? 2/20 Stormy AMPS 132 PMBG 118 - Looking for dose advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

StormysMom

Member Since 2017
Hello & Good evening! We've reduced Stormy's dosing from 1/2 unit bid to 1/4 unit bid and are still having problems shooting the PM dose. It seems like for the first day or two the twice a day dose works but by the third day we are back to skipping due to lower numbers. I have gotten braver with shooting under 150 and gave a dose at 130 this AM. But what about 118, should I be considering that a shootable number?

Thanks in advance!
 
I see you skipped the shot tonight which is fine. Yes, the 118 is a shootable number if you have plenty of strips and can monitor. Those following SLGS would shoot anything over 90. If you can get off schedule you could stall without feeding ,test again in 30 min and see if the number is rising or not. She would earn a reduction if going under 90. Are you able to monitor more during the day? Also it's important to get at least a before bed test every night. A +2 is a good indicator of how active the cycle might be.

I'm almost inclined to say reduce the dose to .1u, below is the picture. ETA: Since the 118 is on an Alpha Trak meter it would actually be lower on a human meter.
01unit-1.jpg
 
Thanks, Karen. We give the shots at 7 am/pm which really doesn't allow for us to delay, unfortunately. We both work full time, plus kids in day care, etc. so it's really been a chore working it into our morning schedule! I can definitely get better about the +2 in the pm cycle but no one is home during the day to test or monitor for hypo. We also can't stay up all night watching for a hypo with work in the morning. I try to get a curve (or at least get a mid-cycle) each weekend when we are home.

The good thing is that the dips are smooth and we don't see her having big drops which helps me get a little braver about shooting these lower numbers. Is the "anything over 90" standard for a human or alpha trak meter?
 
Full schedule indeed for you! Over 90 is good for either meter however with your limited ability to test personally skipping is the best choice. There's not enough data especially at night for you to shoot that low. Good decision.

I would reduce her dose to that .1u tomorrow. Others may not agree but safety is first IMO.
 
Thanks so much for that. I feel like I'm failing her every time she misses a dose!
One day at a time! At one point she'll give you a low when you can brave the dose.
(Finally happened to me recently!) Dont beat yourself up when you run such a tight schedule! We are only human, after all. ;)
 
Your last post here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-19-stormy-amps-189-5-146-pmps-167-dose-reduction.173430/ We include those links so people can go back and see what was previously said.

Any chance you can get later evening tests than +1 or +2 when you shoot at PMPS? The +2 can tell you some information, but if you go to bed even later, that might provide better information to help evaluate how a dose is doing. I typically went to bed at +4 so I had a pretty good idea how the cycle was going to go by then.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top