don't know if she'll eat more food right now.

One other question: this is day 3 with no poo so far (after the straining/vomiting three days ago). I have a Microlax enema I can give her to make her poo, but I'm wondering whether this might upset her BG levels further and whether I should wait until day 4 to do that. Any thoughts?
 
Check again in half an hour. That's a food influenced number at +4. I don't know if I would want to wait an hour with those steep drops happening.
 
Check again in half an hour. That's a food influenced number at +4. I don't know if I would want to wait an hour with those steep drops happening.
187 @ +4:30, but that would also have been food induced as she had some more food at +4. I'll see where she is at +5; she's had enough of food for the moment. Poor little ears! :(
Good thing I just started a new test vile - and this time, it hasn't fallen on a damp cloth so I don't have to throw it out... :-)
 
187 @ +4:30, but that would also have been food induced as she had some more food at +4. I'll see where she is at +5; she's had enough of food for the moment. Poor little ears! :(
Good thing I just started a new test vile - and this time, it hasn't fallen on a damp cloth so I don't have to throw it out... :)
Great plan to test at +5. If same or higher, no need to feed and test in an hour at +6 to get a "clean" number. :)

That's great news on the strips!
 
Great plan to test at +5. If same or higher, no need to feed and test in an hour at +6 to get a "clean" number. :)

That's great news on the strips!
+5 = 196
Good Girlie! Next stop +6.

I wonder if I should do the Microlax enema today or wait until day 4 of no poo? I hate to stress her out today...but being constipated is also no joy. What do you think?

Just curious: how do you deal with feeding your civvies and ensuring that Rex got what was best as a diabetic cat? My civvie, Max, is currently in semi-permanent exile. He's adapting pretty well, considering he's a velcro cat, but I'd be curious to hear how you handled things. I've been considering getting a Sureflap Surefeed microchip feeder, but don't know whether that would work well, and the cost is quite prohibitive here in Australia.
 
+5 = 196
Good Girlie! Next stop +6.

I wonder if I should do the Microlax enema today or wait until day 4 of no poo? I hate to stress her out today...but being constipated is also no joy. What do you think?

Just curious: how do you deal with feeding your civvies and ensuring that Rex got what was best as a diabetic cat? My civvie, Max, is currently in semi-permanent exile. He's adapting pretty well, considering he's a velcro cat, but I'd be curious to hear how you handled things. I've been considering getting a Sureflap Surefeed microchip feeder, but don't know whether that would work well, and the cost is quite prohibitive here in Australia.
I couldn't even think of splitting up the cats. I have 4 cats. I switched all of them to a food Rex could eat. Only Keena had an issue with that so I had to switch him over slowly from a different wet food. I couldn't feed that brand because it was too expensive to feed as meals instead of snacks with dry food as their main source. I took away the dry food in 2 days.

Remind me - why did you need to separate the 2 cats?
 
I couldn't even think of splitting up the cats. I have 4 cats. I switched all of them to a food Rex could eat. Only Keena had an issue with that so I had to switch him over slowly from a different wet food. I couldn't feed that brand because it was too expensive to feed as meals instead of snacks with dry food as their main source. I took away the dry food in 2 days.

Remind me - why did you need to separate the 2 cats?
They now have "play dates", but I separated them because
  • Girlie finds him annoying and she was really sick at the beginning (in and out of hospital after enema, pneumonia, hypo episode)
  • I had to monitor water drunk; whether she'd had a poo; and how much/what she ate
  • MAJOR issues with Girlie not eating enough (until we started her on Mirtazapine): Max is a feline hoover and Girlie is a picky grazer, so getting enough food into her with him around proved almost impossible; she won't push for food at all - she'll just go hungry instead
  • Doing BG testing and giving insulin injections isn't easy with Max around
  • They're both velcro cats, so it becomes a "who can get closer to Darrah?" situation, with Max sitting on Girlie's head if need be.
So that's why she stays with me in my bedroom with the verandah off it that she can go sit on and Max lives in the rest of the house right now. When I have let him in, he'll go up to her and very sweetly start to groom her or just sit next to her and then she'll nip him or swat him to get him to go away. She's always just tolerated him as nice enough but rather annoying: she wasn't happy at all when my flatmate dumped him and I kept him on.

Not sure where we'll go with this, but I'm hoping that I can figure out a way to ensure that a) she's pooping; b) she's getting enough food; and c) she's not drinking excessively even if Max is around. Miracles for sale, anyone? :-)
 
Now I remember. That's a tough situation. Rex is the one I have to watch so he doesn't kick anyone out of their dishes. But after 3 months, I've learned I don't really need to intervene because they go eat out of each other's dish and walk away when they have had enough. Then Tanner can eat at his pleasure (he's the slowest eater).
 
I've just seen a couple of tags for me from your post yesterday. I'll answer them here.
Re the metacam.....the metacam we have out here in Oz is especially for cats and the strength is for cats, whereas the Metacam in the US is the strength used for dogs, but given to cats. I used metacam for about 2 years with Sheba. The only problem I had with it was it needed to be given on a full tummy otherwise it could upset the tummy. However if Girlie is starting to have issues with her kidneys, then It might be wise to look for an alternative.

We don't have Adequan out here that Rhiannon mentioned but I gave Sheba cartrophen injections which were very effective and I thought improved her arthritis. The vet has to give the injections out here. There is usuaally a course of 4 injections which are given weekly then given about every 3 months on an ongoing basis.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top