2/1 Jospeh AMPS-119, +1-113, +4-74, +7-94, +10-99, PMPS-106, +1-108, +4-61

Hey there! Good job getting a test not influenced by food. This could be an active cycle as usually the +1 And +2 would be higher due to a food bump. When it’s the same or lower it could indicate an active cycle so test today for sure.

if you could not feed again and grab a test 2 hours after the last food, that will give a better idea of how this dose is doing for Joseph.
 
Yeah he was a hungry fella thing morning. I have a close eye on him for symptoms and I'll get a test 2 hours post food which will basically be a +4 now. The lower +1 definitely canceled my thoughts of going for a hike today.
 
You got a 50 yesterday, propped up by food.

I think you should have reduced the dose by 0.25U today, Down to 0.25U total. You didn't do that.
Keep monitoring today to see how low the 0.5U dose takes Jospeh. You may need to "feed the curve" to keep him high enough.

Sorry, no hiking for you today. Maybe by moonlight. :p
 
The 50 yesterday was a clean 50. I fed after that point a very small amount. I don't disagree that he is on the edge of a reduction I just don't think he is quite there yet.

+4 was clean and 74. I'm happy with this. Based on yesterday he steadily climbed after +4 so I'm gonna give his ears a break. I'll grab a +7 to make sure nothing wonky happens and I'll still be watching him regardless
 
Remember to FEED THE 40'S. Especially if early in the cycle before nadir.

Jospeh is what we would call a "newly diagnosed diabetic". Protocols don't say that, but as I remember it, when a cat < 1 year since diagnosis qualifies them as being in that "newly diagnosed diabetic" category.

Only signs my diabetic showed at lows were a tiny bit more vocal, begging for food, dilated pupils non-reactive to light. The signs of hypoglycemia can be subtle and overlooked.

Just had a new member over in the Prozinc forum where the vets overdosed the cat, changed the food, and did not reduce the dose, cat had hypo with seizures and ended up in the vet hospital. Twice. She only started posting yesterday. After 'questionable' advice from her vets.

Don't want to see Jospeh going that route.
 
The 50 yesterday was a clean 50. I fed after that point a very small amount. I don't disagree that he is on the edge of a reduction I just don't think he is quite there yet.

+4 was clean and 74. I'm happy with this. Based on yesterday he steadily climbed after +4 so I'm gonna give his ears a break. I'll grab a +7 to make sure nothing wonky happens and I'll still be watching him regardless
I agree that he’s on the brink of a reduction. I think it was good to feed that 50 yesterday and hold this dose so he can spend a little more time in greens until he earns a reduction. I think it will be soon. ;)
 
Remember to FEED THE 40'S. Especially if early in the cycle before nadir.

Jospeh is what we would call a "newly diagnosed diabetic". Protocols don't say that, but as I remember it, when a cat < 1 year since diagnosis qualifies them as being in that "newly diagnosed diabetic" category.

Only signs my diabetic showed at lows were a tiny bit more vocal, begging for food, dilated pupils non-reactive to light. The signs of hypoglycemia can be subtle and overlooked.

Just had a new member over in the Prozinc forum where the vets overdosed the cat, changed the food, and did not reduce the dose, cat had hypo with seizures and ended up in the vet hospital. Twice. She only started posting yesterday. After 'questionable' advice from her vets.

Don't want to see Jospeh going that route.
In New to the group scroll down to Earning Reductions it addresses newly diagnosed and long term diabetics. You were correct, newly DX is less than one less.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ng-reductions-and-starting-otj-trials.150160/
 
We are on the same page :)

Our game plan is stick with the Fancy feast pates eliminating any of the MC Stuff with gravy. Also stopping any of the dry high carb treats and sticking with the good freeze dried stuff.

Aim for clean preshoot readings whenever possible.

SOP will be +1 check with any preshoot that is on the low end followed by a +4 to verify we are good.

Anything in the higher 40's gets an instant feed with Mc gravy food and 2 following checks at 30 min intervals.

Low 40's and the HC treats come out and checks every 20 mins until solidly back to safe.

Any dip into 40's is a reduction. Gonna rely on you guys to tell me if I need to reduce based on lower numbers over the last week that haven't gone into the 40's
 
We are on the same page :)

Our game plan is stick with the Fancy feast pates eliminating any of the MC Stuff with gravy. Also stopping any of the dry high carb treats and sticking with the good freeze dried stuff.

Aim for clean preshoot readings whenever possible.

SOP will be +1 check with any preshoot that is on the low end followed by a +4 to verify we are good.

