? 2/1 Scooter AMPS 89 Dose?

Jill & Scooter

Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-16-scooter-amps-86.209501/
Happy Friday!
I realized yesterday that an anniversary had come and gone and I hadn’t thought about it. It’s been just over a year since Scooter was diagnosed. He’s not where I hoped he’d be, but I can’t complain, he’s regulated and healthy.
Scooter has been steadily earning reductions by staying in good numbers for seven days. Yesterday was his 7th day on 3U. Although his numbers are still good, they’ve been higher on this dose. I increased him to a fat 3 U this morning. He’s still hitting 60’s at nadir, so I was afraid to take him back up to 3.25 U, but 3 didn’t seem to be quite enough. I would welcome anyone else’s opinion on what I need to do.

To all of you in the Polar Vortex, stay warm! Vines and prayers for all kitties and beans in need. :bighug:
 
Scooter's SS looks beautiful!

I like the idea of the fat 3u. I'm a big fan of tiny increases.
Bailey was hitting green, but they were high greens. I fattened the dose, then fattened again, then fattened again, and she is finally in better numbers. Hopefully, I get to start slimming, then slimming, then slimming soon :)
 
With Nadir's in the 60's there's not an awful lot of room to take him up.
In your shoes I would be looking at those blues and getting itchy trigger finger too. But we have to remember that we base the dose on the nadirs, not on the high numbers, I probably would have kept him at the 3u, taking him up if I saw the nadirs start to come up a bit further. The nadirs are overall a little higher than on the 3.25u though, so maybe there is room for a touch more, but I think you need to just monitor him a little closer around naddir, if possible just in case it proves a little too much for him.

Looking back at the reductions, I was a little stricter with George, I waited for a dorp below 50 or for him to go completely green, I didn't accept any blue. So I would have most likely kept him at the 3.25u for a little longer.
With Scooter reaching his 1 Year anniversary, remember that now it would be 3 drops below 50 or a single drop below 40 for him to earn a full reduction (or a whole week mostly in normal numbers 50-80)
 
but I think you need to just monitor him a little closer around naddir, if possible just in case it proves a little too much for him.
Very important point that I should have mentioned. This is actually the main reason I try not to comment on dosing. I tend to take certain things for granted, and I am afraid to give bad advice. If you fatten the dose a bit, Scooter will definitely require closer monitoring. Hope he is surfing safely for you today.
 
Very important point that I should have mentioned. This is actually the main reason I try not to comment on dosing. I tend to take certain things for granted, and I am afraid to give bad advice. If you fatten the dose a bit, Scooter will definitely require closer monitoring. Hope he is surfing safely for you today.
There is probably room for a tiny increase here, but with limited testing around nadir during the day (I assume this is down to schedule) makes me a little nervous. I'm not familiar with Jill and Scooters schedule and if she will be able to test a little more especially around nadir, perhaps with the weekend coming up there is more time available to get some extra tests in.
This one is not clear cut decision.
 
There is probably room for a tiny increase here, but with limited testing around nadir during the day (I assume this is down to schedule) makes me a little nervous. I'm not familiar with Jill and Scooters schedule and if she will be able to test a little more especially around nadir, perhaps with the weekend coming up there is more time available to get some extra tests in.
This one is not clear cut decision.

Well, Scooter surprised me with a 54 at +6 when I ran home to check on him. Maybe he just needs a bit more time on the 3 U. I wouldn’t think one dose of just barely fattened 3 U would have kicked in yet. I’m putting him back at 3 U for a bit and see what happens ( I know I shouldn’t change up doses like that). I will be able to monitor closely tomorrow, since I’m off work. Yes, my work schedule doesn’t allow close monitoring during the day. Scooter used to save his lower numbers for nighttime, but seems to have changed to days now. I really don’t like that! I have been wondering what to do about the 3 under 50 now that it’s been a year. I really don’t like the thought of him going that low when I’m at work. The odds of me catching it aren’t good either.
Thank you for the advice Gill!
 
Very important point that I should have mentioned. This is actually the main reason I try not to comment on dosing. I tend to take certain things for granted, and I am afraid to give bad advice. If you fatten the dose a bit, Scooter will definitely require closer monitoring. Hope he is surfing safely for you today.
Thanks for the advice Rosie. Scooter gave me a surprise today, so I’m going to stick with 3 U.
 
I am glad you are going back on the 3 units. You realize that if you hadn't been getting +1 tests, which are probably food influenced, you likely would have reduced him for going 7 days in primarily green. ;)

And a small correction to the above, the three drops under 50 is the reduction criteria for a cat that doesn't hold reduction well, not an alternative method for long term diabetics as per TR. Although there are a number of people here who use it. Hopefully Scooter will keep on the one week in greens plan.
 
I am glad you are going back on the 3 units. You realize that if you hadn't been getting +1 tests, which are probably food influenced, you likely would have reduced him for going 7 days in primarily green. ;)

And a small correction to the above, the three drops under 50 is the reduction criteria for a cat that doesn't hold reduction well, not an alternative method for long term diabetics as per TR. Although there are a number of people here who use it. Hopefully Scooter will keep on the one week in greens plan.

Yes, those dang food spikes or whatever they are! With out them he would be all green! It has concerned me that they are higher, but hopefully they’ll come back down with a bit of time
Thanks for the info on the 3 under 50. I haven’t read the stickies in a while. The 7 days of mostly green has been working well for Scoot. I really didn’t like the thought of having to let him drop like that and going to work. He has dropped to low 50’s two or three times usually towards the end of his 7 days. That’s about as stressful as I can take!:nailbiting:
 
Back
Top