? 2/15 - Bandit - AMPS(234) +3(119) +4(106) +5(110) +9(153) PMPS (228) +2 (56) - HOW? WHAT????

Bandit's Mom

Member Since 2019
Posting a thread of my own for a change! Am probably notorious now for hijacking those of others! :facepalm:
(Not linking a previous thread since it has been a while since I posted any BG updates on Bandit)

Am really thrilled that Bandit has had almost a whole cycle in blues. Am scared to post this in case I jinx it!
She's such a bouncer that she rarely spends very much time in the blues and greens. Am really hoping that her liver is finally willing to give up its love for lemons. (Oh God, please let not have jinxed my baby!)

ETA: Please see last post/update to the thread
 
Last edited:
Very bluesy girl. I find with Ollie, when all blue, bounce is rare. Now when he hits a green, she will bounce yet. Maybe someday that will stop.
 
56 at PMPS +2

Cannot fathom why such a precipitous drop after what looked like increasing numbers leading to a bounce cycle.

The same thing has happened on Jan 29th when she fell off a cliff at PMPS +3 after lower numbers in the day.
 
@Sienne and Gabby (GA) any advice on why she dips like this at night after lower that usual numbers during the day? this is the second time that i have seen it.

also, i know she has earned a dose reduction with this fall below 90, but i am reluctant to take it in view of her failed reductions in the past and her high numbers. she isn't even in blues consistently till today.
 
With a 56, I would strongly suggest you take the reduction. Your alternative is to switch to TR but you would have to eliminate all dry food, including Young Again.

It looks like Bandit was winding up for a reduction -- or that would be my best guess. Many cats spend more time in lower numbers in the PM cycle. I've never heard a good explanation for why, though.
 
With a 56, I would strongly suggest you take the reduction. Your alternative is to switch to TR but you would have to eliminate all dry food, including Young Again.

It looks like Bandit was winding up for a reduction -- or that would be my best guess. Many cats spend more time in lower numbers in the PM cycle. I've never heard a good explanation for why, though.

If the reduction fails, do I have to hold the reduced dose 7 days or can I increase the dose sooner?
 
Hold the reduced dose for 7 days. All part of the safety built into SLGS since you are feeding dry food.
 
OK. That's another reason why I am reluctant to take the reduction. Not saying I won't. But one loses a lot of time with a failed reduction in SLGS. And while safety is paramount, I also think it leads to the cat spending too much time in higher levels.

I am really confused.

I don't think we are at Bandit's optimal dose as yet, but yesterday's blue streak makes me think that she is ready to get comfortable in blues - so we are probably (hopefully!) close to it. I don't want to give her more insulin than she needs - I read somewhere that more insulin looks like less insulin. At the same time I cannot afford to lose time with a failed reduction.

What to do?
 
The guidelines for SLGS are written to keep your cat safe. Dry food metabolizes at a different rate than wet. With Lantus, you really have to learn and practice patience.

If you are getting nadirs in the 50’s, you are on too high a dose if following SLGS. And really close to a reduction even if she was on wet low ca4b and you were following TR. You have probably heard that this is a marathon, not a sprint. For the health and safety of your cat, takes some deep breaths and relax.

And don’t get me started in the “more insulin looks like less insulin” myth.
 
First of all, glad to hear that “more insulin looks like less insulin” is a myth. THAT's what I am most worried about.

I am not in a rush - even though it sounds like I am. I just don't want to reverse the progress she is making. Bandit has only just stopped peeing like her life depends on it and she is showing signs of hind leg weakness. I have started her on a locally available methyl B12 (there's only so much I can get from the US).

I know that folks here are very particular about following the protocols here and in the safety of cats, they should. I too would be reluctant to advice someone to play fast and lose.

But considering that her nadirs have only just begun moving closer to 100 (save the rare drop to green), can I just hold the current dose for a few more days and take the call for a reduction?
 
But considering that her nadirs have only just begun moving closer to 100 (save the rare drop to green), can I just hold the current dose for a few more days and take the call for a reduction?
She’s your cat, but I wouldn’t recommend it or even do it myself. Bandit has indicated she wants a reduction. If you hold a dose overly long where they have shown they want a reduction, you can get a scary scenario of an overfull depot. I have been there done that after Neko’s dose needs dropped suddenly after radiation therapy. I didn’t take a large enough reduction, and shortly after saw the 20’s. Trust me, you don’t want to see that on your meter. :eek: Lantus low numbers can go on a very long time, longer than the one cycle. It’s exhausting for you, dangerous for the cat.
 
She’s your cat, but I wouldn’t recommend it or even do it myself. Bandit has indicated she wants a reduction. If you hold a dose overly long where they have shown they want a reduction, you can get a scary scenario of an overfull depot. I have been there done that after Neko’s dose needs dropped suddenly after radiation therapy. I didn’t take a large enough reduction, and shortly after saw the 20’s. Trust me, you don’t want to see that on your meter. :eek: Lantus low numbers can go on a very long time, longer than the one cycle. It’s exhausting for you, dangerous for the cat.


It can definitely be hard to follow the numbers but
....yeah....a flat cycles in the 20s sound like hell :confused:
 
She’s your cat, but I wouldn’t recommend it or even do it myself. Bandit has indicated she wants a reduction. If you hold a dose overly long where they have shown they want a reduction, you can get a scary scenario of an overfull depot. I have been there done that after Neko’s dose needs dropped suddenly after radiation therapy. I didn’t take a large enough reduction, and shortly after saw the 20’s. Trust me, you don’t want to see that on your meter. :eek: Lantus low numbers can go on a very long time, longer than the one cycle. It’s exhausting for you, dangerous for the cat.

Ok. Thank you for taking the time to explain. Really appreciate it. I will take that reduction to 2. (Going to face stiff resistance from my sister and several "I told you so"s in case it fails).
I've already shot 2.25 this morning but will reduce from the PM shot today.
 
She didn’t stay in the 20’s for long, fortunately she was quite carb sensitive, but still longer below 40 than I liked. I have seen worse with cats not carb sensitive.

I think Bandit is so carb sensitive she would shoot to the 600s just looking at HC food! LOL.
 
I think Bandit is so carb sensitive she would shoot to the 600s just looking at HC food! LOL.
I don’t see any lime green on your spreadsheet yet. Going through that a few times and tracking what you need to feed is how you will learn how carb sensitive she is. All cats do better off of high carb food, and Bandit definitely is showing that.
 
I don’t see any lime green on your spreadsheet yet. Going through that a few times and tracking what you need to feed is how you will learn how carb sensitive she is. All cats do better off of high carb food, and Bandit definitely is showing that.

Yes. Bandit has skirted 50 a couple of times but never fallen lower. I don't think I have missed any either (or so I hope). She is one bouncy cat so usually bounces off from levels much higher than 50.

Because she bounces off lows so quickly, I can't tell how much of it is the food and how much is the liver. Take last night itself, for example.

But your point is taken. A couple of days in @Teri (Disco NoFurNo)'s shoes and I will then really know how carb sensitive Bandit is!
 
Back
Top