2/18 Chino|AMPS=331|+7=302|PMPS=428|+2=341|+4=363|+8=264

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adrian and Chino

Member Since 2016
Yesterday...

5th cycle on 6 units. I'm leaving tomorrow afternoon and will be gone until Thursday afternoon (8 cycles). I told the pet sitters 5.5 units, but that's not an effective dose and he's still not regulated. If nothing dramatic happens tonight or tomorrow morning, should they continue with 6 units instead of dropping back down to 5.5?

Thanks @Wendy&Neko for suggesting the duck/pea Pill Pockets! I was able to cover 10 half-pills with 2 of them and he ate the one I put on top of his food last night, so pilling him while I'm gone won't be a struggle.
 
Good news on the pill pockets! Too early to say on the dose. See what he does today (5th cycle) and tonight which is the 6th cycle.
 
Hi Adrian, I've been kind of MIA for a few days and came to check in on your condo. I can't believe your trip is tomorrow already. You know what.... I think it's kind of a relief actually that the date is finally here so you can go, get it over with, and get back home to your little furry friends and continue to work on the mission you guys are on.

You have made great preparations for the kitties, have wonderful care for them, and everything is going to be just fine while you are away. Please know this and don't stress while you are gone. I can't recall if your trip is for fun or work related, but really take this time away to decompress from what you have been going through and be ok with the fact that the kitties are going to be just fine until you get back! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
302 at +7. I reallllly want to put a yellow +8 on the spreadsheet to break up all that pink... but my brother and sister are in from out of town, so I'm going over to see them and won't be back until PMPS time.
 
Come on Chino....give your papa a yellow!! It will make his day, and you'll feel better too!!!

Have fun with the family! :)
 
I'd see what he's doing tonight, but unless he sees greens tonight, I think you've got your petsitter dose for the time you are gone.

I am glad you are getting away for a bit and have good coverage for while you are gone. It's good to refresh the caregiver batteries once in a while. Hope you had a good visit with your siblings.
 
I got a call from the vet. His IGF-1 was 317. He's going to do some research and give me a call back on Monday. Now I need to think about the I-131 treatment for hyperthyroid vs. the SRT for acromegaly... Not sure if I can afford both, or if he's still a candidate for I-131 with the new dx. And this is the first time his vet has had to diagnose this.
 
Sorry about the dx but at least you know. :bighug::bighug::bighug: Also glad you got out this afternoon and hope the vacation gives you some recharge time.
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Sorry about the diagnosis. Just remember Chino is the same sweet cat you knew before the diagnosis and he doens't know the difference. i131 is a lot cheaper than SRT. However, just to add a complication, one of the possible side effects of SRT is kitty going hypo thyroid. It's not common but has happened to a couple of kitties here. The Royal Veterinary College is also working on some drug trials that would be cheaper than SRT.

Try to forget about this news for now and we'll start fresh when you are back from your trip.:bighug: I know you'll have a million questions then - I did.
 
Sorry about the diagnoses but now you have an explanation for the numbers. I would not increase a dose if you're not going to be home unless your pet sitters are staying with Chino and will be around to test more than at shot time. I would routinely lower Gabby's dose when I travelled. I'd rather have had her in higher numbers and safe than risk her numbers plummeting with no one there to intervene.

 
I would not increase a dose if you're not going to be home unless your pet sitters are staying with Chino and will be around to test more than at shot time. I would routinely lower Gabby's dose when I travelled. I'd rather have had her in higher numbers and safe than risk her numbers plummeting with no one there to intervene.

I increased the dose 2 days ago. I was asking about keeping the current dose instead of going back down. This is a cat that rarely goes below 300, though we're finally seeing yellow again at 6 units. It just seems terrible to have them give him a dose that I know is ineffective :(
 
Adrian and Chino- so sorry to hear the news! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

The good part is now you have some answers and can look at effective treatment to get Chino more regulated. The not knowing part had to have been the worst. There are lots if experienced members here that have kitties with this same condition and I am sure they will be able to give you tons of helpful and encouraging advice.

Bug hugs to you and Chino!!!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I think I would stick with 6u - it doesn't look to me like there is a possibility of low numbers on it from what you have so far.

Punkin did become hypothyroid from the SRT. I don't know how long it was before that happened, though - he lived 20 months post-SRT. We only discovered he was hypo thyroid maybe 2 months prior to his passing. I'd kept doing the regular thyroid tests and they showed low normal. He was losing tons of hair, though, and was difficult to regulate, and finally we got the Tsh and free T-4 tests, and those showed he was extremely low. I'd guess it was at least a year after the SRT before his thyroid died, though. Not sure if that helps you make a decision, but that was our experience.

As others have said, now you know what you're dealing with and why he's been difficult to regulate. Take a deep breath and move ahead.

There are some saved posts on the Where Can I Find? thread about high dose cats that might have helpful info for you. Here's the section, although there may be other helpful posts as well. There is also some on the bottom of the "New to the Group?" sticky.
High Dose Kitties
......Acromegaly, Insulin Resistance, Insulin Autoantibodies: research and testing information
.......Cushing's (Hyperadrenocorticism): Zoey 1 and Zoey 2; Purrdy 8/29/16; Turner 8/30/16
......Switching from Lantus to Levemir, JoJo & Dr. Lisa, dvm
......Switching from Lantus to Levemir, Doodles, advice before switching
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top