2/1 Rosa AMPS 258 +3 295 +5 106 +7 87 +8 124 PMPS 108 +2 131 +4 42 +4.5 43 +5 40 +5.5 51

Status
Not open for further replies.
That's true - she'll appreciate that. Though I'd still like to see her at least in the blue for part of today especially after she's been doing so well. Time enough yet for her to come back down though.
 
So, so nearly green...maybe in a couple of hours! She does seem to stay fairly flat most cycles until about +4 or +5 for some reason. Then she goes lower. She did get her breakfast as usual so it could have been that, though she has food out from breakfast up until +10 so she eats on and off all day most days. Or maybe she was listening when I told her if she went back into the pink, I have plenty of insulin to increase her dose...and I wouldn't let her go to the Superbowl party either! ;)
 
And back to blue - still not a bad set of numbers so far today. And I think she knows she doesn't get tested quite as often if she's in the blue zone ;)
 
Everything except the energy and I guess I can fake that with coffee. Will be able to start monitoring from +1 onwards - that should be enough shouldn't it?
 
Great day for Rosa! But now what to do. We have a sticky on Shooting and Handling Low Numbers. Although she went down a little at the end of the cycle, that was probably the Lantus double dip, where they have a second dip down, but not as low as the nadir. It is safe to shoot, however, you might have some action tonight.

Do you have high carb food and/or karo around? Do you have plenty of strips? Can you monitor tonight? The answers to those determine what to do. You have a few options. First is to delay 20-30 minutes to see if she's coming up more to a number you feel comfortable shooting. Your lowest PS so far is 195. But this will delay your PS tomorrow morning. Can you afford a delay? Second option is a lower dose. I'm not fond of this option as you could still see a busy cycle anyway. Third option is to shoot now. If you do, get a +1 and a +2 to see how the cycle is going.
 
I see Serryn is up and watching. Perfect. If we encourage someone to shoot, we like to stick around and help them out if needed. Thank goodness for different time zones. :)
 
I can monitor as long as she needs - I don't really want to move her dosing any later...it's already at 9:15 am and pm - if anything I'd prefer to bring it forward over time as that won't fit with any job I might find.

I can shoot and monitor from +2. And I have honey and hc to hand.

Thanks @Vyktors Mum. Going to go ahead and shoot in a few minutes - nervous of course, but I don't want to not shoot and have her go back out of good numbers so thanks for the support. I'll report back at +2. :) The different time zones certainly do help!
 
It's great isn't it, only 1pm here so I can sit through the whole cycle if needed :)

Good work shooting you have the right idea of wanting to keep her down in the lower numbers - shoot low to stay low!

p.s. berocca is better than coffee, you might want to add some to your kit!
 
I know it's an extra poke, but getting a +1 when you shoot your lowest to date gives you an idea how much of a numbers spike she gets from her food. You are fine with just a +2 tonight if you want to save the pokes for later. Just think of getting some +1's sometime to fill in the holes of the spreadsheet.
 
Whooo-hooo! Rosa's getting the hang of this! Good for you on jumping right in shooting low, April. You've picked up on everything else really quickly thus far, so I have no doubt you'll get the hang of shooting low down pat in no time too.
 
It really does help for sure - I know I wouldn't dare even try this without support so knowing you can be there right the way through with us is great - thank you! :)

I think I will need to add some berocca to my kit - coffee will get me through tonight as if she does go low I'll be wide awake at that point!! But if she does this a few days in a row, that could get difficult.

Just gave her the shot, so I'll test at +2 and get back with the numbers - now to get everything done that I was planning to do with the rest of the day so I can sit right with her after +2 if she needs me to. Hubby says he's staying up with me too to help if she gets twitchy from a lot of tests and for moral support so although he doesn't have any experience of this, I do have someone to help me get food into her if necessary. :)

I will get some +1's but I think for tonight she's going to get all the pokes she'll want to deal with already so I'll save tonight's one for a +2. I agree though, the +1 is missing completely from her ss so far.

I hope I get the hang of shooting low soon - if she carries on like this, I'm going to have to get used to it quickly!!
 
don't forget chocolate....consume at least 1 oz chocolate per hour....or how about a double chocolate mocha latte?...kill 2 birds with one stone so to speak....LOL

GREAT numbers for Rosa!!!
 
Ooh - sounds like the best excuse for chocolate I've heard in a long time! :D And I still have some of the chocolate I brought back from my last trip to the UK too :)

They are great numbers aren't they? She's doing so well - now I need to do my bit and keep her safe tonight after shooting a low number for her.
 
He's great about helping as much as he can with anything like this. He doesn't have any real knowledge about it, but he won't let me sit around and worry about Rosa all night without him being here to help me stay calm. He's one in a million, he really is! :D
 
She's pretty steady at the moment with 131 at +2 but she always seems to rise slightly up to +4 then drops so we've a way to go yet tonight.
 
nice +2 not suggesting a particularly active cycle but she does seem to like to drop a bit later than some. Not sure what time it is there, you may want to get a nap in and test again at +5
 
We're good for the moment - we wouldn't usually get to bed this early anyway - it's about 11:20 here at the moment so sticking around for a while yet. I'll check her again probably at +4 to see where she's likely to go after that and we can figure out then when I need to do her next test if that works for you? If I get lucky with her, she'll only go as low as the upper greens, but it's difficult to tell with Rosa because she has done that fairly sudden drop later in the cycle before now.
 
Good call on getting the +4! Yes test again in 20-30 min.

And she has just earned herself a reduction :) it will be 1.75 units tomorrow unless she has a horrible bounce in which case you can shoot 2 units again - just the once.

Your adrenalin has probably kicked in about now so don't forget to breath! She's not in danger and I will stay with you to manage the numbers.
 
Yeah, trying to remember to breathe. We just had to lock her in the room with us too so she doesn't run off and hide under the bed! She'll appreciate the reduction though - so will I after this!! :) Definitely a lot of adrenalin around here right now.
 
It's in gravy - she licked some of the gravy off the meat and left the rest. We do have syringes with no needles if I have to syringe feed it to her.
 
Try offering her a tsp of gravy without the meat and see if she'll go for that - the gravy is the carby bit anyway
 
Apparently madam wanted the chicken flavor, not the beef :P - she licked about a tsp and a half of gravy straight from the spoon. Testing again in a few minutes.
 
Good girl Rosa much better if you eat it yourself! You could wait a little longer for the test since we just got the carbs in but if she's easy enough to test and you are nervous go ahead
 
I think that's the way to go but better keep the gravy handy ;)

ETA - If she's still under 50 at the next test two more tsp of gravy then post
 
Yep and in case you missed my edit to my last post if she's still under 50 two more tsp of gravy and then post
 
Down to 40 - gave her a couple more tsp of gravy. Going to test again in 20. Making a quick coffee and grabbing another can of chicken flavor food while I wait for the next test
 
Up to 51 so I held off on the honey and gave her some more gravy. Will test again in another 20 minutes. She doesn't usually nadir until around +7 so I want to make sure she doesn't drop back heading towards then
 
Thank you :) I have read a couple of other threads when people have posted 911's because their cats have dropped low but it's so different when it actually happens - I'm second guessing myself all the time and trying to remember what I need to do! And the vet just said if she seemed to drop low, to take her to the ER - but she doesn't seem like it's bothering her right now and I'd rather avoid that if I can handle it for her here - in fact Rosa of course is perfectly happy - she likes this idea of being spoon-fed gravy ;)
 
And she's up to 71. Should I offer a little lc food now to see if she'll surf or do you think one more lot of gravy first?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top