2/14 Chino|AMPS=361|+4=325|+8=307|PMPS=375|+2=458|+4=449

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adrian and Chino

Member Since 2016
Yesterday...

3rd cycle on 5.5 units. Chino only spit out the thyroid meds once this morning. The pill shooter should arrive before the end of the day. I'm sure he's going to love that. I practically have to sit on him to keep him from thrashing around or running away.

Tonight, I'll probably try covering it with cheese or burying it in a treat. What's that saying? You catch more pill-phobic diabetic cats with honey...

After work, I'm going to go by the vet's office with the instructions and spare key for the techs (pet sitters) and will ask about the IGF-1/IAA lab results again if I haven't gotten a call by that time.
 
Sounds like this morning went a little better with the meds. It would be nice if he'd fall for the cheese or treat trick. Hope you see some movement with the boy today and those tests results are back.
 
Still waiting for lab results. When the system didn't show them, they tracked down the chart, but didn't find them there, either.

I know that the results won't change things. Whatever he had before the test, he'll still have after it. Whatever he didn't have, he still won't have. We'll still keep marching on until we find the right dose. But if he does have acro or IAA, it will be easier to move forward with an aggressive approach, since that approach will be justified and necessary.

Expecting to have to increase to 6 units on Thursday, I wrote down 5.5 units BID as the dose. Before I leave, I'll reevaluate and call them to confirm or change the dose. I'm not concerned that he'll go too low between shots if he continues doing what he's been doing for the last 6.5 days, but if he drops to blue on Saturday night (I'm leaving Sunday afternoon) then the inevitable bounce is going to break while I'm gone, when there's no one around to test.
 
But if he does have acro or IAA, it will be easier to move forward with an aggressive approach, since that approach will be justified and necessary
It does make it easier. When Doodles fell out of regulation at the end of Jan. last year I started loosing my mind with the increases and no movement in BG's. Going from .75u and all green to 12u was hard to stomach. Once the IAA dx came, it somewhat became easier mentally. Although along with the IAA the HCM and CHF came too.

Hyper-T can also cause this resistance so hopefully the meds will start doing their thing and you'll see positive results in the next few weeks. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Chino sure is attached to his pink tutu. :rolleyes: I've seen hyperT cats be a challenge to regulate, but not get up to this kind of dose before. I hope you get the MSU results soon. If nothing else, it helped me to know what I was working with.

Good luck with the pill shooter. It took me a few tries to master it, then I fell in love with it.
 
So much for the pill shooter... After he spit it out, I didn't have time to reload it while trying to keep a snarling cat from bolting from the room. Two tries later, he finally swallowed it. I didn't have the type of cheese that can be molded around a pill, so I'll either have to go out late tonight to buy a brick of it, or try to bury it in something freeze-dried before tomorrow morning. If I took the pill out of the capsule, it would probably go down easier, but then he'd have to taste it.

Wendy, I might order the one you posted on yesterday's thread. The one that I ordered didn't generate much velocity, and was difficult to hold without deploying the dose too soon.

Amazingly, after all I put him through, he's still sitting next to me on the couch, thrusting his chin against my hand and forearm and elbow.

I won't be surprised if he comes back positive for acromegaly. Chino is a big cat with a big head. One of the vet techs in Naples said he had a "solid muzzle" and one in Tampa remarked on his wide face. And he wheezes/snores... though he's done that since he was a kitten. I also won't be surprised if it comes back positive for IAA, since he's gotten down to green and blue on lower doses... then nothing but pinks and reds until going up another unit or so. I'm not even hoping for a particular outcome anymore. I just want answers.
 
One thing I liked about the pill shooter I got is that you can load water in it too, so you don't need a separate action to add water after popping in the pill. And it was short enough handle that I could get a finger in the "trigger" and get it down quickly. I've heard people say coating the gel cap or pill with butter helps slide it down.

Acrocats come in all sizes and shapes, we've seen petite ones here too. Neko didn't get any bigger and was in fact lighter than she was years before before she was diabetic. I saw one study that said only 30-35% of cats had visible acro signs upon diagnosis. Neko's only sign was eye tearing, and turning away from bright light.
 
One thing I liked about the pill shooter I got is that you can load water in it too, so you don't need a separate action to add water after popping in the pill. And it was short enough handle that I could get a finger in the "trigger" and get it down quickly. I've heard people say coating the gel cap or pill with butter helps slide it down.

And the water doesn't dissolve the capsule? Or would you butter the capsule to keep the water out?

I'm liking the cheese idea because I can keep my fingers far away from his mouth, assuming he'll eat it on his own.

The whole time I'm giving him the pill, he wails like he's being murdered :rolleyes:.
 
You should chase down any pill or gelcap with a shot of water, so it doesn't get stuck in the throat. And I think the shot of water helps move it down. The pill shooter has a spot for the water below where you put the capsule/pill, so they don't get together until in the mouth. And you have a little bit of time before the gelatin melts.
The whole time I'm giving him the pill, he wails like he's being murdered :rolleyes:.
They can be such drama queens. :p
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top