2/19 Boomer AMPS 185 +3 155 PMPS 140 +3 121 2 photos from yesterday!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Judy and Boomer

Member Since 2014
yesterday
Good morning!

UGH AMPS 185 and back up to .75 u we go :arghh::arghh::arghh:
I don't get it.
I just don't get it.
I still believe I gave (at least) a partial fur shot the other day when his numbers took a dive
It is what it is.

Do I need to worry about ketones?
 
ECID with ketones. If you have the strips or a meter it doesn't hurt to check. Doodles has never had them even stuck in 400's etc. Bubba had them detected in the yellows.

Boomer...what are you doing buddy :confused::confused: Please turn it around ASAP. :bighug::bighug::bighug: for you Judy.
 
ECID with ketones. If you have the strips or a meter it doesn't hurt to check. Doodles has never had them even stuck in 400's etc. Bubba had them detected in the yellows.

Boomer...what are you doing buddy :confused::confused: Please turn it around ASAP. :bighug::bighug::bighug: for you Judy.
I don't have the supplies; Boomer has never had ketones and I'm usually able to keep him in good numbers.
I don't think I have to rush out to buy a meter/strips (unless he goes higher) and I've increased him back up to .75 so hopefully he comes down although it might not be today.
So bummed about this. I just don't understand what has happened this week.
 
If it was a PFS, plus a skipped shot that could be the answer and now he needs another push to come back down again. I'm so sorry Boom's is not cooperating. He is a wee bit older and FD just stinks. Try to do something good for yourself today.
 
If it was a PFS, plus a skipped shot that could be the answer and now he needs another push to come back down again. I'm so sorry Boom's is not cooperating. He is a wee bit older and FD just stinks. Try to do something good for yourself today.
The PFS was the morning of the 14th when he went so low. Then I skipped the shot that night to let the depot drained. Three cycles later, on the 16th, he came down to the 60s at +3 so that told me the depot was full. The following day he started going up.
Sigh
I don't know. I would normally say that I must have given him a titch more juice the morning of the 14th. But we both smelled insulin after I shot and I lost sight of his skin when I was shooting, plus I felt no resistance when I shot. So I still believe it was at least a partial fur shot.
 
Wish I had an good answer for you :( Think it's time to have a little "sit down" chat with your sweet boy. Maybe try the vacuum monster...it worked on Doodles the other day.
Around here it's the mop/broom monster :rolleyes: I think my poor boy must have been chased with one before he adopted us; he is terrified of them and spits when one comes within his sight.
 
So sorry about those numbers, Judy. :( Any chance that there could be something else going on (a UTI or another type on infection)?

...and you can get the urine strips to test for Ketones at any drugstore. They are not even expensive (I paid around $10-15 for 100 of them). It can't hurt to check him... but, in the grand scheme of things, he is still in good numbers.... even if it doesn't feel that way right now.
 
Then that's probably not a good idea. :(
So sorry about those numbers, Judy. :( Any chance that there could be something else going on (a UTI or another type on infection)?

...and you can get the urine strips to test for Ketones at any drugstore. They are not even expensive (I paid around $10-15 for 100 of them). It can't hurt to check him... but, in the grand scheme of things, he is still in good numbers.... even if it doesn't feel that way right now.
Thanks @Mandarin'sMom . There's always a possibility that there's a UTI but given how low he was the other day.....I'm thinking it's not a UTI.
I think there's a ketone monitor that is used with a blood drop? I'm just not sure I would be successful getting a urine sample from Boomer.
 
I think there's a ketone monitor that is used with a blood drop? I'm just not sure I would be successful getting a urine sample from Boomer.

Yes, I have one of those too. In the four years I have had Mandarin, I think I have only seen him in the litter box once or twice - so I figured I would not stand a chance of ever getting a urine sample. I was surprised by how much blood it needs though and I have wasted quite a few strips. This is the one I have: https://storefront.novacares.com/storefront/nova-max-plus-meter.html.
 
So upset with Boomer's level this morning I forgot to post an image from yesterday.
We went for a drive out of London to one of our many conservation areas. As we drove through, we saw absolutely nothing in the way of wildlife and we almost left but then decided on a short walk. We came across about 20 robins, about 10 downy woodpeckers, and a few white breasted nuthatches. None of which I got to photograph because they stayed too high in the trees. As we were walking back to our car, a group of birds got our attention; they flew into some nearby cedars and didn't seem bothered by us at all. And it was my favourite bird; a Cedar Waxwing. I run across them occasionally but not nearly often enough! Anyways, there were 7 or 8 of them in this group. They were very active but I managed to get a few shots; here are two of them!

Cedar Waxwing 01.jpg Cedar Waxwing 02.jpg
 
Beautiful pictures Judy.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:I am so sorry about Boomer's numbers. We all know how difficult it is to see them higher than they are used to.
 
Hi Judy,
It could easily be that the fur shot and the skipped shot threw him off his equilibrium. It may take a few days for him to get himself right again. I just experienced a similar thing with Rusty. I took his dose down by 1/2 drop because he was going too low. He couldn't hold the reduction and it has taken 4 days (8 cycles) to get back to what I consider "normal". Our kitties are very sensitive to changes. If Boomer isn't sick, just put on your patience pants:)!
Beautiful pictures of the Cedar Waxwings.

Hugs, scritches,
 
Good luck with the increase. Sometimes it just seems like their pancreas gets tired and needs a little more support.

In five years Neko never had ketones. Her numbers were mostly good for the last four years, but I still tried to get a ketone test every week or so. Cheap insurance.

Love the bird photos. Robins are getting plentiful he e too.
 
Beautiful pictures! We saw some really pretty blue birds on our walk yesterday - but with 4 big dogs in the vicinity, they didn't want to sit still for a picture.;)
I think I've only ever seen one bluebird. They're around this area; I'm just not lucky enough to spot them.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top