2/20-ELLIOTT: On Cycle 11- Lantus @2.25u-AMPS=320,+3.5=300,+6.5=272,PMPS=302,+7=227

Status
Not open for further replies.

ELLIOTT & Fran Munschauer

Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-5-206-6-5-296-1-lantus-2-25u-cycle-9.152974/

For the first time, Elliott's day was disrupted yesterday, and I wonder how to proceed with Insulin dosing, since his BG and/or overall condition might have been affected? I am aware of the protocol but often FDMB members have carefully reviewed Elliott's condition and made important suggestions as to dosage and feeding..Thank You!!

OFF TOPIC-Found on my FB page today:
aS8ecmYRys0.gif

Bj Mattson shared a group to your Timeline.
Feb 20, 2016 9:09am
Hi
You may find Sugar Cat Support, at http://sugar-cats-support.freeforums.net/ a bit more user friendly than FDMB can be at times.
Cat stopped posting in FDMB when they abruptly removed the Relaxed Lantus group in which she was very active.They have a FaceBook page, too, here:https://www.facebook.com/groups/1519718058357084/

I did not expect to find this on my FB page..I inferred that maybe FDMB members may not appreciate my participation or dependency. I am not aware of this nor have I picked up on any dissatisfaction. I have learned from all responses and do hope it doesn't stop.I do know that I ask for A LOT of help on what normal' "cat people" should know. I clearly stated in my original introduction, "..I am not a cat person and do not understand cats nor do I know their function in life..." However, I will eventually post a story of my cats, when I figure out "how" ...and it will end with the most important aspect of their lives: They are family now.I love them as I do my 8 dogs, my kids, my human family. BTW...They could urinate on my face or ruin anything I own, that would make me very unhappy..NONE of this would ever change their place in my family.
 
Last edited:
OKAY..I will hold it !!!! and so, today I laughed...Frank (H) provides a lot of Elliott's care. Everyday I tell him what to do and what not to do and /or stop him in the middle of doing something, to say "Andy said..." Today, we both broke out in laughter when he said, "Andy, Andy Andy..Who the hell is Andy? and Pumpkin .. Pimp..China..Wolves...Are these people?" I am still giggling over his outburst of confusion and humor!!! Surely, he knows cats don't type... Again, Thanks ALL!!!!
 
Last edited:
I inferred that maybe FDMB members may not appreciate my participation or dependency.

I hope you don't get that feeling at all. There was a very unhappy faction that left FDMB when the lantus forums were merged and everyone using lantus had to start posting in one forum. My guess is that some still lurking here and they were using the Sparkle thread to try to promote some new members to their forum. Participate and question on!

I suspect you will need more juice, but with the 51 so recent, holding a little longer is a good idea. The 180 shows you might have even started a new bounce there.
 
I hope you don't get that feeling at all. There was a very unhappy faction that left FDMB when the lantus forums were merged and everyone using lantus had to start posting in one forum. My guess is that some still lurking here and they were using the Sparkle thread to try to promote some new members to their forum. Participate and question on!

I suspect you will need more juice, but with the 51 so recent, holding a little longer is a good idea. The 180 shows you might have even started a new bounce there.
Thank You..I will keep watching for updates on advice, since after yesterday's not receiving care might have changed treatment plan.

As far as that person,I just couldn't figure out how someone would know "me" of all people... and then, post on my FB page..The End..
 
Last edited:
BJ is still a member of this board -- her user name is BJM. Melanie was far more PC in her explanation than I would have been. Needless to say, I find it highly inappropriate that people are trolling FDMB and then stalking you outside of here or the FDMB group on Facebook and drawing conclusions that do not seem warranted (especially given your comment).

I find the people here to be sufficiently mature that if they had a problem with the way you were posting or what you were posting that they would let you know directly and publicly. The only people who would do so backchannel might do so in a private manner so as to not cause any undue embarrassment. If someone was chastising you via PM or attempting to imply your posts were unwelcome, you did the right thing by making the information public. You can also report your post and the moderators or the webmaster will follow-up.There is a gray "report" note you can click on below the text in your first post where you mentioned being recruited. If you click on that, a dialogue box will open and you can give a reason you're reporting. The more people that report the incident, the better.

I'm very sorry that this occurred.

As for Elliott, I'm not sure I see what you're concerned about. Lantus is pretty forgiving due to the way the depot functions. If your shot was only 40 min off of your usual time, I'd shoot at your usual time and not worry about it. If I misunderstood your question, could you clarify?
 
Hi Fran - we love having you here. :bighug: Your many questions remind me of myself when I first started here. :) It's great having a caregiver so involved with their kitties treatment and constantly wanted to learn more.

