2-21-18 Jones - AMPS 220, +5.5 166

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Tracey&Jones (GA), Feb 21, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tracey&Jones (GA)

    Tracey&Jones (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Previous

    Jones has not seen green since that reduction earned last week. Hated the return of the yellows so bumped up his dose a bit. Liking where we are headed now but will see if that continues.

    He is doing ok, holding his own considering all his baggage.

    His Civvie Missy...did well on her first night home. And then all heck broke loose. She went crazzzyyy on the buprenophine. She attacked the water fountain with a vengeance 2 nights in a row! Tore it apart and decided to rip apart the filter and eat part of it. We stopped giving that on Monday as she was eating fine and seemed to be doing ok. Morning morning was also the last dose of the metacam. Tuesday she wouldn't eat, had diarrhea and was generally not her self. So took her in today and the vet feels it was the metacam and not eating the fountain filter is the problem.

    Discussed at length metacam and why the use in cats. The dosage concentration is less in feline vs. canine metacam as well it is given at lower doses. That said, she put a note on Missy's file to not give metacam again and use Onisor? next time. She was honest and indicated when it first came out that vets didn't do a good job in doing their homework and dosed cats like dogs and that lead to organ failure. So, even though metacam has worked in the past for me...it doesn't work for Missy. ECID.
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2018
  2. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Hope the extra juice shows you some green. Although yesterdays 106 is a nice SLGS number and he may have had a green visit. Glad he's feeling good :)

    Poor Missy. I've heard metacam can cause neurotic behavior in cats. I've never used it. We had good luck with Onsior after Moo's dental. Bupe made my kitten a zombie even giving 1/2 the prescribed dose. Sending vines she feels better.
     
    Tracey&Jones (GA) likes this.
  3. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Good luck with the new dose. I hope you see some green soon. Poor Missy. I hope she's feeling better now. Sending prayers.
     
    Tracey&Jones (GA) likes this.
  4. Tracey&Jones (GA)

    Tracey&Jones (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Thank you.
     
  5. Tracey&Jones (GA)

    Tracey&Jones (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Thank you.
     
  6. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Onsior is another NSAID. Only supposed to be used for three days max, even says so on the manufacturers website. I got "no Metacam" on my files too. Neko's vet wouldn't used it on cats. Sorry you had so many problems with it.

    I like Jones' trend down today. :cool:
     
    Tracey&Jones (GA) likes this.
  7. Tracey&Jones (GA)

    Tracey&Jones (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Like the trend down too!
    Live and learn on the metacam. This vet said she doesn't like to use it but I have a feeling the "clinic" rules are to use metacam.

    The Onsior is only in case she needs another dental.
     
    Christie & Maverick likes this.
  8. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    The dental specialist I went to just prescribed buprenorphine for Neko. Since she was already on a maintenance dose, he just modified it.
     
    Tracey&Jones (GA) likes this.
  9. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    I used Metacam only once, before I knew anything about it, many years ago with my long-haired Calico, and only short term after she had an anal gland rupture...luckily no issues. Hope Jones has some more nice cycles up his sleeve :D. Good luck with the little bump up in dose ;)
     
    Tracey&Jones (GA) likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page