Hold for a week- 14 cycles total- tonight is cycle 1 at the 0.25 units. Then ideally you would do a BG curve ( taking BG test every 2 hours for 12 hours total or every 3 hours for 18 hours total...as close to as possible) and see how low the 0.25 is taking Gray- Gray. Then you would increase if needed, but reductions are always taken as earned for numbers
under 90 at any point in the cycle.
Side note- if you are seeing numbers in the ideal range at some point- less than 100- you would hold the dose longer but you can always post for specifics and make sure that is what is advised based on the numbers.
FROM STICKY:
Hold the dose for at least a week:
- Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
- Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.