Periodically other groups will start elsewhere on the internet and try to get people from here to move over there. When I first started there was a high dose facebook page trying to get all high dose cats over there. Thankfully I refused and we've got a great little community here now. I much prefer sharing information in an open peer reviewed forum.

Elliot, it's time to ditch that bounce.
 
Several people posted on her previous thread they were concerned about chasing her away with their comments.
Fran hadn't posted for a while, so I looked at her user profile, followed the links, and let her know of an alternative via FB if she was unhappy here.
Not trolling, offering options. This place doesn't fit everybody and when that might be the case, having alternative options is helpful. Not trying to start a way, which is why I sent the message privately here.

And the only reason I don't post as much as I used to is that the message software won't let me and hasn't for a few months, since it got hacked. Either that is a problem with the board software that no one can fix, or someone has deliberately set my account to limit how often I post.
 
Several people posted on her previous thread they were concerned about chasing her away with their comments.
Fran hadn't posted for a while, so I looked at her user profile, followed the links, and let her know of an alternative via FB if she was unhappy here.
Not trolling, offering options. This place doesn't fit everybody and when that might be the case, having alternative options is helpful. Not trying to start a way, which is why I sent the message privately here.

Interesting, I don't see comments like that on her previous thread, and it had only been a few hours since her last post. Are you sure you're not thinking of someone else?
 
Fran

I also agree with Wendy that we are glad you are here and happy to answer questions. I also felt you reminded me a lot of me when we started. As a biologist, I had a real need for answers and to understand. I figured there had to be some science that I could grasp onto to get my baby regulated. I'm certain I drove many experienced members crazy...I'm surprised they are still here helping out!!!!

You're doing great!
 
I WANT people to ask a zillion questions. YOU are the person taking care of your cat, and everything you learn will help Elliott. You get a variety of opinions here and that's good, because it let's you see some different perspectives, sift through the information and figure out what will help you help Elliott.

That's how we learn - and it's so much better if people learn the way they need, than if they depend on more experienced people to just tell them what they would do.

So post away. Ask every question that occurs to you. If you don't understand the answers, ask again and someone will explain it a different way. We're here for you, and others like you who are eager to learn. If people don't want to be helping others, they wouldn't be here. :bighug:
 
Interesting, I don't see comments like that on her previous thread, and it had only been a few hours since her last post. Are you sure you're not thinking of someone else?
Are you asking me? I am not sure who you are all talking about. I would not even have mentioned the FB post, had she not posted it publicly . Had she "messaged" me, that would have been fine, I guess. I am informing them NOT to post on my page...This is about Elliott and not about which group does what...She must not realize that I don't know what he/she is talking about anyway...I was worried that she knew something that I didn't= like you all were somewhat tired of me not knowing it all yet..I had no reason to think that... I am open to any criticism, since I dish it out quite frequently when indicated-- if I know what I am talking about..Sometimes I have learned (unfortunately) only when hit in the face with "hard" measures. I welcome all.. if it will help me care for Elliott better. And someday, I will return with some help for others!!!!
 
Seriously, if your actions were all upfront and above board as you would like us to think, you wouldn't have found it necessary to track down Fran or anyone else on Facebook or via private message. :cool:
Action noted and reported.
I am confused...Where is this person? I would like to say to whoever..To find me on FB and post a message for all to see was quite disturbing. Had this person sent a private message, I would not have been bothered much. I am trying my best TO CARE FOR MY CAT..not to involve myself in groups who think one is better than another. If I had not received 911 advice, instruction, reassurance, and much more..some day by day and even minute to minute,I might have sought help wherever...Everything FDMB members tell me turns out 100% accurate...I am a pretty smart girl (except for cats) and so I do not know why I was chosen. Enjoy your cat as I try to heal mine.
 
Last edited:
Fran --

I believe Libby was directing her comment to BJ, not you. BJ is a member here and she also posts on the FDMB Facebook page and, apparently, on a variety of other FD sites. It is the policy here that the lion share of information be posted publicly, especially if it involves dosing. This is the only way that any misinformation (or typos) can get corrected. It's very hard when you're new to be able to tease out who is providing reliable and knowledgeable information. People here are wonderful and very willing to offer their input. Sometimes though, what has worked well for them may not be appropriate for your kitty or the observation that they are making doesn't have enough experience behind it. That's why we discourage backchannel discourse unless is is more social than FD related. (Or, that one of you copies the commentary to your condo.)

Unfortunately, the "recruitment" of members off of the board by whatever means is an issue that came up some time ago -- well before you and Elliott joined FDMB. It is discouraging, to say the least, that some members here are persisting in this behavior. The group that you were directed to is not terribly active and the last I scanned their postings, did not follow TR and, in fact, was rather vocal in their not wanting to have any part of TR.