Anything in the higher 40's gets an instant feed with Mc gravy food and 2 following checks at 30 min intervals.

Low 40's and the HC treats come out and checks every 20 mins until solidly back to safe.

Any dip into 40's is a reduction. Gonna rely on you guys to tell me if I need to reduce based on lower numbers over the last week that haven't gone into the 40's
Since he is a newly DX kitty, you’ll also reduce when he goes under 50. As I said above , I liked that you prevented him going under 50 yesterday so he can spend more time in some safe green numbers .

When you shoot your first safe green number, I would get a + 1 and + 2 test. And I think that will be pretty soon. ;)Now that his pretest aren’t going to be influenced by food, I think you’ll see more and more lower pre shot numbers.
 
+7 of 94 basically a clean reading too.

I'm super happy with his readings. Not as nice as others but some of these kitties on here my heart goes out to them and their owners I'd die of stress!

Gonna start recording his food intake as well. Saw that on scratches spreadsheet and liked it
 
Recording any food you do out of the ordinary schedule is a good idea. I put it on the Remarks column, amount, how much, type of carbs. Then next time you see a similar situation, you know what worked/what didn't. Remember, cats vary in how carb sensitive they are. It's up to you to figure out Jospeh.

You should be happy with his readings. He's doing amazing for a recently diagnosed cat. :)
 
I have been putting food related notes in the remarks column but it's not as easy to "see" the correlations.

Tell me what you guys think of this idea. I'm gonna start recording food consumed in the 1 hour prior in quarter can increments along with LC or MC as appropriate. For example the AMPS box would look like this

114 & 0.5 LC

That would denote a AMPS value that was "fouled" by 1/2 can of low carb food in the last hour.

A +4 reading of 74 taken with a 1/4 can food fed prior to the reading would be

74 & 0.25 LC

I know food will impact it for 2 hours but at least it's something where I can see at a glance that a reading is "dirty" as well as how dirty it is.

Ultimately the spreadsheet is to help me understand jospeh so what works for me is good... But I also need it to be readable and understandable to anyone trying to help me.
 
I have been putting food related notes in the remarks column but it's not as easy to "see" the correlations.

Tell me what you guys think of this idea. I'm gonna start recording food consumed in the 1 hour prior in quarter can increments along with LC or MC as appropriate. For example the AMPS box would look like this

114 & 0.5 LC

That would denote a AMPS value that was "fouled" by 1/2 can of low carb food in the last hour.

A +4 reading of 74 taken with a 1/4 can food fed prior to the reading would be

74 & 0.25 LC

I know food will impact it for 2 hours but at least it's something where I can see at a glance that a reading is "dirty" as well as how dirty it is.

Ultimately the spreadsheet is to help me understand jospeh so what works for me is good... But I also need it to be readable and understandable to anyone trying to help me.
I’m a fan of putting the food fed in the cell with the BG # or I could make the correlation either. ( I’m a visual learner). That is what I did with Bubba when he was on insulin and it really helped me with what worked with what BG # and at what point in the cycle. It just has to make sense to you. :)
 
Last edited:
As long as you color in the cell with the appropriate background color - I'm not sure what to make of the cell right now that says 0.25 LC ... I guess that's a feeding?
 
99@+10. Lower than expected. Little man needs to start climbing otherwise it's gonna be a long night!!!

I feel anything blue for PMPS I'll be good to shoot and not worry too much. Grab a +4 to check and be done with it. But if he stays green I'm gonna need to grab +1 and +2 then put the coffee on and hope he surf's smoothly.
 
99@+10. Lower than expected. Little man needs to start climbing otherwise it's gonna be a long night!!!

I feel anything blue for PMPS I'll be good to shoot and not worry too much. Grab a +4 to check and be done with it. But if he stays green I'm gonna need to grab +1 and +2 then put the coffee on and hope he surf's smoothly.
We have a saying around here , “shoot low , to stay low”.

Lantus isn’t good for pulling high numbers down, rather it’s better at keeping a flat green cycle. Lantus is known for its nice flat cycles. It sounds counter intuitive, but it is. And that said, if you shoot your first green tonight, start with a +1 and then get a +2.

This is exciting! He is doing so amazing as are you and Barb!

Post if you need help.
 
+4 of 61. He decides he wanted to eat again so I'm happy going to bed. Barb is gonna wake up and get a +9 and +11 for this cycle in the morning. He's surfing so good.

Decided I didn't like putting the food notes in the individual cells.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top