2.15 Rufus AMPS 559, + 5 517

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hmmm, yeah, might be pain-- the gaba may not be enough to cover the pain of an extraction. If he shows any signs of discomfort (pawing at mouth, having trouble eating) or stays in numbers like that, I'd give the vet a call. They should be calling you today to check in on Rufus anyway (at least, my vet always does after something like this).

Hope he's feeling more comfortable soon!
 
Hmmm, yeah, might be pain-- the gaba may not be enough to cover the pain of an extraction. If he shows any signs of discomfort (pawing at mouth, having trouble eating) or stays in numbers like that, I'd give the vet a call. They should be calling you today to check in on Rufus anyway (at least, my vet always does after something like this).

Hope he's feeling more comfortable soon!
Thanks he's really laying low today. I was worried about his mouth and pain with his meal this morning, he sure didn't look interested, but he ate the whole bowl :)

Also, he hasn't had his ondasteron since yesterday am. Maybe he didn't need it after all? Maybe was the teeth making him nauseuas or just general inappetance.
 
I'm guessing today is probably a bounce...pain could be contributing, too, but I'd guess the majority is bounce. Dental procedures certainly can help improve BGs, but it can take time to see the effects, and as much as I hate to say it, sometimes it doesn't have as big of an impact on BGs as we hope. That's not to say you won't see improvement with Rufus's BGs, and for some kitties dentals do produce a BG miracle - hopefully Rufus will be one of those. But in any event, he does need time to recover from the procedure.

The anesthesia can cause delayed effects on BGs, too - usually in the form of dropping lower. So keep tabs on Rufus's numbers.

I saw your post about the dandruff, too...I'm guessing that is probably a stress reaction, but it would be good to ask the vet. My GA civvie, Mario, used to blow massive amounts of fur after vetty visits - total stress response.

Feel better, Rufus!!
 
Your yesterday was quite a day for you and Rufus, no wonder he’s resting up today. Hope you got some rest, too.

Does Rufus like to be brushed or combed? If so, it’s one way to both add some calming time with him and he might feel a little better with the white flakes bye-bye. and then you can gauge whether, if they continue, to pursue possible causes and remedies.

You and Rufus a great team. Hang in there!:bighug:
 
Max had flaky skin too. My vet wasn’t concerned. I think it’s pretty common. It took him a few weeks to rebound from his last dental and one extraction. No miracles but he felt better. I’m sure Rufus will too. If eating he’s likely not nauseous. Play it by ear with the ondansetron.
 
Your yesterday was quite a day for you and Rufus, no wonder he’s resting up today. Hope you got some rest, too.

Does Rufus like to be brushed or combed? If so, it’s one way to both add some calming time with him and he might feel a little better with the white flakes bye-bye. and then you can gauge whether, if they continue, to pursue possible causes and remedies.

You and Rufus a great team. Hang in there!:bighug:
Rufus always has had dryer skin in winter, but I've never seen the flakes as bad as they were last night. I think I might give him a bath. I've been wanting to for some time, but I won't do it for a couple days as to not stress him out again. I'll get out the furminator and give a good brushing today :)
 
Max had flaky skin too. My vet wasn’t concerned. I think it’s pretty common. It took him a few weeks to rebound from his last dental and one extraction. No miracles but he felt better. I’m sure Rufus will too. If eating he’s likely not nauseous. Play it by ear with the ondansetron.
it's just the flakes were/are out of control since coming home. I'll give him a good brushing today :)
 
He's doing the lip smacking at lunch time. I tried to hide some chicken flavored gabapentin in his food (along with zobabline and his probiotic), and wouldn't touch it. Licked lips and refused as much I tried to coerce him. Tried new food without any of the fun stuff, and he ate it right up. So, lip smacking. Pain? Lack of his nauseua meds? both? High BG also. He's acting pretty good right now though, so there's that.
 
Lip smacking means he needs his nausea meds after all.

I found Neko's numbers went up for about 10 days after an extraction, due to the inflammation and healing needed. I increased the dose to compensate.

Here is the link to yesterday's post:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/rufus-goes-to-specialist-update.191157/

Following on the conversation in there, but in today's post, dry is discouraged both due to the lack of moisture and the quality of food. Generally they are much higher in carbs.
 
Lip smacking means he needs his nausea meds after all.

I found Neko's numbers went up for about 10 days after an extraction, due to the inflammation and healing needed. I increased the dose to compensate.

Here is the link to yesterday's post:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/rufus-goes-to-specialist-update.191157/
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/rufus-goes-to-specialist-update.191157/
Following on the conversation in there, but in today's post, dry is discouraged both due to the lack of moisture and the quality of food. Generally they are much higher in carbs.
I see. Catch 22 is the food he is eating is making him nauseaous (I think), but it's all he'll eat. As far as food ygoes, the both drink a lot. And the dry food I'll be feeding is young again zero LID or Dr Elseys, so both really good in the carb count.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top