2/16 Chino|AMPS=264|+4=389|+8=368|PMPS=375|+2=356|+4=228|+5=206

Status
Not open for further replies.
Nice sunny start today Chino :) I saw your post about getting 2 of the same bg readings in a row last night. The worst is getting 3 of the same bg's ....I won't tell you how many times I've tested myself :p:p:facepalm:

Work that juice Chino.
 
Soooo the beef-flavored capsules arrived, but their #3 is bigger than the #3s that I bought at a local store, and they don't make #4s yet. I'm trying to cut the longer part so I can at least make them shorter, if not thinner, but I'm not having much luck with it. At least I have 990 backups if the first 10 that I cut don't work.
 
A few weeks ago (before the hyperthyroid dx), I ordered 2 cases - 48 cans - of FF Flaked Fish & Shrimp because it was 0% CHO and 80% protein, intending to feed 2 cans per week at most. The fuzzball ate it once but won't go near it now. Chino loves it, but it has too much iodine for him, and it has 701 mg phosphorus/100 kcals. (He has no known kidney problems, but hyperthyroidism can mask them.) So I'll be donating them to a shelter and sticking with chicken and turkey for now.

Chino still hasn't figured out that there's a pill in the cheese! It's amazing!
 
Some not-so-reassuring information I just came across here:

Hyperglycemia, Glucose Intolerance, Insulin Resistance, and Overt Diabetes

Hyperthyroid cats commonly develop profound changes in glucose and insulin metabolism. Mild to moderate hyperglycemia is common in hyperthyroid cats, which is generally attributed to a “stress” reaction (3,5).

However, the actual metabolic changes are actually much more complicated: hyperthyroidism frequently causes moderate to severe “endogenous” insulin resistance, as demonstrated by high resting serum insulin concentrations and an exaggerated insulin response during an IV glucose tolerance test (8,9). This insulin resistance is associated with a decreased glucose clearance (impaired glucose tolerance), which is indicative of a prediabetic state (See Figures below).




Serum insulin concentrations in response to intravenous glucose tolerance test in 11 healthy cats, 15 cats with untreated hyperthyroidism, and 6 hyperthyroid cats after treatment (9). Notice the exaggerated insulin secretion in the untreated hyperthyroidism cats, which becomes even worse after treatment. Such high insulin concentrations is diagnostic for "endogenous" insulin resistance.
Occasionally, an untreated hyperthyroid cat will develop overt diabetes mellitus. Many of these diabetic cats will develop moderate resistance to the injected insulin, with poor diabetic control.

Surprisingly, the insulin resistance and prediabetic state so common in hyperthyroid cats does not always improve and may even worsen despite successful treatment of hyperthyroidism (9): see Figure above. This indicates that hyperthyroid cats may have long-lasting alterations of glucose tolerance and insulin secretion that cannot always be reversed by treatment. In accord with that, some of these hyperthyroid cats (not diabetic at time of diagnosis) will go on to develop overt diabetes mellitus in the months to years after treatment of hyperthyroidism.
 
I found a place that's just an hour away that does radioiodine treatment for $1300. I've e-mailed for more info. No idea if it will make his diabetes any easier to manage, since the article I just read shows that it becomes worse after treatment :(
 
He's yellow at +4, so it looks like I'm skipping the first dose of sleep meds (and 2-4 hours of sleep) to test again in 2 hours. On 2/07, I fed 2 tsp LC at +6 (BG 97 on human meter) and nothing more until +8 (his usual nadir), 2 tsp LC with a human meter BG of 85. I'm hoping to see something similar tonight.

On one hand, I want to slow the drop to limit the bounce... on the other hand, I want to see how low he'll go without food, in case this happens next week when I'm gone. If he goes under 100 tonight but the number is falling very slowly, I'll probably continue to test every 30 mins without feeding, as long as he stays in safe numbers.
 
We have had a few kitties here with hyperT, including at least one I remember that had i131. I remember two kitties on the same meds as Chino that went OTJ, neither on nearly as high a dose. One member's kitty fell out if remission a couple of times when he needed to adjust the thyroid meds, but he got him back OTJ after a couple of months one the thyroid medicine dose was corrected.

Surf safe tonight Chino.
 
Rather than lie awake in bed for another hour when his BG is already rising, I decided to get a +7, take meds, and go to bed. At least he got a few hours in the low 200s (real BG low 300s?) tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top