2/11 Disco AMPS 237, +2 335, +4 295, +6 365, +9.75 297, PMPS 289, +2.3 270, +10.5 164

Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA)

Member Since 2019
Here it is:


Random notes:
  • KNOW THY CAT. Shooting early or late is a practice best reserved for those who have a full understanding of the insulin used and it's effects on their kitty. Because of the cumulative nature of glargine and detemir be aware:
    • Shooting an hour or two early *could* act like a slight dose increase.
    • Shooting an hour or two late *could* act like a slight dose reduction.
    • How your cat will react has a lot to do with what kitty is doing that day. For instance, if a bounce is breaking shooting early probably isn't the best idea because you'll have a little extra action on the dose from both the early shot and the bounce breaking simultaneously.
    • The next shot is due 12 hours after the time of the early or late shot if you're shooting twice a day. Oftentimes the effects of an early or late shot will not be seen until the next cycle. Please monitor carefully when shooting early. Ask for guidance if you're unsure.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
 
A late shot can act like a reduction, but sometimes you won't see any effect. You'll need to work you way back to your normal shot time now. You can safely move the shot in one 30 min. increment per day or two 15 min. increments. Tomorrow morning you can shoot 30 min. early if you are able to and 30 min. early the next day or 15 min. in the AM and 15 min. in the PM for the next two days. Don't be hard on yourself. Stuff happens. Disco will be fine.
 
Here it is:


Random notes:
  • KNOW THY CAT. Shooting early or late is a practice best reserved for those who have a full understanding of the insulin used and it's effects on their kitty. Because of the cumulative nature of glargine and detemir be aware:
    • Shooting an hour or two early *could* act like a slight dose increase.
    • Shooting an hour or two late *could* act like a slight dose reduction.
    • How your cat will react has a lot to do with what kitty is doing that day. For instance, if a bounce is breaking shooting early probably isn't the best idea because you'll have a little extra action on the dose from both the early shot and the bounce breaking simultaneously.
    • The next shot is due 12 hours after the time of the early or late shot if you're shooting twice a day. Oftentimes the effects of an early or late shot will not be seen until the next cycle. Please monitor carefully when shooting early. Ask for guidance if you're unsure.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
You Da Bomb! Thx!
 
A late shot can act like a reduction, but sometimes you won't see any effect. You'll need to work you way back to your normal shot time now. You can safely move the shot in one 30 min. increment per day or two 15 min. increments. Tomorrow morning you can shoot 30 min. early if you are able to and 30 min. early the next day or 15 min. in the AM and 15 min. in the PM for the next two days. Don't be hard on yourself. Stuff happens. Disco will be fine.
Thx for the quick reply! You are the best!
 
In surfing around looking for some good pictures of how to skinny or microdose, I came across this old post on FDMB and thought others could benefit from seeing these excellent images. I will have to say I’m a little bit anxious about increasing Disco’s dose again after 6 cycles if it’s needed and was wondering about skinnying him up when the time comes.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/to-measure-a-dose-consistently.34424/
 
Skinnying or fattening became so much easier when Marje introduced us to the concept of using calipers.

It can take up to six cycles to clear a bounce. Not unexpected given the numbers Disco got to.
Can you clarify (for my post cataract poor close vision issues, even with a light box and lighted magnifying glass and even with viewing the videos on the “Dosing with Calipers” Info Sticky, does the top of the black plunger come to the bottom of the black line when measuring a dose. For instance, as in these attached photos (which are the best I could take), is 3units correct in the first photoWhere the plunger is at the bottom of the black line, or is it the second photo, with the black plunger at the top of the black line at 3unit black line?

899040A2-75A3-4BE0-AF74-26C59CCA2EAD.jpeg D3083B2C-0B64-4AB8-A03E-EBDC42330F35.jpeg

And with the calipers, is the attached photo correct?
 

Attachments

  • 899040A2-75A3-4BE0-AF74-26C59CCA2EAD.jpeg
    899040A2-75A3-4BE0-AF74-26C59CCA2EAD.jpeg
    50.3 KB · Views: 74
  • D3083B2C-0B64-4AB8-A03E-EBDC42330F35.jpeg
    D3083B2C-0B64-4AB8-A03E-EBDC42330F35.jpeg
    43.6 KB · Views: 81
  • 34FA28B9-134C-4C12-9608-F396AD42A763.jpeg
    34FA28B9-134C-4C12-9608-F396AD42A763.jpeg
    37.1 KB · Views: 49
Last edited:
Because my BD’s were always horrible with markings, I always pushed the plunger to see how far it went up, and called that the zero line. Many shots were given with calipers measuring start and finish above the printed zero line. :rolleyes: Once I set my calipers, I pretty much ignored the printed lines. I went by the number of millimeters from true zero to the other caliper arm.
 
Can you clarify (for my post cataract poor close vision issues, even with a light box and lighted magnifying glass and even with viewing the videos on the “Dosing with Calipers” Info Sticky, does the top of the black plunger come to the bottom of the black line when measuring a dose. For instance, as in these attached photos (which are the best I could take), is 3units correct in the first photoWhere the plunger is at the bottom of the black line, or is it the second photo, with the black plunger at the top of the black line at 3unit black line?

View attachment 51196 View attachment 51197

And with the calipers, is the attached photo correct?

I cant make out from your photos, but I go with top of the plunger aligned with the top of the unit line (needle facing upwards). I could be wrong. (I think I should add that to my signature :D)
See this link if you haven't already come across it:
http://steverapaport.com/jock/SyringeFineGradations/
 
I cant make out from your photos, but I go with top of the plunger aligned with the top of the unit line (needle facing upwards). I could be wrong. (I think I should add that to my signature :D)
See this link if you haven't already come across it:
http://steverapaport.com/jock/SyringeFineGradations/
Thx, yes I found these and studied them, maybe I just needed “hand-holding” and appreciate your input.
 
Because my BD’s were always horrible with markings, I always pushed the plunger to see how far it went up, and called that the zero line. Many shots were given with calipers measuring start and finish above the printed zero line. :rolleyes: Once I set my calipers, I pretty much ignored the printed lines. I went by the number of millimeters from true zero to the other caliper arm.
Great! Thx for your experience and details!
 
Back
Top