2/25 Buzzy AMPS 161 = 1u; PMPS 117 = 1u; +2 102

So sorry you're tired from being unable to sleep and anxious....great job on shooting that green last night! Looks like Buzzy was able to surf the night away...good boy!

I wouldn't worry about dropping the Lantus pen - it's plastic, doesn't shatter like the glass vial...at least there's that.

Hope you can catch a little rest today sometime.
 
Hi Lisa,
I noticed you have said you gave Buzzy Dr Elseys kibble as a treat yesterday and then in the SS yesterday you noted you gave him 2 T of Dr Elseys kibble at @+1 and a few more T +2.5.

Do you feed the dry on a regular basis?

Not sure if you are aware but if you are feeding any dry food at all you are not allowed to follow TR, you need to be following SLGS.
You might like to look into using freeze dried food as treats which are low carb instead of kibble

I am going to tag @Wendy&Neko for you to talk to about this. :)
 
Last edited:
@Bron and Sheba (GA) & @Wendy&Neko since you've tagged her -- no, I definitely don't feed him dry anything for anything more than treats (he doesn't like any of the freeze-dried treats) & I have only used the Dr. Elsey's for treats 4 random times now. I don't usually give him the dr. elsey's as his treat -- it's usually just regular LC wet food. The "2T measurement" was really me eyeballing - it was very likely less than 2T last night, but I wanted to make clear it was "more than 5 pieces" bc I wanted to remember that in case it impacted his numbers -- I got 2 of the sample packs and have given like 5 pieces 2 other times as high-value treats (always noted on spreadsheet) when he's being extra cranky.

Last night, I gave him a little more than 5 pieces at that very early 80 reading bc he'd dropped at +1 which he never does & I got scared.... & then like 3 pieces as a treat at +2.5 after he tried to run away from testing. Truly, he only gets like 3-5 pieces of that kibble on those 2 other days I noted he got it as a treat. All those other "3oz" food readings, etc. are all fancy feast...(well, til today - now it's Friskies).

FWIW, Chris had said it was OK to use small amounts of these as occasional treats (Edit to add: and Dr. Pierson says it's OK too in that sticky about considering more than just carbs) - they are my highest-value treats in the house since Buzzy will not eat the freeze-dried anything, chicken, any of it...he's a picky butthead (but thank god he likes pate wet food)

Edit to summarize:
  • he got the kibble yesterday only twice - a small amount, but more than 5 pieces at that +1 & he had wet food at that time too - the bulk of what he had was LC wet -- I panicked that he dropped at +1 and 3 pieces at +2.5 when he tried to run away
  • He got about 5 pieces on Monday at that +6.25 because he was a cranky butt about being stuck so many times
  • He got 5 pieces at +2 on 2/20, again, bc we were just having a cranky night
That is all the kibble he has eaten since his 1/24 diagnosis. We've barely cracked open 1 of the sample bags.

@Sue and Luci thank god it's not glass since I'm a clutz lol.

@carfurby There will be no naps or rest for me today...I feel they'd frown on that at the office lol

The real question is...where will he be tonight?
 
Last edited:
I feel like that's a thing fancy places like Google do lol.
I once interviewed a co-op student who had worked at Electronic Arts (game developer). When he worked there, he used to go home regularly every two weeks to do laundry. :rolleyes: There’s a reason those companies have sleeping areas.

If Buzzy is dropping fast, a couple tsp of wet food is a better option.
 
I once interviewed a co-op student who had worked at Electronic Arts (game developer). When he worked there, he used to go home regularly every two weeks to do laundry. :rolleyes: There’s a reason those companies have sleeping areas.

If Buzzy is dropping fast, a couple tsp of wet food is a better option.

Good to know.
I gave him LC wet with that little bit of Elsey's kibble, and he still dropped to 55 by +2, but I'll honestly just do the LC wet alone next time -- he was only in the 80s, and I don't want to necessarily kick him away if he's trying to tell me he needs a reduction.

I'm still likely to offer up 3-5 Elsey's kibbles as a test treat if he's super cranky if that's ok -- like when I have to test every 30 min & he's like "leave me alooooone" -- it's just the only high-value treat I have & sometimes the only thing that will get him out of hiding. But not every day or anything like that. His test treats are almost always his normal LC wet food. (And now he knows the moment he hears the test strips tube open what's gonna happen & that he's gonna get food lol)
 
Back
Top