At this point, I wouldn't worry about it BJ's offer and just move on. If you're happy here, we're happy to have you here. We like questions. We want to see people learn as much as they can and pay their good experiences forward. This is a community and we're all here to support one another.
 
Yes I am VERY happy and still "needy" of your help. I did find out that there are regulations..I did not know one was not suppose to ask dosing questions in a "conversation". Not wanting to sound really stupid, I messaged Andy, who posted and explained the policy and redirected me to ask my question on the public page, which I did. Good judgement always gets my vote!!!
 
One more thing, Fran. Everyone experienced here remembers what it's like to be new. When you're starting out, it's like a crash college level course of Feline Diabetes 101. Even people with medical backgrounds have to process this new information and figure out how to apply things to their cats.

We don't mind questions because we also all asked questions. We help new people because we were new once, and it's pretty unforgettable. You love your cat and just want to find help for him so he'll get better! Often information will suddenly "click" when it's in context to Elliott, and you can see what someone is explaining in action, in him. Until you need particular bits of information they often don't make a lot of sense. But when it's relevant to what Elliott is doing, then you will get it.

So just carry on. You're doing just fine.
 
Fran- the cycle tonight is shaping up just like the one you "missed" yesterday.

Just a heads up;)


I hope you stick around here:bighug:
 
Fran

I also agree with Wendy that we are glad you are here and happy to answer questions. I also felt you reminded me a lot of me when we started. As a biologist, I had a real need for answers and to understand. I figured there had to be some science that I could grasp onto to get my baby regulated. I'm certain I drove many experienced members crazy...I'm surprised they are still here helping out!!!!

You're doing great!
OMG..A biologist???So, physiology would be a big deal to you... I would love to pick your brain over all of this... Tell me everything!!!!!!
 
Last edited:
Several people posted on her previous thread they were concerned about chasing her away with their comments.
Fran hadn't posted for a while, so I looked at her user profile, followed the links, and let her know of an alternative via FB if she was unhappy here.
Not trolling, offering options. This place doesn't fit everybody and when that might be the case, having alternative options is helpful. Not trying to start a way, which is why I sent the message privately here.

And the only reason I don't post as much as I used to is that the message software won't let me and hasn't for a few months, since it got hacked. Either that is a problem with the board software that no one can fix, or someone has deliberately set my account to limit how often I post.


Wow, if a mod from FDMB went to another board, or to FB "trolling" for people, I'm pretty sure that'd be grounds for firing. In this case, I'm pretty sure that's "not gonna happen" though. :rolleyes:
 
I have no idea what's going on and who is posting what to whom.....I click on the name that was listed here. BJM? It said invalid error. I have message on FB and...
JUST noticed a PM that was written on Friday..I feel like that vice pres that ran with that little guy?? Perot? ...Where, why , "Who am I?"....Where and Who was concerned???? Who has gone after me and for WHAT???
Hi Fran - a few folks were concerned you might have left FDMB
Mark as UnreadStar ConversationLeave Conversation

  1. BJM
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Don't let the critics get you down!

    They've gone after me a number of times because I'll think outside the box.

    You should see the responses to my fairly recent Think Tank post asking folks to share there paired glucometer test data (Alpha Trak vs any other meter) because I'm trying to figure out a function to predict one from the other, +/- error variance.

    Secondary Monitoring Tools | Notes to Share |
    Human Glucometer and Veterinary Lab Reference Numbers and Notes

Thank you for sharing, Fran.
Don't worry about any of this.
 
Thank you for sharing, Fran.
Don't worry about any of this.
OMG..I just noticed in "conversations"..This person had sent me a nice respectful request awhile back to share BG results for a study she was doing. I replied that I would be glad to..It seemed like a good study... but things got so hectic with Elliott. I later, replied that on my SS, the results were all there for her to gather...that I was too tired at this point but would try later to help. Maybe she thought that we had a relationship. I did not realize she was that person doing a study and I did mean to cause anyone any grief...
 
OMG..I just noticed in "conversations"..This person had sent me a nice respectful request awhile back to share BG results for a study she was doing. I replied that I would be glad to..It seemed like a good study... but things got so hectic with Elliott. I later, replied that on my SS, the results were all there for her to gather...that I was too tired at this point but would try later to help. Maybe she thought that we had a relationship. I did not realize she was that person doing a study and I did mean to cause anyone any grief...
Very interesting. Again, thank you for sharing, Fran.
Please don't concern yourself. Thi person contacted you entirely on her own. She's not part of a study having anything to do with the FDMB... nor in any official capacity that we know of.
You've done nothing wrong. You haven't caused any grief.
 
don't worry, Fran. You didn't do anything wrong. These messages did not come from FDMB, just from an individual who is a member here.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top